We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming canyon lodge, great for a ski trip.”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside in the fall. The Lodge is up one flight of stairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside in the fall. The Lodge is up one flight of stairs.
Two lofts each have a queen bed and twin. Dinner table hosts ten. Washer and Dryer are just off the kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Outside in the fall. The Lodge is up one flight of stairs.
Two lofts each have a queen bed and twin. Dinner table hosts ten.
Washer and Dryer are just off the kitchen.
Warm by the fire or watch a movie.  The couch seats the whole family.
Kitchen Island
Slate cooking area has a indoor JenAir grill.
Tulikivi Wood Stove Heats the lodge. With Hammock swing
The stage area has lots of kid's toys and two twin beds.
Need an office to get some extra work done?  We have you covered.
The master bed has a king size bed and over 100 dvds behind the door.
Both lofts have a queen and twin bed.
Jetted tub with a tankless hotwater heater.
Watching a movie on the 110 inch screen.  What gets better than this?
Your own private bridge across the creek to walking trails.
Kids playfort is close enough you can sit on the balcony to watch them play.
Hours of fun in the outdoors.
Secluded yet close to town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Logan, Utah

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris G
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Charming canyon lodge, great for a ski trip.”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here as hoe base for a weekend ski trip to two nearby ski areas. Stayed with extended family, so we had a few kids with us. It is a great lodge-type cabin that is perfect for spending family time together. There is a projector and a movie screen for watching shows after a day skiing, and a great fireplace/stove heating system that keeps you nice and warm in the cold Utah winter. We have been coming here for years, and plan to keep coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill_K_Ut...
Herriman, UT
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A good visit, with a few caveats”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Smithfield Canyon Lodge late in October 2015.

The building is located in a beautiful setting among dense trees at a canyon bottom, with a stream running through the back yard. The owner/manager couple and their family live in the neighboring house immediately to the northeast. The fall colors were quite spectacular, and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped—there are all the things one needs for cooking and eating on the generously large table. And there is a dishwasher to help with cleanup. The cost is relatively low for so much room.

The entire living space is a full floor above the ground-floor entrance—definitely not a location for mobility-challenged individuals. There is no central heating or cooling—instead, a Finnish Tulikivi soapstone stove in the middle of the living/dining area serves as a combined heater and fireplace. It burns chopped wood that is stored in a wood closet in a wall behind a sofa. To reach the wood storage, one must go behind the sofa and negotiate its very low-clearance door, which was challenging for us in our 70s. If the fire burns too long, the heat stored by the soapstone housing will continue to radiate heat into the space for hours to come. It is difficult to dance this dance just right. We did not experience an influx of box elder bugs as a previous customer commented; we just saw a couple of those, but swatted many, many flies that seem to have gotten in through cracks in the screen crevices and in the basic structure—I would estimate 30 or so over a couple of nights. Strangely, the bathroom is beside the kitchen—not the sleeping quarters. The legacy stereo/DVD projector is a bit challenging to figure out; the hosts were readily available by phone and provided the needed help.

We had a memorable experience that included a drive up Logan Canyon at the peak of the fall colors, and a much shorter drive two or three miles up Smithfield Canyon. Still, it seemed that we spent more time than we wanted to on housekeeping and daily chores such as restocking the fireplace/heater and killing flies. As one of us experienced, to leave a single fly flying free in the evening translates to waking up the next morning (or sooner) with a fly on one’s nose. We also enjoyed a brunch at Angie’s Restaurant in Logan (see my TripAdvisor review).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting in the woods, space within the home.
Liked least: Climbing a full flight of stairs to the living space, too many flies, heating arrangement.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had a nice stay, but I would like to address the caveats. This is a luxury canyon lodge that is heated by wood and we do have AC in all three bedrooms with a state of the art projector screen dvd system. That is explained in the home description. The time of year that this guest stayed we had the AC shut down for the fall/winter and it was warm enough that we did not have any heat on for our home. I explained that the fireplace put out a lot of heat. In a Tulikivi stove, building a fire is unlike other fireplaces as it is very efficient and as it was a warm fall, a large fire would make the home very warm. It is unlike other fireplaces in that you build one fire a day and it heats the house for 24 hours. If a lot of time was spent putting wood in the fire, then I can understand why there was "daily chores" of restocking the fire and why it was hard to "dance the dance" as the review stated. We created a wood storage area in the home so it is convenient to the fireplace so you don't have to go outside for wood. There is a large storage area but you can't just walk in as it only has about a 4 foot door opening. We agree the flies were a problem for that week. We have never seem them so bad and it was that way throughout the entire canyon, including our personal home. We made sure the house was empty of flies when the guests arrived, but it seemed that anytime a door was opened, they rushed in.We had never seen it like that before and it only lasted a few days. The bathroom is not next to the master bedroom but is just a few feet away. The 110 inch projector did create a challenge for the guests and when they called I was there within 5 min to show them the button to push. All the instructions are laid out for the home and to run the DVD projector system there are two buttons to push. I am sorry that there were so many "caveats' to this review and we have never had so many. We have had several hundred guests with reviews at V R B O and have never had any comments similar to this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just missing 1 thing”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was able to stay at this rental just this past weekend with 6 women. We were so happy with the rental, and even those that slept in the raised sleeping area behind Japanese Shoji doors loved their spots!

We loved hearing the creek, watching a movie on the projector screen, and I think our favorite was the hammock swing! The ONLY thing it was missing was a hot tub outside. We all wished there was one to hang out, watch the deer, and relax with the sound of the creek rushing by.

I hope to definitely come back...with family or friends it would be great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Gem in Smithfield Canyon”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I found exactly what we had hoped for in a beautiful, secluded setting for our anniversary getaway in the Logan area. The location is just as advertised on 10 gorgeous acres at the mouth of Smithfield Canyon surrounded by lush trees with nothing but a babbling creek to listen to.

The house itself is even nicer than the pictures--a unique structure of fine craftsmanship and luxurious appointments, immaculately clean and not an insect in sight. During our stay we enjoyed a quiet walk across the bridges and trails that run through the property, a fun drive up the canyon, and we were only 10-15 minutes from our favorite restaurants in Logan (we'd highly recommend Elements on Main Street if you're in the area).

The owner, Tom, was as genuine a person as he was a property manager--very easygoing, responsive, and thoughtful. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncank77
Ogden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This rental is beautiful, it's secluded and quiet and great for people who want to enjoy a weekend away. Inside the home is lovely wood floors, a nice wood fireplace, a giant movie screen, selection of DVDs, washer & dryer, beautiful bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and all the sleeping areas are very nicely furnished. The cutest children's area is behind the sliding screens, two beds and a play area with stuffed animals. Outside the house is a little play area for kids with a sandbox and slide etc.

That said, this would be have been perfect except for the bugs. These little bugs were all over the home, in the bedroom, in the kitchen, in the bathroom. Crawling across the floors etc. I tried to ignore them/kill them as I saw them, but there were just too many. This may have been a unique experience, maybe the home was recently infested, I don't know. But it definitely put a damper on the weekend for me, I'm not a huge fan of creepy crawlies all over the place, and would make me hesitate to stay there again.

Other than that though, it would have been a wonderful place to say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and seclusion of the property, the movie selection and comfort of the furnishings.
Liked least: The bugs everywhere
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa E
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1000% satisfied!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we have rented out this cabin about 4 times and every. single. time we are 100% satisfied! which is why we keep coming back:). the location is perfect because it's close enough to restaurants and shopping but you still get the mountain feeling. the pull-down screen is a huge hit and it always feels spacious no matter how many people we end up inviting. this last trip was my for my husbands birthday and his 5 brothers. i asked the owner if he could pick up treats, breakfast and soda for when they arrived. not only was he willing to pick up all those things but he laid them out on the counter almost as if it was it's own birthday present. they are extremely accomodating and kind. we couldn't be more grateful that we discovered this cabin and we WILL be back again:).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: design and comfort of the cabin
Liked least: having to pay extra for more than 2 people.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing