We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but flair” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
155 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Old, but flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

Pretty much everything has been written about this motel already, therefore I limit myself to the pictures and to a recommendation of Kanab in general: a nicer town than some other I stayed at so far.

  • Liked — Individual, no chain feeling
  • Disliked — mattress could have been newer
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gernereiserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    170
    71
    33
    13
See reviews for
96
182
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

The Parry Lodge in Kanab is everything their website describes. It was very clean, comfortable, and the owners and help were fablulously friendly. If you want glitz, this is not the place to go. If you are looking for a comfortable room, cleanliness and a bit of nostalgia with furnishings dating back into the 50's/60's, then this fits the bill. I reminds me of the motels my parents stayed at when we went on vacatin as kids in the early 60's. However, its a good value and the surrounding area has tons to see. We really enjoyed it and got value for what we wanted. Cleanliness, good showers with great water pressure and a place where you felt like you were only paying for the lodging and not buying a share of the enterprise...you know what I mean.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, fresh linens air dried outside
  • Disliked — dated furniture (50's/60's) sink in main room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LackawannaLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

I booked this place specifically because of it's background (home to countless movie stars from the 30's - 50's), and its convenient location (halfway between Lake Powell and Grand Canyon).

It lived up to the reputation .... I felt like I was back in the 50's as soon as I walked in! Yes the decor is dated - it's supposed to be!

The only concessions I could see to modern living were that it has a nice pool and hot tub, and free wireless internet ... both plusses in my book.

The only thing I didn't like was the food - another reviewer mentioned hospital food and that is right on the money - plain, not especially well prepared, and not recommended.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean and spacious and I would recommend the Parry Lodge to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Kanab.

  • Liked — 50's kitsch
  • Disliked — don't eat there!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PCDoc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newzealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

We were so looking forward to Parry's Lodge and it lived up to our expectations. A pure pieceof 1950s Americana. Delightful. We stayed in the Omar Shariff room out the back and it was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and fine. The hosts were accommodating and pleasant. We caught the movie in the barn and felt we had stayed somewhere unique. Harder and harder to do these days.

  • Liked — its sense of history
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

There is a lot not to like about Parry's. The rooms and the decor are very dated (the late 50s) and have been only modestly kept up. And the food (which we skipped) is on the order of hospital food according to the friends who sent us there. But if the average Best Western doesn't scare you off, Parry's will be a true find.

The little slice of 1940s & 50s LA/Hollywood/TV & movieland history that the hotel provides a glimpse of is a real treat. The ladies who run the place probably were there when Gene Autry or John Wayne were in house filming some B Western. The place fits the funkiness of the town, which is a terrific launching point for tours of the great Utah Natl. Parks. We were happy to have stayed there, for one night only.

  • Liked — Movie history
  • Disliked — Condition of rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank martin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

Wanted to stay here because of the cowboy connections,stayed for one night.
Lady on front desk, vey cheerful and helpful, and gave us a stars room, OMAR SHARIF.She also helped with restaraunts that were open. It was sunday,and not a lot of action in Kanab on that day.
Our room was situated in the building at the back away from the main road.It was basic, tired looking decor, but very clean. especially the bathroom.
Went to see the free movie in the old barn, i love the old cowboy films. i enjoyed myself whilst the D/W slept through it all.
Very quiet room, had a good nights sleep.
Looking forward to breakfast 1/2 price for guests, however it proved a disappointment. Only about six other people in the dining room.
The buffet, and there was plenty of it, so i tried most of what was there, but it was only lukewarm, our guess it had been stood a while.Staff were also lukewarm and unfriendly.
We would stay again, we loved the experience, but would go else where for breakfast.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

We were recommended this place in a passing conversation on the Grand canyon's north rim , which is 77 milesaway.
Parry Lodge , a fine looking older white building,sits right in the middle of Kanab, on the north side of the bend in the main road .
It was the home ( away from home ) of gazillions of film stars who made films here , so the walls are covered with signed photos, posters, etc , and they show the old films every night in the barn behind, for free , and the cabins are all called after the stars who've stayed there .
However nostalgia isn't the reason for this recommendation , but now !
The rooms felt more like a home than a motel - OK not the latest, but very warm & full of character .
The hot buffet breakfast was better than some of the Vegas buffet breakfasts and at $3,99 ( plus tax) for hotel guests ( double for non- guests- still a steal ) both in quality and price the best we had .
Non greasy crisp bacon , tasty herb & pepper scrambled eggs , pancakes , fresh fruit , good orange juice were my favourites, though it was all there . With a breakfast like that , we could be comfortable until the next day.
And the breakfast service was very efficient and friendly without leaving us feeling we were being watched . Also the lady at reception was very friendly and helpful .
Finally the prices were also very competitive - we paid about $102 (including tax) for a complete cabin, comprising two adjoining rooms,with two queen beds & TV in each , a shared bathroom/toilet in the middle, our two adult sons having the other room , with kitchenette .
There was a comfortable , secluded feeling pool with trees out front , and the whole property felt like a park - tidy & manicured .
Had our schedule allowed us to stay longer , we would've , and we can unhesitatingly recommend the Parry Lodge to anybody , movie buff or not .

  • Liked — Character - Comfortable, homely feel
  • Disliked — Really can't think of anything !
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Medrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#6 of 15 in Kanab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 15 in Kanab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.5 mi away
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Property: Parry Lodge
Address: 89 East Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741
Region: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing