We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's truly a Home away from Home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Riverdale, Utah
1 review
“It's truly a Home away from Home.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had recently relocated for work from Seattle and as soon as I walked through the historic lobby, I felt like I was at home. The management and staff found me a great, clean, and spacious room. They had free wifi, laundry facilities, mail services, and two delicious restaurants. After staying just a few days, they offered me one of their exclusive extended stay condos. It had all of the amenities of home including a nice kitchen! It was very affordable and comfortable. The staff made my transition from Seattle to Ogden a seamless operation and I will always reccomended this hotel with the highest regard to any business person or a family just looking for a wonderful, historic hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samrhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    102
    46
    15
    17
See reviews for
90
117
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ogden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Room 610 - Bathtub was not clean & there was some kind of small fabric flower (probably from a baby's hair clip) in between the bed sheets. At first look we thought it was spider.
Room 612 - There were long hair strands on the face wash towels & the bathroom floor had not been cleaned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Elvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had a very positive experience from reserving the room to checkout. The front desk staff are very helpful and the room was clean and in good condition. The classic music in the halls are an added bonus to the ambiance. I will definitely be staying here next year when I run the Ogden Marathon again. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is an exemplar of the old American west in all its glory. It is a treat to stay in such a beautiful hotel that is steeped in history. The lobby is gorgeous! I love the high ceilings and the intricate details! The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean. The breakfast was tasty. This is a wonderful place to stay. The beds are updated and comfortable with white linens. There are two great restaurants in the hotel. I should note: The rooms are HUGE! All rooms here are very generous in sizing. If you upgrade to a suite you will have a room that is the size of a small house.

Bottomline: If you love buildings for their character and charm you MUST stay here! If you will be put off by older furnishings than re-think a reservation but you will be missing out on the historic charm.

Room Tip: Book a room high up on the east or west side for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here while on business and it was perfect. Nice big room and a complementary breakfast that would've made Ron Swanson proud - good hearty food. Appreciated the history and not staying in a cookie cutter hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel at best. The decor is very Golden Girls. Furniture and decor feels more dark and out dated then classic charm. The rooms are spacious but oddly laid out with a sink in the middle of the room. The staff apparently is not allowed to touch your items so they will not make your bed if you leave ANYTHING on it. The views can be good depending on your vantage but the windows are extremely dirty. Breakfast is very sparse (scrambled eggs and bacon)but included. The wifi works well which is greatly appreciated.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Watercooled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanish Fork, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the Ben Lomond hotel the last weekend of March. It was very unique. I was impressed with the lobby, it was very fancy. The elevators are old and I was so afraid I'd get stuck in one so I used the stairs as often as I could. The breakfast was okay, but I thought it was weird that they had you fill out a paper with how many breakfasts/room, and also it looked like they expected you to tip the staff at breakfast. The rooms were nice and clean, the bathroom wasn't that great. The handle in the bath tub was broken off leaving 2 holes that weren't patched up so water could just leak behind the shower stall. My biggest complaint was the street noise at night. It sounded like drag races were going on till the wee hours of the morning! I'm a light sleeper so that was really crappy for me. And I always have to bring my own pillow to a hotel. Hotel pillows are always too stiff for me. This one was no exception.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a side of the hotel where you can avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing