We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinguished eligance and dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Distinguished eligance and dog friendly”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

An amazing hotel, after 5 days on the road this historic gem was such a nice change of pace from the chain hotels we had been staying at. The Ben Lomond has unique architectural details, amazing crystal chandeliers and two great restaurants. What a nice stop for our road weary family. Our two year old loved the Tree house Museum which is with in walking distance and our doggie had a great time playing in the park across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Kuma K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you were on quite a road trip. We are so glad you enjoyed the historical details of our hotel and our two restaurants. We are happy you enjoyed the Treehouse Museum we think it is a great place to take little ones to play and learn and very convenient since it is an easy three block walk, or drive, from the hotel. Next time you pass through Ogden with your little one make sure you visit the Eccles Dinosaur Park or the the Union Station Train Museum. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again for the great review. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    102
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
90
119
26
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed one night when passing through Ogden. Our room was a Queen Suite. It had a sitting room with older television, a bedroom with a flat screen television, only one nightstand. It is in downtown Ogden with a free parking garage attached. There is no obvious path from the garage to the hotel. We drug our bags up the front steps to the main lobby to find the elevator. The breakfast was very good. Several options in the self-serve buffet. Eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, pastries, bagels. When leaving my husband got trapped in the elevator to the parking garage. Thank goodness for cell phones.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethinLasCruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear BethinLasCruces,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast. We apologize for not letting you know that the ADA entrance to the hotel is under a maroon canopy right next to the parking garage and all guests are welcome to use this entrance to wheel their luggage into the hotel. We also apologize for the elevator trying to keep your husband with us at the hotel, it must have thought he would make a good addition to the hotel (he must be especially nice because this does not happen very often). It is definitely a comfort to have a cell phone, but if your husband hadn't had his phone on him he would have been able to call for assistance on the elevator's emergency phone which is located just below the control panel.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are passing through Ogden or visit us this winter for ski season.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I was excited when I got there because the lobby is nice and you know it is a historic building when you enter. My room was more like visiting my Grandma's house then a 3.5 start hotel, but I ended up kind of being okay with that. Staff was very nice and location was good as far as Ogden goes. I loved the restaurant, "McCool's" downstairs. It was a good experience overall, just different for sure.
The bed had lots of pillow's which was nice because I could just find the right one.

Room Tip: ask if they have a more modern room if possible. I should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
We are glad you think our staff is nice, we love our friendly staff too.

We agree our hotel is in a prime downtown location, you can walk to Historic 25th Street and tons of restaurants, shops, bars, the movie theater, even minor league baseball games ; ).

We are so glad you enjoyed MacCool's, it is a great Irish pub. Just last month MacCool's finally got a club liquor license so guests can grab just a pint if they don't have time for a meal.

You can thank Lili, our head of housekeeping, for the lots of pillows. She doesn't think the bed looks right unless it has lots of pillows.

Just like Grandma we're a lit quirky, we think it comes with age, we are 85 years old after all.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

During a marathon drive from Texas back home to Washington State we were looking for lodging in Ogden Utah. Having stayed and a dingy, smelly place the nite before with pillows the size of postage stamps we decided it was worth a few more dollars to get a good nite's sleep. The Hotels.com app on my phone said this hotel was in our price range so we stopped. Words can't express how helpful Lan was at the desk. She must have seen the exhaustion on my face because she was beyond kind. The room was very large with a separate sitting area, immaculately clean, the bed so comfy and the pillows heavenly. The next morning we had an excellent breakfast including eggs and bacon in the lobby, all included, making the room an even better value. If you're in Ogden I highly recommend this hotel, you'll get decadent luxury and a price that will leave your wallet happy as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Manager at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your nice review, we so glad you made it home safely to Washington. We are very happy that Lan treated you well, the room was clean and comfortable and you liked breakfast, our team at the hotel loves receiving this kind of praise. Thank you again for the review, we hope to see you again soon at Ben Lomond Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel is beautiful and historic! The lobby is wonderful. The elevators have that historic yet slightly afraid they will break down charm. The front desk staff is always friendly. The views are amazing! The hotel sits in the only good part of Ogden (its downtown) and is in walking distance to everything that is anything in Ogden. The rooms are very large. We stayed in a suite and it is HUGE! The regular rooms are a good size too. The furnishings are dated but still stately. The beds are very comfortable. The haunting stories are fun and rather harmless. Your stay comes with a great breakfast in the beautiful lobby and all this for very reasonable rates. Really the only complaint is that in the summer the hotel hallways are VERY warm. The rooms have air conditioning and have be whatever temperature you desire but the hallways are warm.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces west for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed some of my favorite features of Ben Lomond Suites; the history, great location and large rooms. I'm also happy that you found the elevators charming and the haunting stories entertaining. In the three years I've been at Ben Lomond Suites the elevators' have entertained me with their quirky personalities, but have never tried to keep me with them. The hallways do get a bit warm on hot days in the summer but luckily Ogden only has a few hot days and the ACs in the rooms work great. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I really couldn't have asked for more from the Ben Lomond. First off the lobby area is simply stunning. It is a genuine grand hotel. It was a great change from the Days Inn type places we normally stay. The rooms were very big and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was great and the breakfast was much better than I had expected.

A bonus: Allegedly this place is haunted, so that aspect was pretty cool,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Manager at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our grand historic lobby. We are looking forward to sharing your review with our team.

We agree ghost stories can be entertaining and when you have been around as long as we have people are bound to tell a few ghost stories for fun.

Thanks again for the review. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Ogden is a pleasant place to stay and if in the area I would urge you to consider accommodation at the Ben Lomond Suites.

During our tour of the US we stayed at 17 different hotels and I have to say this was my personal favourite. We walked into our room and immediately thought 'Wow' simply because of the size of the place. Our accommodation comprised of a very large lounge area with comfortable seating and a good-size television. The bedroom was also of a decent size with a lovely big bed that was extremely comfortable and afforded a splendid night's sleep. There was a small kitchenette and the bathroom contained a jacuzzi which was quite wonderful after a hard day of driving. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was faultless in every way. As a bonus, the hotel is centrally located, easy to find and provides secure underground parking.

We thought breakfast was 'okay' although nothing special, but that is a small point considering the quality of the accommodation. Not only is this a superb hotel but we considered it to be one of the best 'value for money' places we have ever stayed at.. We really can't praise this hotel enough and thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the Ogden area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our historic hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are the only all suite hotel in downtown Ogden and as you noticed our rooms are much larger than other hotels. We are also glad to hear you had a good night's sleep, that's what we strive for. We would love to hear what we can add to breakfast to make it "great" instead of just "okay", if you have time shoot us an email with your ideas.

Thanks again for you nice review.

Have a Great Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing