We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We recently came to Ogden for a family gathering. We had originally booked a room at another hotel which promised us no smoking. The room next door , for which there was an ajoining door, was smoking heavily. We called the front desk and they refused to do anything about it. The smoke was too much so at 1 a.m.. we checked out and checked into Ben Lomand. The room was reasonably priced and spacious. When we got there we discovered there was no microwave so we asked the front desk about it and they brought one right up. The next day we just mentioned that the room was too warm to sleep and that we would be purchasing a fan. They explained that the A/C was not made for the high temperatures Ogden had been having and that they would provide a fan for us. The fan was big and made all the difference. In our rush to move on several important things were left behind. I called Ben Lomand and they sent me not only what I had mentioned but a couple of other things I had left. I have been treated well in many hotels but this was beyond what I had expected. What ever I asked they responded too, not in an hour or two but imediately. Thank you for your kind consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 115CDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear JRT644,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so glad that our team members were responsive and helped you have an enjoyable stay. Thank you again for the great review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Ogden.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    97
    45
    14
    16
See reviews for
86
115
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

For the relatively low cost, this hotel is a treasure! Don't miss the opportunity to stay here if your plans take you to Ogden. The rooms are spacious, classic, and have all the amenities of a first-class hotel. The breakfast area is also exceptional.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Connie A.,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms and breakfast.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in room 210 for three nights, and the temperature the entire time was never lower than a very muggy seventy-five degrees. Had it not been for the ceiling fans we would have been miserable. I believe the hotel staff is aware that this room cannot be cooled adequately, yet they continue to rent it.

Room Tip: avoid room 210!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear JCBoulder,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We apologize that the room did not cool to your desired temperature. We were experiencing record high temperatures of over 105 degrees during your stay which created a challenge for our air conditioning units. Our heating and air conditioning specialist is currently working on the AC unit in 210.

Thank you for alerting us to the difficulties in 210.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emery, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Very nice hotel, the lobby was gorgeous. The room was nice but a little bland. I was expecting a little more from the look of the lobby. The bathroom was old but clean. The service depended on who happened to be there when you showed up. The first person was a young woman and she was very helpful, the 2nd was a younger man who I just wanted to punch because he was an arrogant jerk and the 3rd was an older man who was very helpful. I will say even if the room had been terrible, I would stay here again just for the breakfast. It was so good. Not just a display of muffins and toast but eggs, bacon, sausage, different kinds of bread, the whole deal. It was outstanding. I would stay here again but I'd probably ask for a room with a view next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Andrea H.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the lobby and breakfast. We are sorry about the inconsistant service at the front desk, we will share your comment with the front desk team. Most of our rooms on the 6th floor or higher have beautiful views of the downtown area or the mountains and our corner suites have the very best views.

We hope you stay with us again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Had a business stay here in June. Wasn't here long because I had to be presenting early the next morning, but had a pleasant stay. With such a historical property — so much original architectural featuring — I always wonder why more of the aesthetic isn't reflected in other parts of the building. One walks into a stunning high foyer and lobby to check in and ends up in 1986 when one walks into the room. Likely the prices would go up if aesthetics were to be updated. Overall, good stay — breakfast was a little meager but could have been my timing — and I'd definitely go back. Thanks, BL.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stringd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Stringd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the history in the lobby. We lost a lot of the history in the rooms during the 1980s renovation. We consider ourselves lucky to have the hotel at all since the city of Ogden considered tearing the building down instead of doing the 1980s renovation. We are working slowly to update the rooms and return some of Ogden's history to them. We will pass on your comments to our team, especially the breakfast team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I am a frequent traveler to the Ogden area, and frankly, had never considered staying any place other than the Marriott. That property was recently sold, and is no longer a Marriott, so I decided to "shop the market" so to speak. Very happy I did. This hotel is awesome. The rooms are more than comfortable, and very roomy. What makes this place great, in my eyes, are the people. At every turn, from check in to check out, the employees went out their way to make sure i was taken care of. The ease of check in and check out were amazing, Lan at check in ,and Landon at check out. I was at the front desk various times in between (help with Golds passes daily), always a helpful answer and a smile. the breakfast makes a great start to the day. Finally, the on property restaurant MacCools was very good and the staff there was friendly and happy. I will certainly be staying here when ever I visit Ogden. Rooms are rooms, and these are great, but the people make this place exceptional!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21blakjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear 21blakjak,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We love sharing great reviews with our team at the hotel. We are so glad that the room was comfortable and roomy. We are also very happy to hear that our team treated you well and you enjoyed breakfast and MacCool's. We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Thanks again, Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Excellent accommodations, clean and spacious, good food at breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, very affordable price. My husband and I highly recommend this hotel. Location of the hotel is ideal also--right in the heart of downtown Ogden.

Room Tip: They are all excellent suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Helen C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are so happy you enjoyed the accommodations, breakfast and our helpful staff. We are looking forward to sharing you comments with our team.

Thank you again for the wonderful review. We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing