We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky choice!”

MacCool's Public House Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lucky choice!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in downtown Ogden hotel (in the business district) and after parking the car, saw MacCool's on the corner down a block from our hotel. Good choice! Nice Irish atmosphere and (recorded) music but what really made this a great choice was the JOURNEY sandwich with split pea and ham soup! Wowsers! Sandwich was grilled ham and cheese with two kinds of cheese and each piece of sourdough spread with fig jam! What a neat idea and why did I never think of that at home, for heaven's sake?! Pea soup was so thick your spoon left a dent - excellent flavor. Highly recommend if you ever find yourself in downtown Ogden.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We were lucky our 1st choice was closed!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had already picked a place to have lunch in Ogden on our way to Idaho Falls, but it was not open on a Saturday afternoon so we ended up here and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The place is tied in with a hotel and has a lot of charm to accompany the bar atmosphere.
The bottom line is that the staff was friendly, the service excellant, the food good, and the prices reasonable

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
268 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Know the local laws”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Although this establishment has a dining area and a separate bar, it's not really a "bar". The local laws prevent people from having a drink without ordering food even in the "bar". Who knew! So we ordered an appetizer to split and went elsewhere for dinner

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alps110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maccools a great place to have drinks and eat.”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I love to eat here. The staff is amazing and the food is delicious. Maccools is now considered a Dinner Club with Utah Liquor laws. What does this mean? it means that you can now go in and drink alcohol without having to order food. Families are still welcome, but if you are under 21 you have to be with someone who is. This is a place to go on St. Patty's Day. The staff makes you feel like you are in Ireland. Love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvly2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
340 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cool Irish Pub!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Can get a little crowed after about 2pm on weekends when they generally have live music. Fun waiters and a good menu. Meals are large enough to split!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacCool's Public House Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing