We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”
Review of Wildcat Trail

Wildcat Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marion, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Did this non stressful walk just after sunrise following a restful night at the next door View Hotel. Really enjoyed the well marked trail. Would definitely do it again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 299catherinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    57
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peaceful and rewarding walk”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This three mile gentle strole around the west mitten butte is well worth doing. I went fairly early in the day and it produced some really lovely photographs. Nice to get away from the jeep tours and enjoy some tranquil moments. You are supposed to record your name and in and out times at The View Hotel Information desk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CB2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A walk in the park”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We took the wildcat trail to get a different grounds eye view of the Mittens

Due to building work, the start of the walk has moved, the people at the information centre were singularly unhelpful to help us find the start

However once we started the walk was quite pleasant, it's downhill to start, with a lot if sand and done rocky sections, thanks to the small cairns along the way it's reasonable easy to follow

Some good fees of the Mittens and some of the other buttes, in total took us about 90 minutes, including a detour to avoid a rattlesnake on the trail

If you have time, worth the walk

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Hiking in Monument Valley”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A wonderful short hike however very diverse and interesting terrain. The last segment is soft sand which can be challenging for some and take more time than expected. Lovely view around the large Buttes and lower part of the Valley.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Italexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“If I could recommend only one thing....”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The Wildcat Trail is just as monumental as a ride through Monument Valley and was for me the most appropriate way to enjoy this area. It's a walk around the West Mitten that will take about 2-3 hours depending on how you walk. It's not your typical trail in that you see where you're going at all times, but the thing is that each turn presents a new viewpoint. And I don't think you can quite get that from a car or lookout point as well as you can when you're up close. Further, almost nobody walks this trail, so it's just you and the monuments. I could say its a scene made for throwing bones in the air, but the truth is that it's so contemplative and meditative that you don't even think of movie references like that. (Well, except for John Ford, on second thought. I'll give you that.)

As others have said, the beginning/end of the trail are not really marked out, but in both cases you at least know where you're trying to go. I realized I was off the trail near the end when I saw the first other humans on the trail and they were 25 feet below me. I didn't want to backtrack at that point, so we'll just say I had two backcountry adventures that day, one with a Navajo guide and one getting out of here.

Helpful?
2 Thank ScottInPTC-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildcat Trail also viewed

 

Been to Wildcat Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing