We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel has a original history as a homestead. Fun decor and great restaurant. Very peaceful stay along a green golf course, Hotel was just what we needed after a day long visit to the Grand Canyon North Rim. Clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Folks like you that still appreciate a small family ran business warm my heart! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Highly recommend the Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge located in Mount Carmel Utah. We always stay at Best Westerns and this was first rate. Very nice room, the restaurant staff is wonderful and the food really good. You have to have a piece of Strawberry Rhubarb pie with ice cream....I mean your on vacation!!! The location is ideal for visiting the Zion area, easy to find and a good base for traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I always makes my day to see a happy and joyful person! Keep passing on the smile and thank you for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our stay was awesome! We arrived late and the restaurant was still open and the food was very good! The room we stayed in was right off the golf course. It was spotless and the bed was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We like the hotel, stayed here for the third time already and were not disappointed. The location is great, in a beautiful setting, between Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. The North Rim of Grand Canyon is also not too far away.
The buildings are in typical American Motel style, the rooms large and clean, with wooden furniture. Prices are reasonable and staff very friendly. We used the pool and spa to relax in the evening. They are relatively small, but clean and ok. Wifi was free and working well.
We ate diner in the restaurant, which the whole family liked - try one of their home made pies for dessert, they are great!
If you want a break from sightseeing, take a half day and play a round of golf, in beautiful surroundings.
Lastly, while Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks are famous, don't miss the Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park for a short visit. It is only a 20 minutes drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

You are a man that has stayed enough to know what you are talking about! Thank you so much!

A quick note for the guy with the coffee pot problem in a past post. It seems that a lot of people are struggling to figure out how to work the new fancy Keurig Coffee Makers. Just call the desk and they can walk you though it if you have problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the clean room and friendly staff. The resturant was an added bonus as we had been working out of a cooler on this road trip. Good food, and happy service made all the difference as we pulled in late to stay the night. We all commented that we would stay here again if/when we come through this way a second time. The location is quiet and peaceful so it was very relaxing. The pool was clean and inviting. All staff at check in and check out were very friendly. Housekeeping was also very friendly and happy. Im not used to seeing that at hotels..usually I feel like its just a job to the staff at the hotels Ive been to, but everyone here was very personable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Camille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Here our staff is like family in this family owned and ran hotel. In such a small community we keep the same employees just about forever, then we hire their children and then their grandchildren. I am glad you enjoyed the pool. It was just remodeled this summer. That your group would stay again is the nicest compliment we could ask for. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved everything about this hotel except the in-room coffee maker would not work. We would stay here anytime we are in the area. Rooms were large and clean. The restaurant was a great place for food. The wait staff were very friendly and took good care of us. We cant say enough good things about this wonderful hotel and their staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We just got brand new keurig coffee makers in all the rooms. I sure hope we did not miss your room, or that one of those expensive units would have broke already. Next time let the desk know and they would have either brought you hot already made coffee or got you a new coffee maker.

Thank you again for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were worried pulling into the parking lot after staying at the Best Western Squire Inn. We had a great time at the Squire and Tuscayan is such a quaint (albeit touristy) village...So when we pulled into the parking lot of the Thunderbird, our hearts sank. Where are we?... Thankfully our worst fears were disspelled once we met the staff, who honored a room change fcing the back golf course, rather than right on the parking lot in front...With small kids it's the way to go...big lawn and a straight run to the pool...nice view of the golf course as well... The rooms were well kept, and clean...we began to relax a little bit and had a great night's sleep...we had an amazing breakfast, with homemade breads and smoked bacon, etc...then off to Zion, which is completely breath-taking... into the pool...clean, friendly folks...we are having a great time... another great night's sleep, Ziom, and to the Buffalo Grill just up the mountain...a bit pricey, but the food and view couldn't be beat, and we even toasted marshmallows outside in the firepit while ducks, chicks, horses and buffalo (behind a fence) ran around us... back to the hotel for more pool and another nice sleep... my folks even got a round of golf in...and enjoyed their stay...as discerning as they can be... the food, the rooms, the location, and the friendly staff absolutely helped to make our vacation an amazing one... would definitely recommend it...and the country gravy and biscuits...;)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 17 in Springdale
1,958 reviews
18.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montclair
15.2 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 1 in Zion National Park
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755 (Formerly BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range: £68 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Mount Carmel, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing