We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service,great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service,great location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located to explore the many parks in southern Utah. The staff are very friendly and the restaurant is excellent. Perfect for anyone who wishes to see the North Rim, Zion,or Bryce.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nevdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I do so agree. I could not wish for a better location. From here it's a short drive to Zion. Bryce, and the North rim of the Grand Canyon as you mentioned, but also the Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Grand Staircase National Monument, Cedar Breaks, Dixie National Forest's Red Canyon and Cedar Mountain, great slot canyons and some of the greatest scenic byways anywhere!

Thank you so much for your review.
Author of: Favorite hikes in and around Zion National Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    455
    143
    42
    16
See reviews for
377
478
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Like several other guests, we stayed at the Thunderbird because it's conveniently located between Zion and Bryce NPs. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. There's a restaurant so there's not a breakfast buffet. The WiFi didn't work. But overall a very comfortable nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I'm not sure I would survive without wifi! I wonder what the problem was, but whatever it was that is up to the wifi gods who work for the wifi companies. I am but a humble hotel person. All I can do is pick up an old fashioned telephone and beg the intelligent tech people to work their magic.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Great gem between Bryce and Zion. Summer at the front desk very sweet. Rooms very comfortable! Great balconies, huge tv, fantastic shower after hiking in Bryce. Must stop in the thunderbird restaurant for ho-made pie! Becky, Kim, and chelsie fantastic.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LeeLee3246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much. I do love to see happy travelers. You brightened my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good location for travel to Zion and Bryce Canyon. The staff was friendly and efficient with check in and check out. Room was clean and comfortable. There was a restaurant on premises which was helpful because the city is not real big.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulfcoastfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy you were happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you want to stay between Zion and Bryce, this is the perfect place for you. We were 1 hour from Bryce and only 1/2 hour from Zion during our recent stay in Mt. Carmel. It is evident when you arrive that this is a family-run hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and cheerful even in the early morning hours. We had good meals for breakfast and dinner; the Thunderbird Berry pie is delicious for dessert.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
What a happy person you are. You have made my day. Thank you for such a good review.


Tanya Milligan
Author: Favorites hikes in and around Zion National Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Both pools out of service, wifi not working properly. Frontdesk promised tech-guy would call me with 45 to 60 minutes to solve this, that never happened. No breakfast included. Construction going on and even during the night large floodlights pointed to the rooms on the construction site we're not switched off, why?

Positive: reception has nice decor. Not too expensive, nice jumpstart for Zion. Subways around the corner for a quick bite, also petrol and a restaurant with simple but ok burgers available on site. Not as noisy as many other BW's.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arjan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
The Pool opens June 1st, 2014

Best Western required our pool construction be started by a certain date and the contractors are doing their best. The hotel desk would have told you that the pool opens June st 2014. I don't see how anyone could have fixed this soon for you during your stay. Your message is confusing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurley, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If planning to be between National Parks in this region of the country, this place is reasonable for the price. Room is large and clean. Bathtub is not usable; essentially a shower floor with a short depth (may be okay for little children). Shower was usable, but weak. Small fridge, microwave, K-cup Kureg coffeemaker in room. Staff was very pleasant. Restaurant is fair at best. Nice little gift shop.

Room Tip: Did not see fitness center, just not able to easily uncheck. Maybe I need education or Tripadvisor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMRAGBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
You got one of our two small rooms. My Grandma many years ago had to add a laundry room and to do so she had to make those 2 rooms the size of normal motel rooms and for some reason she put in shower like tubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,858 reviews
14.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
15.2 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755 (Formerly BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Mount Carmel, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing