We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find”
Review of Golden Hills Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Hills Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a gem. The price is fair, the location convenient to Zion and Bryce national parks, and the setting delightful: We opened our windows and listened to the soothing rippling of the stream behind our room. Yes, it is a classic of the genre: A roadside motel. It is well run, with a conscientious staff that wants to please--and succeeds. Our room had clearly been modernized, with extra efforts to add comforting charm. The room was clean and spacious. The bed comfortable, the bathroom updated. And everything was clean. Fancy? Nope. It's not a spa. But we were traveling across the country with a dog and no set agenda; in this circumstance it was nice to stumble upon the Golden Hills Motel. It is a delightful base for exploring a beautiful corner of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

It's true you do get what you pay for, so when we booked a room for 60 bucks we weren't expecting much, but we were very pleasantly surprised!

Service: We arrived around midnight, and the man up front was nice enough to set an alarm to wake up in time to make sure he was at the front desk when we arrived.

Room: The building is older, yes, but clean and very comfortable after a long drive. Clean linens, clean bathroom, decent tv, just what we needed to relax for a few and relax before getting up for a day in Zion.

Price and Location: Location was excellent, only 17 miles from Kanab and even closer to Zion's East entrance. The short drive to the park was well worth the lower price in Mt. Carmel as opposed to some ridiculous prices closer to the park.

Bonus!: I was very skeptical about the diner at Golden Hills Motel. I'm very picky with cleanliness especially when it comes to food. But, we ended up going back for breakfast three times. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. Quick service too. Everything I had was excellent, but I especially recommend the Biscuits and Gravy. YUM.

As I read other reviews that bash this place because it isn't new enough for some, I laugh thinking about how these people can even handle hiking, backpacking or any outdoor physical activity that may cause fatigue or perspiration. No, it's not a Marriott, so don't expect a turn down service and a mint on your pillow. Unless you're a princess and can feel the pea under a hundred mattresses then this place will definitely not disappoint!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

OK, it's not new. But it's cleaner and better maintained than some of the Super 8s, Motel 6s, Day's Inns, etc., we stayed in on this trip. Has all the amenities: refrigerator, microwave, dish tv, free wi-fi -- and the most comfortable mattresses we found in 3 week road trip. Plus, the associated restaurant had super-bargains, like all you can eat soup & salad bar for $6.95.

If you're planning one day in Zion and one day in Bryce Canyon, this is the perfect in-between place.

Room Tip: Some rooms back on the river, which adds a lovely sound at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieL175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were looking for a nice motel to get a good rest between Zion and Bryce Canyon.
Golden Hills Motel was perfect for us: reasonable price (USD55$), very clean and quiet room, friendly staff.
Besides, the same name restaurant next to the motel is very good for diner and breakfast. Lot of choice, quality meals and good price.
Thanks for all, we recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baptiste J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is the 2nd or 3rd stay at this great motel at the entrance to Zion National Park. The five of us, all on motorcycles (the owner treats bikers real well), stayed for three nights and did day trips around the area. The food is great and very reasonable at the motel's restaurant. John (the owner) and his daughter Katy and son James, as well as all the other employees (Shannon was great) are there to make your stay fun and comfortable. Beds are good, rooms are clean, upgraded with nice tile in the bathrooms, even a fireplace in many units. Hard to beat for $42/night, double occupancy (before taxes, off season). There is a great creek/river out back of the motel, which is very refreshing after a hot day of sight-seeing or riding. We got to meet some really neat people staying at the motel; folks from Denmark, fellow motorcyclists, families on vacation. They do a great job of catering to the needs of everyone oriented towards enjoying what the area has to offer.

Room Tip: A room with windows to the front AND back are nice, as you can have the rear windows open at night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I drove through this junction on my way to Zion National Park. The motel is very reasonably priced and has gorgeous views of the river. While not fancy, the rooms were pleasant and well equipped. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjhtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Doesn't look like much from the road, definitely an older property, but the other choice in town did not allow pets - I was very pleasantly surprised by a warm and friendly greeting, very reasonable price and an excellent stay with clean and spacious room, new flat panel TV, high speed internet, plenty of hot water and a superb restaurant right on the same property. Chatted with the owner over breakfast and got lots of good local tips for exploring. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Carmel
15.3 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 1 in Zion National Park
2,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
17.3 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 17 in Springdale
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#3 of 5 in Zion National Park
971 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hills Motel

Address: 125 East State, Mount Carmel, UT 84755
Region: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range: £39 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Golden Hills Hotel
Golden Hills Motel Mount Carmel, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing