We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food”

Tsunami Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Tsunami Restaurant & Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 135 Restaurants in Midvale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1300 East
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Average sushi. Lacks variety, it's safe sushi - if you're not willing to try different things, it's safe. Seems like most of the cooked food varieties were all in the teriyaki category...boring.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mochi444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Good. Great Gluten Free Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My family enjoyed or meal at Tsunami. We have some members who have celiac who loved their meal as well. The gluten free menu was large and the staff was very well educated on gluten allergies. The service was a little slow, but very friendly. The small plates and the bento boxes are both a great value, and I loved the cucumber salad. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I had to make sure to write a review about this place! I went to lunch at Tsunami in Union Park on August 16th, 2013 for lunch. My husband and I both ordered the lunch boxes, only about $10 a piece. The boxes come with tempura veggies (onions, carrots, broccoli, and mushrooms), sticky rice, and two pot stickers. Plus you get to pick 2 proteins (teriyaki chicken, sushi, fish, etc). I picked tempura shrimp and teriyaki steak and my husband picked teriyaki chicken and steak. It was all delicious! The tempura had a nice crunchy and airy texture. The meats were tender and flavorful. Potstickers were yummy. As we were eating, we were already talking about the next time we can eat here again. The staff was nice, however with it being lunch time and the place being a bit busy, food did take a little while to come out. But not more than would be expected.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bloomin'cockroachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go for Happy Hour & get happy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Happy Hour is from 2 to 5 mon to fri & is a great value. The 2 of us had miso soup, & shared a generous portion of veg tempura, shrimp tempura roll, gyoza, baked mussels and excellent salmon skewers all for about $25. Saki was served nice & hot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudisnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

The food is fresh and fantastic. I highly recommend the EXECUTIVE roll. I have tried others and while they have all been really good, that one is a champion. The service was a little off as we had to remind our waitress to refill our water glasses. She seemed a little distracted but that didnt detract from the wonderful food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdcadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tsunami Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Tsunami Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing