We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, But Below Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Most Hotels with the Best Western name don't disappoint me for a nice quiet nights sleep. I can't say I was disappointed here either, but it is below average. Typically 'dated ' rooms, queen beds instead of kings, and an ugly decor. I can't say this for all rooms, but the green couch in our room wasn't too appealing. The lobby appeared brand new, but I don't usually spend my night in there. Also no breakfast and the rate was also costly for what you got. Highlights include an excelent location just off the freeway, and a treasure of an onsite restaurant called Jeremiahs. Probably the best choice for breakfast in the entire city, but not seemingly affiliated with the Best Western High Country Inn. This hotel is a safe choice, but there is better to be found.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had a very nice room, very clean, an excellent shower, and a great bed. I highly recommend this establishment! The WIFI was excellent, too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdp521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We found this BW to be one of the best. We were traveling with our pet and they have a lovely park in the back so she could walk before bed and in the morning. I think I saw a doggie bag stand but it was not at the entrance to the park. I would suggest they put a doggie station at the walkway entrance to encourage other dog owners to pick up after their pet. We feel it is a pet owners responsibility to clean up after your pet and always do so but others may not and to have a pet station and trash at the entrance would encourage them to do so. The staff were friendly and there is an excellent place to eat across their parking lot.. Good food and very reasonably priced.
Housekeeping seemed a little to eager to get into our room while we were loading up.
We had been traveling for over a week and used their laundry facility. It was clean and spacious. With a table to sit at while you waited for your laundry.
I also appreciate the use of the computer in the lobby. It's nice to keep in touch when I travel and I don't have a lap top.
There were many trains going by on the tracks behind the motel and if you are a light sleeper I would suggest getting a room away from the tracks. We didn't have an issue with them after we got to sleep but I think they could install windows that cut out the sound more. I would prefer they had a breakfast but they didn't and we had to make another stop before we resumed our travels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jumi4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Comfortable spacious room. Lots of reviews indicated dog friendly. First room we were given was right next door to a huge barking dog, that barked at everything that walked past the room. We requested another room and had a comfortable night's stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Other reviews of this location were quite positive so we relied on them to stay here. The room we were assigned was nonsmoking but it clearly had been used previously by pet owners and there was a lingering odor from their stay. The room was not as clean as we might have expected and while the exterior suggests that this is a newer hotel, it appears from the inside to be an older location with a makeover, one that doesn't quite work. The hotel lobby and gift shop are quite nice, so maybe we just got a room that doesn't adequately represent the hotel. Unfortunately, that's the information we have on which to base this review.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoundviewWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We are AAA members. The tourbook said that the hotel had an indoor pool, game room and spa. None of these were available. The outdoor pool had floaty stuff in it. The laundry facility was very clean, as were the rooms. The hotel is older and did not offer a breakfast. The front desk person was OK, but not outgoing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Best Westerns are the best bet in the world of moderately-priced motels. High Country, which we found on Tripadvisor thanks to the good reviews, is fabulous: clean, doesn't smell bad (like the Comfort Inns or Red Roof Inns), spacious, with sofa, desk, mini fridge and microwave, and a split bath with separate Kohler sink (really nice!) in marble, and many mirrors, including a full-length one -- in the room. The bed was comfortable (nothing to write home about, but good), and we got a good night's sleep. Unlike the Comfort Inn, the rooms are a distance apart and the walls are thick enough so you don't hear your neighbor snoring. There's also little touches like stained glass and lantern-type lamps which add liveliness to the room -- all things I appreciate it.
This motel is pet-friendly. And, best of all, they have an incredible INCREDIBLE dog park in back of the motel, just for the guests and the dogs -- complete with doggy bags and trash cans, and an incredible pond and walk area (not fenced, sadly), but beautifully attended to. They also have a gated swimming pool, which looks nice.

There's a great restaurant, Jerimiah's right next to the motel, which has gotten great reviews on Yelp, and seems to have a huge breakfast menu (can't wait to try it!).

The main lodge is lovely. The staff seemed okay: neither friendly nor unfriendly (which is atypical for Best Westerns), and, the room was a good deal at $86.00 + tax. I can't recommend the High Country Best Western more, especially for clean, comfortable, dog-friendly travel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
2.7 mi away
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Country Inn

Address: 1335 W 12th St, Ogden, UT 84404-5417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: £77 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western High Country Hotel Ogden
Best Western Ogden
Country Inn Ogden
Ogden Best Western
Ogden Country Inn
Best Western Plus High Country Inn Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing