We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of their rate quotes...”
Review of Ogden River Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ogden River Inn
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of their rate quotes...”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My room was clean but the wi-fi was pretty glitchy and didn't work a lot of the time.

Beware... they do not honor their rate quotes!

I wanted to stay for 10 days and offered to pay for 10 days up front at 10/7's of the weekly rate (10/7 x $212 = $303). **THEY** choose to have me pay for a week ($212) with the understanding that I could extend for the additional 3 days at 3/7's of the weekly rate ($91). When it came time to extend for the additional 3 days they would not honor their previous commitment and wanted $151... period. I feel like I was robbed...

Room Tip: Lots of traffic noise in rooms accessed from Washington Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeavyHex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utahboarder, Manager at Ogden River Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We're glad you found the room clean and comfortable. As for the internet, we offer it as an additional bonus, a convenience we couldn't even think of charging for. It's was free... You're welcome. When you said you wanted to stay for 10 days, we made you aware of a weekly rate, this was to save you money... And we did. The extra days fall under the regular nightly rate. Had the nightly rate exceeded the weekly rate, we would have saved you even more money. To recap, we gave you a clean comfortable room, free internet and even saved you quite a bit of money by generously offering you a weekly rate for the first 7 nights, sorry the extra nights were a la carte. When we explain this to our guests they are usually very appreciative and grateful. We're sorry you didn't see it this way and hope you'll forgive us for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    4
    7
    11
See reviews for
8
10
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ogden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable,great price and the management are friendly and nice you have a place to go workout and they also have a washer and dryer they dont let anyone who not staying just hang around a great place'

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utahboarder, Owner at Ogden River Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It's a pleasure to serve appreciative guests like you. We have worked so hard to upgrade the property and the rooms and it's nice to see them being enjoyed. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Good location, clean rooms, friendly helpful staff.
The owner really made our trip better by providing discount ski tickets to Powder Mountain. We recommend this to anyone staying in Ogden.
We'll be back.
Bob

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brosius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utahboarder, Owner at Ogden River Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. You and your wife were very nice. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

friendly and helpful staff, room was clean and comfortable, fridge and micro, good location, great price -

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utahboarder, Manager at Ogden River Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We need all the good reviews we can get. We have worked so hard to improve the property and it's nice to see that you noticed. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I
This Is The Best Place In Ogden For The Money[$35 Up]. Clean Rooms-Comfortable Bed-Tubs In Large Bath-Micro And Fridge-Internet-Bus Stop Out Front- Next Door To New Upscale Pizza Pub-On The New Ogden River Trail[Miles Of Paved Trail To Walk Or Ride] Front Desk Friendly And Helpful[Owner Even Helped Me Get A Great Price On Airline Ticket] They Have A Zero Drug Policy And No Misfits Allowed!
I

Room Tip: Check It Out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BANYANGUY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Traveling through for work we thought this would be a good place to stay and save money. Well the door was not in the frame correctly see daylight all the way around, door handle bent, no safety lock at all. Bed sheets were very small and didnt stay on the bed, as well as bed being very stained, We have 2 pets that travel with us and they felt very unsafe and they didnt sleep as well as I didnt sleep. I had barraceded the door and still did not feel safe as to seeing alot of unsavory people.
The bathroom was disgusting I used bleach to clean toilet and tub before using,as the bottom of tub had hair in it. As for towels forget it, you get 2 and no maids come by you have to go get what you need. Very disgusting, wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svtbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ogden hotels

Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here based on the good reviews. Either this hotel is reviewing itself or something is really wrong. Just read through the hotels responses to complaints on here. It's all excuses or blaming the customer!

This is by far the worst and scariest hotel I've ever seen. We are a family of 5 so we got two rooms. BOTH rooms were disgusting. The sheets were stained on all beds. The bathtubs were gross. I don't just mean "faded" that the hotel mentions in it's responses. I mean dirty with rust or some sort of stains with hair in the drains. It was bad enough that none of us were willing to get in them and left dirty.

One room had a bullet hole and cracked glass on the window. The other rooms ceiling was actually caving in. The ceiling had cracked and pieces were on the bed and floor. I actually took a picture of this and will see if I can find it.

This is beyond a you get what you pay for experience. It's just plain unsafe. We tried calling down to the front desk but no one was answering the phones. We didn't go back down because it was late, it's not exactly the safest neighborhood, and there were a lot of creepy guys around. It was also too late to go somewhere else so we just sucked it up. I suppose risking it and arguing for a different room is an option but we had TWO rooms. Clearly the whole place is a mess.

We definitely learned our lesson the hard way and made sure we stayed at well known places for the rest of our trip. I guess we'll always have memories of "that scary hotel ha mom picked out". Stay far away from this place!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
1.0 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogden River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogden River Inn

Property: Ogden River Inn
Address: 1825 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-0431
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ogden River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right on the Ogden River Walkway. Within a few seconds from your room, you can: Fish, Hike, and Bike. Within,20 minutes we have 2 world class Ski/Snowboard Resorts up the road and Pineview Reservoir/Ogden Valley is good for all your outdoor sports including fishing, ice fishing, snow kiting, snowmobiling, and horseback riding... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ogden River Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing