We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
Conifer, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Room was clean and decently furnished, but the breakfast area was too small and crowded and dominated by a large busload of tourists with no supervision of the food once it was put out. Essentially breakfast was impossible. Towels were paper thin and toiletries very cheap and poor quality. No lobby area other than the breakfast tables. Our room did not cleaned, and the front desk person had no idea what to do about it. They have definite staffing issues and quality below what should be expected at a LaQuinta.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank janotomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    113
    82
    64
    65
See reviews for
146
95
49
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is very heavily used in the summer and is both understaffed and poorly staffed. It was difficult to find this hotel because of street name changes and the main lighted highway sign was burned out. Upon arrival at 10:30 at night we waited knocking and ringing at the front door for 5 minutes and only was able to enter when another guest left the building. It still took several minutes for the night clerk to show up to register us. The over-crowded breakfast room the next day was also very understaffed, inadequate food, and overflowing garbage receptacles. If we had not had good experiences with LaQuinta (and they always accept dogs) we wouldn't be apt to try this chain again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Utah, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I'd like to start out by what I thought was good. The service was excellent. The beds where very comfortable and so where the pillows. The AC worked very well. The staff provided us a free in room crib for our little girl which was very nice of them. The water pressure in the shower was great. The fridge and microwave was very convenient. I liked the look of the hotel exterior and interior design quite a bit. Booking online was easy.

I had a few problems with the stay. Our room leaked, after a major storm, in the closet they extracted the water which was nice. The halls are not very cleanly and could use shampooing. Housekeeping was actively working on rooms after check-in time.The pool area and walkway to the pool had a lot of litter which was not very cool. The bathrooms could use some updating. Our shower did have some scum in it around the soap holder, which was gross, but it was pretty clean otherwise. Our bathroom door was deteriorating on the inside, probably because of a bad bathroom fan. The door to the hall way had light showing through and let quite a bit of noise through. The Wifi was somewhat slow, but pretty good considering.

Overall I wouldn't stay here with my kids again because of the noise in the hallway after house let in through the door. It made it hard for the baby to sleep. If it's just the two of you you'd probably not have any issue.

Room Tip: If you have small kids, don't get a room by doorways into the hotel. ask for a room in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've been going to this hotel off and on for more than 15 years, and have seen several managers and even more staff come and go. Angela has been the best, by far, and is a delight to work with. The staff is competent, efficient, friendly and helpful, and even the night security guard makes us feel welcome when we come. The business center and the fitness room are basic, but definitely appreciated. The housekeeping staff appear to be quite hard-working, and the rooms are well taken care of. Maintenance problems (the few we have experienced) have been dealt with immediately, and the hotel goes out of its way to accommodate us with any special needs we have, such as late night check-in and late check-out. On more than one occasion, we were delayed in our trip and didn't arrive until after 5am, and were quite pleasantly surprised that there was no charge for that night's stay. The medical rate is extremely reasonable, and so helpful for us, since we have frequent appointments at the VA Medical Center and Huntsman Cancer Institute, sometimes several days per month. We appreciate their being there for us, and we really feel like this is our "home away from home".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank royj228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Cedro
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Was a nice stay. Room and bathroom were very clean with no smoke smell. The location for us was very close to all the places we needed to get to. Would stay here again. Cons: chlorine from pool area was a might strong, the green apples for breakfast were too green and the waffle area was rather messy. Nothing to keep us from coming back though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank 900debiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile


This was a free stay for me through the La Quinta rewards program. Unfortunately "free" was still too much to pay for this place. Poorly maintained would be the theme here. There was bad patchwork in the bathtub, mold in several places, the sliding window was crooked and off track, coffee pot was filthy and the desk chair arm was broken. To top it all off there was dirty underwear and sleep shorts left in the bathroom, along with a used cup in the nightstand drawer. On a positive note the front desk staff was super nice and the hotel is in a convenient location. In summary, though, I cannot recommend this hotel. It's an older property that just hasn't been well maintained.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank legendsofthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midvale
0.2 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Midvale
1.9 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Midvale
2.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Union Park
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale

Property: La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale
Address: 7231 S Catalpa Rd, Midvale, UT 84047-7396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn, Midvale Utah is a 100% Non Smoking Property (effective May 1, 2012) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale Hotel Midvale
La Quinta Midvale
Midvale La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing