We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very tightly focused look at Utah's place in US Railroad History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Utah State Railroad Museum

Utah State Railroad Museum
Ranked #6 of 43 things to do in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very tightly focused look at Utah's place in US Railroad History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This museum (housed with the Browning Gun Museum at Ogden's historic Union Station) is well worth the trip. If you are going to go to Golden Spike from Salt Lake City, make sure to stop in and go through this museum, which basically completes the story that the exhibits at Golden Spike start, complete with working model railroads of the various sections of the transcontinental ralroad, historic photos, commentary, and actual trails out in the yard. If you are an engine fanatic, this will be your favorite place, with a good group of the big engines that have been built over the past 100 years for use in the Rocky mountains and some very unusual specially built railroad cars. Good information and they did a very good job on the role of Chinese labor in the building of the railroad.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank htwollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Three for the Price of One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

What a great deal! For only five bucks you get three museums. The railroad museum is quite extensive and you can go inside a mail car and an Army medical car. There is also an in depth display of Browning firearms and a small, but high quality car display. We also took a side trip to Hill AFB to see their excellent museum to cap off the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shocker816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A small collection, but really nice pieces. 3 for 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

$5 admission gets you into 3 museums. All three collections are small, but very high quality. At first, when I saw that the car museum has only about a dozen autos, I was disappointed, but then I saw the quality of the collection and left completely satisfied. Same with the train collection and the gun collection---small but nice. The rolling stock outside the museum is free to look at and a good collection as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cascadefirechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun Place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Got to walk around the railroad cars and locomotives after a great meal at the Union Grill. Lots of memories of the trains going through town. Wish they would let you climb on the trains.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“TRAINS AND THE HISTORY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is about the best museum we have traveled to and we certainly love the history of the railroads.. We had a great time while we were there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Utah State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Utah State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing