We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwater Tours

Blackwater Tours
Ranked #10 of 20 Tours in Monument Valley
Attraction details
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our tour was great because our guide was awesome. I doubt many others can match his near twenty years as a guide, not to mention all the local knowledge that comes with actually being born and raised in the Valley. He answered all our questions. Basically we chatted for the entire time.

We did the all day tour and learned so much about the Valley and Navajo culture not to mention the Valley's famous movie history.

I had been to the Valley many years ago but did not do a guided tour back then. I had never realized until this trip the extensive Anasazi ruins and petroglyphs that a guide can take you to.

By the way, a major advantage of our early February visit was that we literally had both Mystery Valley and Monument Valley to ourselves. After 6 hours of touring, when we were almost back to the View ,we saw two other tour vehicles pass us as they were just starting their tour. That was the extent of the "crowd".

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A good company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I had made advanced reservations for the sunset and sunrise tours to help me photograph the Monument Valley with this company. Our guide Frank took us to the right places at the right time. He even played his flute at one of the arches, which was a natural amphitheater. He took us to places which were way off the main road and even told me where and how to look to get the best shots.

Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoysTravelling_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We did an all day tour of the valley. We went to places only reached by tour guides ,and cost was 135 each although we both loved the Valley, getting information from the "guide" was like blood from a stone. All in all disappointing would probably choose another tour company.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank borntotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

highly reccomended. We took a sunset tour. Our guide frank was very professional. The self guided tour is not enough in MV :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank voyage74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Wow! What a tour. Seeing Monument Valley from the over-looks was impressive enough, but this tour in a modified 4x4 through the valley, with a Navajo driver/guide who was so knowledgeable and interesting, was something else again. An outstanding 4 hours of my life that I will never forget. We passsed through settings reminiscent of so many western films and a traditional song and music were performed by guides in the Great Hogan at the far end of the valley, which was special. Our trip also included a traditional Navajo meal prepared and served at a picnic area in the shadow of the red sandstone monuments. What a spectacular dinner venue with the Navajo Taco made with 'frybread' beef, beans and salad vegetables tasting wonderful. We were able to watch the beautiful colours of the sunset at the end of the tour. The unexpected highlight of my trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cagey1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackwater Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blackwater Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing