We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyonlands Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed in Canyonlands Motor Inn for four days: from May 7 till May 11. I went for a short hiking vacation in Canyonlands. I decided against lodging in Moab (price) so Monticello was a logical place to stay.
I must say I was very pleased with this place. The room had everything I wanted: it was clean and functional. It has refrigerator, microwave, bathroom and great acclimatization. It also had something many motels and hotels I stayed in were lacking: enough electrical outlets, to charge plenty of electronic gadgets, The WiFi worked great. I did not need a swimming pool, exercise room, in-room service, restaurant, etc.

This is a family owned motel, with very friendly owners. I will try to stay there again during my next trip to Canyonlands.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henryk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Old and musty, charmless and drab. Overpriced. Wifi did not work, and there are no phones in the room. AT&T doesn't cover the area, which isn't the motel's fault, obviously, but that wouldn't have been a problem if phones or wifi -BASIC amenities- had been provided. I'd rather sleep in my car.

Room Tip: choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myc0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here based on previous reviews, which were not exactly accurate. Our room had a horrible musty smell. The mattress was old and saggy, they might as well have not put pillows on the bed, as there was nothing to them. The room was in dire need of an upgrade. It had a fridge and microwave which were not needed, but no coffee pot. The lobby wasn't open in the morning (6:30 am) to check out. Overall, it was the worst hotel stay in our eleven nights on our trip across the country.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smart409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Not the best place I have ever stayed but MOAB hotels way overpriced. The room at Canyonland Motor Inn was clean except for the sink which the housekeeper forgot to wipe down after spraying with a cleaner so..I wiped it down. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows and sheets clean and fresh. The ice machine did not work and was empty, in the morning there was no hot water so we were glad to have taken a hot shower upon our arrival from Arches National Monument. For the price...we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Unlike the chain motels, the owners are very personable and conscientious. The room was clean, comfortable and reasonable priced. My wife and I have stayed here on five different occasions as it is about half way between where we live in Arizona and Salt Lake City where our son has recently moved to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TillmanMcDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Nice room, large for the price, very comfortable, very well maintained, really friendly and helpful owner. What's not to like? Monticello is one of the nicest towns in eastern Utah, and this was certainly a nice hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a place to recommend, very quiet ,very central, very clean and refurbished. Cosy. The pricing is very reasonable, you will have an excellent value for money perhasps the best in the whole town; we were arrived by night and we tried four of the hotels before to settle for that one.
But the main thing is the exceptional kindness of the staff. Our youngest boy did forget his teddy bear(well it was a teddy rabbit to be very precise) in the bedroom and the staff managed to send it back to our location on the eastern coast, without even accepting a reward. You can trust them! As a european diplomat, I am quite used to travel and was fully satisfied.

Room Tip: choose rooms in the building behind the receptrion which is the more quiet place and go for the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francois r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.3 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 6 in Monticello
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 6 in Monticello
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Monticello
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayside Motor Inn
Wayside Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Monticello
139 reviews
18.8 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
526 reviews
18.7 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#6 of 7 in Blanding
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands Motor Inn

Address: 197 S Main St, Monticello, UT 84535-8001
Region: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: £33 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Motor Inn located in the heart of Utah's most coveted National Parks - Canyonlands, Arches and even Moab! A fully modern motel at 7,060 feet elevation near the foothills of scenic Blue Mountains. We are the nearest hotel to the gateway to Canyonlands National Park. We offer clean, comfortable rooms, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and a central location that allows you to walk to restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canyonlands Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Motor Hotel Monticello
Canyonlands Hotel Monticello
Canyonlands Motel Monticello
Canyonlands Motor Inn Monticello, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing