We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hiking trail with beautiful views”

Waterfall Canyon Trail
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hiking trail with beautiful views”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Waterfall Canyon Trail has been a part of my life since I was just a young boy ( in other words... A long time ). It's an easy hike with beautiful views.

If you go between late Fall and early Spring, the trail can get icy and muddy.

Mornings and evenings are best. There are a lot of people on the trail during the weekends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wine_loving_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get Rewarded”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The climb is strenuous and in the summer should be experienced in the early morning to avoid the heat. The trail is also missing a few markers but other hikers will point the way. Take water to avoid dehydration and wear good walking shoes. I found I needed to rest often because of the steep climb. The reward at the top - a beautiful waterfall to see. If very hot, one can stand under the waterfall and enjoy the refreshing cool-down period.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Our favorite hike”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We love this quick hike, some call it long, but it follows a nice little stream up and intersects with several other hiking and biking trails and there are always friendly people to stop and chat with. The falls is wonderful to sit at look at and it can be a very peaceful place to read, relax or just watch the day go by.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick and easy hike”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I think this is about 3 miles round trip. It is a bit steep but if you take your time then it's not a big deal. There are loose rocks so be cautious. The waterfall is wonderful! I will do this hike a couple times a year.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovelaughsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this hike!”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I have lived in Utah almost my entire life and this hike is by far one of the best. Especially for being easily accessed...meaning your don't have to drive way up into the mountains to get there. It begins at the water towers in South Ogden at the base of the mountain or from 29th street also at the base of the mountain, there is a lot for parking there. As was said before, a little difficult, especially with young children...would be kind of dangerous, but definitely worth the energy put out. Love to take a sack lunch up there and just have a picnic and enjoy the beauty of nature so close to civilization! So beautiful and you can play right in the waterfall if you want...even though the water is FREEZING cold! Even in the summer. Great hike!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterfall Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Waterfall Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing