We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect the Ritz but it's clean & good value for price $54 for double room with Queen beds”
Review of Canyonlands Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexican Hat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyonlands Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mexican Hat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't expect the Ritz but it's clean & good value for price $54 for double room with Queen beds”
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Found the Navajo one woman band proprietor friendly & helpful - she even gave us washing liquid so we could wash our clothes. Contrary to other poor reviews we found the room to be clean with fresh bed linen. Bathroom rather cramped but adequate. Shower only but that's fine as it saves water - you are in a desert.
Location convenient for Monument Valley - 22 miles.
Meals available quarter mile down the road by the river bridge at the Navajo run Old Bridge Grille on the San Juan Motel & Trading Post site. Joey Allen local artist, photographer & character is Assistant Manager. Traditional & Navajo ethnic meals are available here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Despite the bad reviews we stayed here because of the excellent price, and after peeking at a room, realized it was not as bad as others have reported. Our room was clean, linen clean, towels clean. The owner was very gracious, looked up weather for us on her computer, as we were on our Harley's, and hung out and visited with us for awhile. The owner is Dine' (Navajo) and it was very interesting chatting with her. One cool thing is if you forget deoderant, shower gel, perfume or something like that, she has some Avon products for sale in the office. The bedbugs that were reported had to be brought in by a guest as they only affect one room and we had no bugs at all, even though we would have liked to see a tarantula. We sat out on the porch that has chairs/tables, and had a very pleasant stay. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to the beautiful Navajo Reservation.

Room Tip: We were on the south side at the very end, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

one of the most awful places we have ever been! This motel only exists because of its location near Monument Valley and because the other motels are occupied. Small room, poor furniture (one leg of the bed was missing and they just put a stone underneath), smelly bedclothes (urine?), and, the most ugly thing: BEDBUGS!!!!! We even saw them, but couldn´t move to another room, had to stay there because it was after midnight already, nobody at the front desk available anymore.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Karl1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexican Hat hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Dirtiest, smelliest, most awful place ever had to stay in simply bcs San Juan Inn did not honor our reservation. At 10pm at night had to find a place to sleep for our child. If you can, drive further to Kayenta and AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!! Bugs, dirty, dusty, smelly, rude owner. TERRIBLE. Surprised they still have a license to run this place. Given any choice, would not stay there for free and would sleep in the car (not an option with a kid).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GRfamily49506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

If you want to stay here be prepared to pay and shut up. No question or request will be accepted from the lady. The place is ok but the rudeness is shocking.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank gabbianella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed one night there on the way to Monuments Valley and Sedona. Tried other places at Mexican Hat, they were fully booked, and finally got 4 rooms at Canyonlands motel.

Rooms are not 4-star but they are Okay. What I really liked is atmosphere. You can get out of the room, sit outside, drink beers and simply meditate looking at this western style place all around.

The view from this place at the direction of monuments valley is gorgeous!

There is Shell gas station next door which is open for any supplies.

it looks that place is owned by local indigenous people, woman owner was very friendly and nice with us adding to this From the Dusk till the Dawn great home atmosphere.

God bless places like Mexican hat!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
51.3 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
18.2 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
18.9 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 3 in Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
19.5 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands Motel

Property: Canyonlands Motel
Address: State Highway 163, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Region: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mexican Hat
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Hotel Mexican Hat
Canyonlands Motel Mexican Hat, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing