We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Powder Mtn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Close to Powder Mtn”
Reviewed 13 January 2007

Rooms in the back hear constant trains & horns. Location provides easy access to Eden and the Ogden ski mountains. Lots of nearby dining.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahawus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    194
    109
    57
    31
See reviews for
236
188
47
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2006

So first, don't stay on the back side of the hotel if you want internet access, it's not available as advertised. Not to mention you have to deal with the 130 year old maids blowing smoke in to you room. Next after the first juggle of rooms, our second had a shower that would scald you then freeze you the scald you again. Now when I say scald I'm not kidding, When I pointed this out to the staff they said they didn't know how that could happen but said they'd fix it. The next morning I was in the shower being scalded again, so again I had to move rooms, seeing as how I'd been completely ignored by the staff. I wouldn't recommend this hotel or it's staff.

  • Liked — Proximity to family
  • Disliked — The Disrespect shown by staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — The only good thing about the staff is that when we asked for room changes they were provided.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OutTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2006

Staff was friendly but the bed was shaped like a bowl and too soft. When I asked for another room, I was told that all the rooms had been redone and with new mattresses just seven months before, in June '05.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2004

we stayed here for one night and got no sleep whatsoever due to the close proximity to the train line. Trains were hooting all night long as they approached a tunnel 100 feet from the hotel!
hotel was generally tatty and had a strange not very clean smell. staff unfriendly and unsympathetic.
avoid this place unless you are a real train lover!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 August 2004

This Best Western was too pricey for what we got. The room was large and passably clean (though there was used soap in the tray) and I was able to bring my dog. Those were the good things I can say. The outside looks like it could use some major remodeling and I thought it was basically a dump when we drove up and saw where we'd be staying for the night. It's right by railroad tracks too, though no trains came by. I think I would've paid a lot less for a budget motel had I known I would get the same standards.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
296 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 21 in Ogden
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Country Inn

Property: Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Address: 1335 W 12th Street, Ogden, UT 84404-5417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Family Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western High Country Hotel Ogden
Best Western Ogden
Country Inn Ogden
Ogden Best Western
Ogden Country Inn
Best Western Plus High Country Inn Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing