We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Union Grill

Union Grill
Ranked #13 of 368 Restaurants in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wall Ave
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Historical, quick, tasty and comfortable. The Union Grill is great for a simple sit-down meal in Ogden.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    60
    27
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique setting”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Union Grill is located in Union Station, a historic train station from years gone bye. Ask for a table next to the window so you can glimpse the Frontrunner going by a few times during your meal [Frontrunner is a heavy rail servicing Ogden to Provo ... the Ogden station is walking distance to the Restaurant].

Union Grill offers casual fare with a few expensive choices. Try the gumbo--BEST in the west!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not this time”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This little eatery is located in the restored Union Pacific railroad station. The service was top notch. On prior visits, the food was quite good. This time however, not so much. I ordered the grilled cheese with avocado. It was almost tasteless and a little greasy. The onion soup was good though. This may have been an anomaly so I would definitely return – just order something else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrippleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great private room”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Held a baby shower in the backroom for 20 guests. Union Grill was great. I highly recommend using them. We did an appetizer buffet fir about 40 minutes and then had three pasta choices set up in chafing dishes. The service was fantastic, management allowed me to set the room up however I wanted. I brought in flowers and electronic candles. With the stained glass windows and fireplace... The whole thing was gorgeous.They were generous with their portions, didn't make me order a certain dollar amount per person and took the time to make the presentation perfect for the size if the group. Go with the Cajun Chicken Pasta and the Steamed Vegetable Linguine w/ Alfredo. I'm super happy with how the party turned out. I can not recommend Union Grill for a private party enough. Fantastic!

Helpful?
2 Thank Marlaynas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

As a local we really enjoy this place, the food is always very good and it is one of the few places around you can usually walk into on a weekend with a minimal wait if any.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Grill also viewed

 

Been to Union Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing