We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Tuson, United States
1 review
“Nice and Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a very pleasant place to stay, a nice surprise. We didn't golf due to rain, but gee wizz, if you need a fix what a perfect place. The restaurant is as convenient as can be, the rooms very clean and updated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Talking about rain, we had a doozy last night! The power went out and rain fell from the clouds! What a rare treat in this desert terrain. Zion will be spectacular today with waterfalls coming from the accumulated rain that finds a common crevice. Thank you for your kind review! I hope you come again and are able to golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    420
    132
    39
    13
See reviews for
332
448
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Hotel service was great. All the folks working there were very helpful, polite and informative about the area. Bright smiles, and truly made you feel welcomed. Helpful with rewards card information. Comfortable beds, cool room, Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mitchr819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for you kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great place to stay following a trip to Zion and continuing to Grand Canyon. Pleasantly surprised by the large room, very clean, comfortable bed and overall quiet surroundings. Convenient laundry on-site. Nice gift shop and lovely clerk, I believe her name is Sandy. We really enjoyed talking with her and hearing her stories! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which was convenient to the laundry and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Sandy is a doll. She has been around the Thunderbird for a very long time. Thank you so much for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbelltown, South Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The price is very reasonable but it is not that which makes it such a good deal. It is also in a good location to Zion national park. The rooms and bathrooms are well sized, well appointed and very, very clean. The whole place is maintained so well and the staff are amazingly friendly. Good restaurant, balcony, pool/spa and free WiFi. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lolly711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
You have made my day and I am thrilled we were able to do the same for you! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryden, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location of this hotel was great for us as we had just traveled through Zion National Park. It does have a restaurant which was good. There is a gas station/convenience store located right out front. There is an outdoor pool, hot tub and patio area that was quiet and relaxing. We had adjoining rooms which was handy for us as we typically would hang out in one of our rooms upon arrival - this way we could just open the door between rather than having to go outside. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for the review. I am thrilled you would stay here again, but saddened by the 3 stars. I feel you are not comparing us to other hotels in the same price range and accommodation choice but rather than with a costly upper class lodging choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Staying close to the park? This is the place to stay. Large comfortable rooms with patios. Cute golf course. Good restaurant food (although salad bar is a little skimpy). Friendly staff. Nice pool and hot tub area. Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DLS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I love to sit on the balconies and watch the golfers and deer on the course. It's nice being surrounded by mountains and vegetation instead of city life. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice people, nice room, fair food. The décor of the hotel was western themed and cute. The check-in was pleasant and the staff warm and welcoming. The gift shop service was pleasant but many of the contents came from abroad. The restaurant service was quick and pleasant, the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
The hotel and restaurant are under different management. Thank you for you for your nice review of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
15.2 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
17.3 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
17.0 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, 9 hole golf course and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, DirecTV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Mount Carmel, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing