We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh My... no bed bugs, I hope” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ogden River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ogden River Inn
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh My... no bed bugs, I hope”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We decided to try this place based on other reviews...it was priced a bit lower than what we are used to but we liked the idea of supporting a local business for a one night stay.

The best thing I can say is that the room was mostly clean and we weren't robbed during the night. Overreaction? Perhaps except that I really was not confident there was ANY type of security here.
The list:
Door to room was smashed in and the chain for the door was missing a piece so it wouldn't work.
There was no place to plug in a charger except the bathroom and the outlet that was in use had extenders and too many things plugged into it. A fire hazard. The heater was too dirty/old to touch and the single pane windows had black mildew. There were strange pieces of wood attached to the walls in various places, perhaps to cover holes and dents?
There were 2 hangers that had no rung for hanging pants and the lighting was too dark to see properly in the closet area.
The bathroom door frame was rotted away at the bottom and the bathtub was too dirty - slimy at the drain for my child to bathe. There was no stopper in the tub either. When I took a shower in the morning before departing there were ants or some other critter exploring the tub/shower. the bathroom seemed to have small black specks, not bed bugs, tobacco?, not sure, in th bathroom.

The only reason we didn't leave was that we were tired and decided to put up with it for one night. You DO get what you pay for here. It is on a busy street and the whole place is rather rundown.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifelearners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1azskier, Manager at Ogden River Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
We were sorry to learn that you were ill when you came to visit us. We hope you have recovered and are doing better. At check-in you were offered a room with two beds for you and your son, but you wanted a ground floor, and this was the only room available with a king bed for the two of you. It is unfortunate that you were not able to stay in one of the remodeled rooms. You were also informed that we have hotel employees available 24 hours a day, and we routinely watch over the hotel throughout the night. As we are in remodeling, not all the rooms are complete, we have noted your comments, and have corrected them. Yes, we are an older hotel, and the bathtub finish has faded, but it was not "slimy" and as you said the room was clean. You did not want to pay a little more for a more comfortable room with 2 beds, and our prices are reasonable for the area. We are sorry you did not have a better experience, and it is a shame you did not ask us any questions. You were given excellent customer service per your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    4
    7
    11
See reviews for
8
10
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

I chose this hotel because I needed somewhere within walking distance to a conference downtown and the reviews seemed to be favorable. However, about the best that can be said for the place is that the bed was comfortable. Other than that, in the 5 days I stayed there, the room was not cleaned, the sheets and towels were not changed, and the TV remote did not work. (Not a digital TV, either.) "The River" cafe next door is closed, the "exercise center" is closed, and there is no WiFi. There is a computer for guest use in the lobby, but forget about getting your email--not configured for AOL, gmail, or Yahoo. There is plenty of hot water, but it is absolutely scalding.

This might have been a nice hotel years ago but has definitely fallen on hard times. The roof needs to be replaced (not just repaired), the parking areas need to be resurfaced, and the rooms need to be refurnished. But compared to other motels in the area, it is cheap. However, be prepared to pay up front when you register. My guess is that a lot of guests skip out, and they do that as a preventative measure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Washington St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1azskier, Manager at Ogden River Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Actually you could have "gotten" a lot more if you spoke up. You wanted to pay as little as possible and you got a nice room at a great price. We are clean,safe,comfortable and working on improving the grounds. Let's visit your issues one at a time. 1) We would have been happy to assist you with the password to our WIFI, we obviously give it out to our guests, but you did not ask, also since the front office computer is available during lobby hours only, the person at the front desk would have been happy to help you find your email account, as well as help you how to use the remote. 2) We do try to provide hot water for our hard working guests, we apologize that you had difficulty adjusting the setting. 3) The Exercise Fitness Center is well equipped and up to date. If it was locked, we would have been happy to open it up for you. 4) Just as many hotels do, for guests staying more than one night, we provide daily service upon request, just ask. 5) Yes, the weather this year has provided us with a challenge on one side of the hotel, and at the price you wanted to pay for your 5 day stay which is about a 2 day stay at the regular convention hotel, we cannot afford to appoint every room with a brand new digital TV. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we do the best we can to keep the rate to what you wanted, but as a guest if you do not speak up, we cannot assist you with your needs and concerns. Certainly from your review you were in the lobby at times, from our experience we are surprised at the majority of your comments, since we always ask guests in the lobby if they need assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ogden hotels

Phoenix
Level Contributor
243 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Seriously, there was a head dent on the pillow, and Black hair of course. The blankets were so pilled up they had to be on their second decade. Cleanliness was obviously not high on the priority list. Also it is another example of the weekly, monthly electrical crew staying there, noise, beer cans and ashtrays on patio railings, we checked out after 4 minutes, thet were aplolgetic and nice about it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walks4653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stayed here on a recent ski trip and will definitely be going back.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Located near all one could need and just mnutes away from some serious skiing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snwbrd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

I stayed here two nights while en route to Salt Lake City during a move. The staff is absolutely amazing with their helpful recommendations as to local sites and offerings. The inn sits only a few minutes away from the downtown area and its nightlife and shopping, while remaining close to the recreational offerings of Ogden as well. The accommodations were spacious, more than suitable, and seemed to have recently undergone renovations. For the price you can not beat the location, genuine friendliness of the staff, and overall comfort of stay. Overall, I would describe it as a quaint inn that provides a quality representation of this vibrant, beautiful and relaxing mountain town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akaustin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

i spent for days at the Ogden River Inn with my friend. The rooms are great, large and clean ( with wifi and nice tv) and are really cheap. The hotel is 5mn away from Ogden center which is really nice. You can go to ifly ( indoor sky diving) or climbing, bowling etc.
Moreover the is really nice, helpful smiling and pleasant.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family who'd like to have a fun ski trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Spent four days at the river inn and all I have to say is that I could not have been happier with the hotel. Simple and clean and great price! The people who own the inn are the best, always there for anything you need and so genuine and caring. When I come back to ogden, river inn will definitely be my place of stay. Just 5 minutes from downtown and 25 from powder mountain!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgoer60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.0 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
4.7 mi away
Alaskan Inn
Alaskan Inn
#8 of 21 in Ogden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogden River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogden River Inn

Property: Ogden River Inn
Address: 1825 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-0431
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right on the Ogden River Walkway. Within a few seconds from your room, you can: Fish, Hike, and Bike. Within,20 minutes we have 2 world class Ski/Snowboard Resorts up the road and Pineview Reservoir/Ogden Valley is good for all your outdoor sports including fishing, ice fishing, snow kiting, snowmobiling, and horseback riding... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ogden River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogden River Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing