We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The lodge is expensive due to lack of choices in this remote area but facilities were good. The room was nice and roomy with a huge king size bed and fridge. We watched sunrise from the balcony with a great views of the monuments. We also took the deluxe tour to the monuments and saw lots of great scenery. Be prepared for a dusty ride though. This place is great to stay for 1 night, I think the scenery might become boring for longer stays.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ling726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    1,023
    408
    115
    64
See reviews for
705
1,167
91
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CapelleaandenIjssel
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nothing can beat this location, so you don't expect a great hotel or in this case a great lodge. But I guess we we're lucky, we got cabin 341 just behind the supermarket and it was great. We a family of four with two almost adult boys had a spacious cabin with two bathrooms, two bedrooms, a kitchen and a living room. Add this to the immaculate view and you're on the top of the world. Staff was attentive and helpful. Just ask for one of the two cabins behind the supermarket and enjoy Monument Valley.

Room Tip: We had cabin 341. It is just off the road behind the supermarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City Area
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent one night here in the Goulding's RV camp, which is just up the road from the Lodge. We really enjoyed this campground. The employees were friendly and helpful and the campground is extremely clean and well cared for. The laundry and bathroom/shower facilities are very nice and they have an indoor pool that the kids enjoyed. The surrounding rocks and hiking trail were a nice bonus. I'd highly recommend staying here if you're going to this area with an RV or camper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAHLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

There are not many choices for RV parks if you want to stay in the Monument Valley area. We booked Goulding's Campground to park our RV for 2 nights and did not expect too much based on the reviews.

As we started the climb from the main road past the Lodge, between the stunning red cliff faces I knew it did not matter what the campground offered. The stunning location and view would make up for it.

We checked in a breeze, was given a reasonable package of camp information and headed to our RV site. The site was mainly red sand and not very level. One small tree and a picnic table.

Once we had set up the site we relaxed and looked out of the RV window shield and was amazed at the view. Our site was situated on the left hand side of the camp. Half way along the row. The view looked down the valley, framed by the steep red cliffs. Across the vast desert and had a view of the famous towers of Monument Valley. Amazing!

We did check out the rest of the Camp and found good facilities. We did not use the pool. It was indoors and not vary appealing. We was a little disappointed we could not have a camp fire at the site as well.

It was a bonus to explore the two short hikes from the Camp. Both well worth the time.

I would go back but I believe they know they are one of the only places to stay in town and it shows in places. A little competition may sharpen them up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The lodge is only one of two places to stay in the area. Clean, basic and comfortable. The surrounding country is beautiful. Worth every effort to see. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Our multi-generational family had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Goulding’s Lodge is a magical place. Built on the grounds of the original trading post run by Harry and Mike Goulding, the Lodge environs, staff, and events do their utmost to give the guest an authentic Old West experience.

The trading post itself has been faithfully preserved, and visitors may tour both floors of the building which was constructed in the 1920s and used a movie set (for “She Wore a Yellow Ribbon”) after its days of serving as a regional mercantile. The Gouldings’ living quarters are above the store, which also has memorabilia of the many Western films shot here and in the Monument Valley area.

Every room in Goulding’s Lodge is designed to have a scenic view from the balconies off the backs of the rooms. The lodge is “stepped” into the mountainside, cupped by buttes, and faces the Monument Valley Tribal Park. Our room (316) was fantastically situated, as the third-floor rooms have no floors above or below them, and we were far enough away from the dining room / gift shop / pool complex that it was very quiet.

The restaurant has typical prices for a hotel but serves up very tasty food with a great view. The portions are ample, and dinners include a soup and salad bar which is quite tasty.
One of the “perks” of our stay was the free showing of “Stagecoach” in the Lodge’s theatre (which is really a large room with a pull-down movie screen). It was swell to see the very setting we were in as a backdrop for one of the classic Western films.

There aren’t a lot of lodging choices for the visitor to Monument Valley, which makes Goulding’s Lodge all the more special. Without competition, they have still chosen to give the visitor a wonderful experience in America’s great Southwest.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300s are best as there's no one above or below you. Our room (316) was away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a 3 BR apartment that was a short drive from the main hotel. The layout was good for our family (4 adults and 1 child) - kitchen, living area with TV, good sized beds etc. The quality of food at the restaurant was disappointing. Also, the railing on the balcony of our upstairs room was broken, such that when one of our group leaned on it he was lucky not to fall over the edge. We advised staff of the problem, and they were already aware of it! Not a good sign and very disappointing that they would know about such a dangerous problem and do nothing about it. The wifi also did not work. Again, when we advised the staff they told us they were already aware of the problem, but nobody told us about it when we checked in. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument Valley
21.0 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
19.7 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Hampton Inn Kayenta
#1 of 4 in Kayenta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
5.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#1 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goulding's Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Property: Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Address: 1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Region: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Goulding's Lodge & Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Goulding's Lodge & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulding`s Lodge And Campground
Goulding`s Lodge & Campground Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Campground
Gouldings Lodge Monument Valley
Goulding Lodge
Goulding's Lodge & Campground Monument Valley, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing