We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A STEP BACK IN TIME”

Goulding’s Trading Post Museum.
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A STEP BACK IN TIME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

It is truly an idealic setting for this fabulous motel/inn. A fantastic gift shop, a worthwhile museum to explore along with John Wayne's Cabin from the movie Stagecoach. All in all a wonderful stop to make during your exploration of the Navajo Nation

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    167
    51
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We liked everything, there was nothing you could fault. All staff were very helpful, courteous and kind. Food in dining room was exceptionally good, rooms spotless, and the views from every angle were breathtaking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roseanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place to check out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were on a trip to Monument Valley where we stayed at The View Hotel a few miles away. My husband is familiar with the Goulding's history and was very interested in visiting the museum. Being a John Wayne cowboy movie fan pushed us over the edge when making the decision to make it happen. It took us almost two hours to read all the information and look at the pictures…we were surprised when we walked out that we had spent so much time. That Josef Muench had taken so many of the pictures on display kept my husband in his happy "photographer's zone." There is no admission fee to the museum and we were more than willing to leave a donation. There is a restaurant and bathroom facilities on the property just a few steps away.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandJDC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
522 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“If you are staying at Goulding Lodge it is worth the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were already staying at the Goulding Lodge and my wife was in the gift shop so I wandered to the museum. The fee is "tip based", so I gave the lady $5 and she seemed very happy. The museum is on two floors. The first floor has a few rooms related to Goulding and Monument Valley and was fairly interesting. They certainly love John Wayne, and the display about him was pretty interesting. Upstairs is preserved like when the Goulding family lived in the house, and I always like seeing how people lived in the past. Overall, it was well worth $5 and was a lot more interesting than the gift shop. I was probably in and out in 30 minutes. Would I travel to see this museum; probably not. If you are already there, most definitely go in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COTTONWOOD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great views!!! History of the cowboy movies. I didn't know how many were made at Monument Valley besides all the John Wayne movies. The whole history of the cowboy movie is here. Also the history of the Goulding's and their trading post was fascinating. Brought health and education to the Navajo Nation. And its a great restaurant and hotel!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KAREN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goulding’s Trading Post Museum. also viewed

 

Been to Goulding’s Trading Post Museum.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing