We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Zermatt Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Midway
slc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrific”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff is great, the property wonderful. The rooms are cramped, and the on site food choices make this hotel a less than one star, overpriced, pay toilet. The walls are so thin that you cannot tell where all of the noise is coming from unless it is right above you, which it was. After three call to ask who was winning the basketball game going on over head the noise finally diminished enough to sleep. We almost had to call the police to stop the racket at 12:30 pm. If you are a heavy sleeper you won't mind.

We choked down a pathetic attempt at what they were audacious enough to call schnitzel (over cooked) and spetzle (rancid) at the bistro by the checkout counter. Went across the way to the Tea Room, and they were out of everything. We finally escaped after being overcharged for everything. Frozen pizza for $54 and an unusable soak and swim that cost $32 extra.

Management was non existent for a staff that was well trained and unbelievably caring, and on top of taking care of the guests. At least the sheets were clean.

Room Tip: Stay in Park City or Deer Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icarusxat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripXpert1, Manager at Zermatt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear icarusxat,
I would like to first apologize for the disturbance caused by the guests above you. We do our best to resolve noise complaints in a diplomatic manner whenever they occur, and I can't help but think that this lack of sleep played a role in the rest of your stay. Your comments regarding our wood fired pizza and other menu items have been forwarded to our Executive Chef so he can ensure a consistent product is being delivered to each of the outlets. Thank you for alerting us to a possible problem we were not aware of.
We take great pride in the service that our team provides and I would like to thank you for recognizing our staff for their job well done. I trust you also found them to be empowered to handle any situation that is presented to them as that is the style in which we lead them.
I'm not sure the circumstances that led to you not being able to use your soak and swim vouchers. They normally have a very flexible schedule and are motivated to get each and every guest in to see the wonder that is the crater.
Please don’t hesitate to contact the hotel if you would like to discuss in further detail. And again, my apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    146
    84
    66
    34
See reviews for
181
234
16
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
123 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Recently spent a few days @ Quilfest Conference @ the resort. We were greeted at the front entrance by valets, who took baggage, bags, and more bags, sewing machines, and us to our rooms. Cars were taken to the parking lot, and returned upon request and need. Lunches were well prepared, well plated, and served to 200 guests during lunch break. A large exhibition hall provided for quilt show and vendors across the front drive. We were 'cared for' in very gracious manner- attentive, friendly staff available to meet our needs and answer questions no matter what or when! Not all rooms are equipped with refrigerators or microwaves, so make plans and requests early.

Room Tip: Microwave and refrigerator available in limited number of rooms, so make your plans early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in Zermatt in early October and it was so beautiful. The room was clean and spacious and we got a great discount for staying in the off season. The food was reasonably priced especially at the bakery downstairs. In Midway there were a couple places to eat that we found very affordable and DELICIOUS!!!! We did many activities outdoors including putt-putt at the resort but also found our way to trails, golf, and The Crater was very unique and relaxing. Overall we would come back!!!! The staff was friendly and professional!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Let me start by saying I really enjoyed our stay at the Zermatt. Highlighted by the Homestead Crater swim – Amazing! The room was nice nothing that blew me away, but clean and comfortable.

We visited with my wife and me but I noticed that they had a lot of very family friendly activities that are free for guest. Mini golf, shuffle board, life size chess board, awesome pool and hot tub, and goats to feed. I think we will visit again with our children.

So overall our stay was quite enjoyable. If I had any complaints it was that the resort seemed to be a little understaffed. It is October, slow time for area, not summer but not quite ski season. so I can understand.

Let me give you a couple of examples. We used the free complimentary valet parking when we arrived at the resort which was nice. When we went to retrieve the car for an outing. We could not see a valet attendant. So we waited a few min and no one came. We finally went to ask the front desk where the attendant was, he was running the shuttle to the crater swim. We had to wait for about 15 min to get our car. Not a huge inconvenience but still a little off putting.

We also eat at Matty’s Bistro for breakfast. It was good. Portions seemed a little small for the price, but overall a good breakfast. Wife loved the Pan Purdue, the strawberry balsamic compote was very tasty. But again there we experienced under staffing. There was only one waiter for the entire place. Several large groups came in right after us. The waiter tried to do his best, but he is only one guy he couldn't do it all. It took us a long time to get our food and 25 min to get our check after we were done eating.

Overall I really liked the Zermatt and I think we will return with our family. But if your one of those, what I like to call, poodle travelers, high maintenance and whines about everything. Just know everything runs a little slower in Midway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Staff was friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was so weak I had to help my wife rinse her hair with a cup of water from the sink. The temperature kept changing from burning to freezing. Our room faced the parking lot and there was a noise all night from some sort of electrical or heating equipment outside. The walls were also not very quiet as we could hear everything our neighbors said as they prepared to leave early the next morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard were quieter according to others who traveled in our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heber City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hubby and I desperately needed a moment away from the house and our evening was wonderful. Relaxing and quiet. Front desk staff was friendly and competent. Dennis at Matty's Bistro was the best! We thoroughly enjoyed the Eggs Benedict for breakfast also. Z's dinner was superb and I highly recommend the Eggplant. Good time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We brought our family of 6 to the mountains of Midway for a Fall Getaway. The Zermatt is secluded and quiet and we loved being surrounded by the beautiful autumn colors of the mountains. The suite we stayed in was wonderful. You can't beat having a master suite, a room for the kids, and a living room and kitchen. We didn't feel crowded and the rooms and bedding are sumptuous.The indoor/outdoor pool was a big hit with our family, it is very nice. We loved walking around and visiting the goats, playing mini golf on the executive putting range, we walked and looked at the crater and had dinner at Mattie's. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely come back. We did have a groupon which made it affordable, otherwise the rooms are a little pricey.

Room Tip: We liked having a ground floor room. The master suite has doors that opened to the outside and we p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
0.3 mi away
Homestead Resort
Homestead Resort
#2 of 2 in Midway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
13.8 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.6 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#6 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
6.4 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sundance Resort
Sundance Resort
#1 of 1 in Sundance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zermatt Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zermatt Resort & Spa

Property: Zermatt Resort & Spa
Address: 784 Resort Dr, Midway, UT 84049-6463
Region: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zermatt Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zermatt Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zermatt Resort And Spa
Zermatt Hotel Midway
Zermatt Resort Midway
Zermatt Resort & Spa Utah/Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing