We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Night's Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
463 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Decent Night's Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

While traveling through Utah on a recent trip my partner and I spent 1 night at this Best Western. As is usually the case with Best Western properties the Inn was clean and the room furnishings in good condition. That said, there was nothing that really stood out. Nothing great, but nothing that was a problem either. The Inn has a nice walking path in the rear of the property and there is a pretty nice restaurant next door. But that's about it. It's adjacent to I-15 which made it convenient for our purposes and although the road in front of the hotel is fairly busy, road noise didn't seem to be a problem. We did not use the pool as it was still closed for the season. So, if you want a clean and easy to access night's stay this Best Western will do the trick. But don't expect many bells or whistles.

Room Tip: Back side of the property might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    183
    98
    55
    31
See reviews for
218
178
46
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We were headed home and wanted to get through Salt Lake City headed north so we stopped in Ogden. We chose the Best Western for it's convenience and brand name. The lobby is very nice and upon arrival, they gave us a bottle of water and snack as a welcome gift. We were given a ground floor room which made it nice to unpack quickly since the doors to the rooms are facing outside. The rooms are on the small side but adequate for our needs. The bed was very comfortable and we had everything we needed for a quick layover on our trip home. There is no breakfast but the restaurant next door is very charming and reasonably priced. The place is quiet so that was nice and has a small park on the property, for pets, I guess. I would stay there again since it had the two things I value the most - quiet location and softer beds.

Room Tip: back side, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Wow. The Best Western High Country Inn was our choice because of the handy-dandy money saving hotel discount coupon booklet – but we weren’t expecting a motel this nice! Breakfast wasn’t included (since there was an on-site restaurant), but at a price below $70 including the dog, that was really okay.

The lobby was gorgeous, with a huge fireplace. It looked like an upscale hunting lodge. The young man behind the counter was incredibly polite and pleasant to deal with. There was a coffee “corner” with hot beverages all day. That was nice considering how cold it was outside.

Our room was immaculate – and included a leather couch, king size bed (free of bed bugs), mini-fridge and microwave oven. We were super comfortable. And it’s always a bonus when we can park right in front of our room.

Another nice surprise was the pond behind the hotel. It had a plowed walkway going around the entire pond – it was perfect for walking Mr. Pish!

What a great hotel at a great price!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city, ut
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

It's okay. A little snafu checking in (when we asked for a pet-hair-free room the clerk tried to put us in a room with a queen bed and charge us what we were being charged for the king) and not the best customer service. Room was pretty much clean, but sheets are worn out and ill-fitting. Doors open to the outside so all night we heard people in their cars, and there was a fair amount of sound transfer from the nearby rooms (mostly doors opening and closing). Also, there's a train *very* nearby that runs and blows its horn several times a night. And no complimentary breakfast. But...it's right off the freeway, was a good location for what we needed, and it's pet-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank echospice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipling. SK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Most Hotels with the Best Western name don't disappoint me for a nice quiet nights sleep. I can't say I was disappointed here either, but it is below average. Typically 'dated ' rooms, queen beds instead of kings, and an ugly decor. I can't say this for all rooms, but the green couch in our room wasn't too appealing. The lobby appeared brand new, but I don't usually spend my night in there. Also no breakfast and the rate was also costly for what you got. Highlights include an excelent location just off the freeway, and a treasure of an onsite restaurant called Jeremiahs. Probably the best choice for breakfast in the entire city, but not seemingly affiliated with the Best Western High Country Inn. This hotel is a safe choice, but there is better to be found.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Widmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had a very nice room, very clean, an excellent shower, and a great bed. I highly recommend this establishment! The WIFI was excellent, too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdp521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We found this BW to be one of the best. We were traveling with our pet and they have a lovely park in the back so she could walk before bed and in the morning. I think I saw a doggie bag stand but it was not at the entrance to the park. I would suggest they put a doggie station at the walkway entrance to encourage other dog owners to pick up after their pet. We feel it is a pet owners responsibility to clean up after your pet and always do so but others may not and to have a pet station and trash at the entrance would encourage them to do so. The staff were friendly and there is an excellent place to eat across their parking lot.. Good food and very reasonably priced.
Housekeeping seemed a little to eager to get into our room while we were loading up.
We had been traveling for over a week and used their laundry facility. It was clean and spacious. With a table to sit at while you waited for your laundry.
I also appreciate the use of the computer in the lobby. It's nice to keep in touch when I travel and I don't have a lap top.
There were many trains going by on the tracks behind the motel and if you are a light sleeper I would suggest getting a room away from the tracks. We didn't have an issue with them after we got to sleep but I think they could install windows that cut out the sound more. I would prefer they had a breakfast but they didn't and we had to make another stop before we resumed our travels.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumi4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.8 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 21 in Ogden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
Address: 1335 W 12th St, Ogden, UT 84404-5417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Family Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western High Country Hotel Ogden
Best Western Ogden
Country Inn Ogden
Ogden Best Western
Ogden Country Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing