We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice people, nice room, fair food. The décor of the hotel was western themed and cute. The check-in was pleasant and the staff warm and welcoming. The gift shop service was pleasant but many of the contents came from abroad. The restaurant service was quick and pleasant, the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Arleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

The hotel and restaurant are under different management. Thank you for you for your nice review of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
There are newer reviews for Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel was perfect for Zion, rooms were spacious and clean. Restaurant attached to hotel was a delight. Then to top it all the rooms overlook a golf course which makes a lovely change to the usual.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I really like not being the typical sort of place! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel was lovely, overlooking a golf course and close to Zion National Park. Room was very satisfactory except for a/c which never stopped running and did not cool efficiently. Restaurant food (dinner) was sub-standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rosemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Air Tip: Just switch your cooler from energy saving to normal and you won't have that problem. That goes for any hotel. In addition, get a reservation ahead of time. We are actually the lowest price quality lodging in the entire area!

Note: The restaurant is not operated by the same people at the hotel. There is a place on tripadvisor to give your reviews of it.

Thank you for your review. I hope you had an enjoyable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place has everything. The rooms are rustic with handmade wood furniture, sliding glass doors have a small patio and chairs overlooking the mountains, a golf course right on site with carts, a restaurant and a great gift shop.

Not anything what you would expect of a major chain.
The beds were great, ditto pillows, very quiet, and room was spotless.

The staff was great also.

Honestly, I can't find anything wrong.

Room Tip: we liked the single story rooms-hate people above us walking with cowboy boots all night.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I agree with you! Those are the things I cherish in lodging as well. Golfers love that last single story unit at the end. Our golf prices are incredible, and we offer free club rentals to hotel guests. People usually come to see the parks, but it's fun to get a round of golf in too!

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel was one of the best we've ever stayed at (for a Best Western). The room was HUGE, and CLEAN, and SO COMFORTABLE!! Our view was of the golf course and we had a small patio where we could sit and have a glass of wine wile watching the golfers. I would HIGHLY recommend that you stay here while visiting Bryce and Zion!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BonnieS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Your view is the same as mine. I love it here where it's quiet, surrounded by mountains and one can sit on the patio and relax. At dusk there are often deer on the golf course too. Across the road is the Virgin River which makes a nice place for an eventing stroll. Three miles on US-89 is the turnoff to the Coral Pink Sand Dunes, which makes for a wonderful nighttime excursion. It's less than 12 miles total to the dunes from your hotel.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed two nights at the Mt. Carmel Best Western. It was conveniently located between Bryce and Zion, on our way from the Grand Canyon. We had a nice stay and everyone at the hotel was wonderful. The road into Zion from here is not to be missed. The restaraunt is not owned by the hotel, and would not eat there again, but the lodge in Zion had a great dinner and breakfast the next day. Great Stay, beautiful country!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DiDan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I so agree with you about that drive from Mount Carmel through Zion National Park. It's called the Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway or Scenic Byway and is one of the most incredible drives on our planet!

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Although this motel is part of a big chain it is very unique. From the rooms to the lobby and attached diner. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and up to date but with a nostalgic feel. So if your headed to zion and want something close by. This is it. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review! I could not have got a better compliment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,926 reviews
15.2 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
2,006 reviews
14.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755 (Formerly BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range: £88 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Mount Carmel, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing