We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, great service”

Yamato Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 226 Restaurants in Orem
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food, great service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing service. The sushi was great (try the Fire Roll). Katsu Curry was really good . Loved this place and loved the prices too. Would have been 50% more in California.

Helpful?
Thank vic_hoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very good, fair price.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Really good Japanese food. even though I haven't eaten at very many Japanese restaurants, this one is of the best that I've tried so far.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaTaoChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I go here all the time!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

For Utah, Yamato's is the best Japanese food there is to offer. Sure you got some buffets for sushi, but that sushi isn't always the best quality. What gets me the most is the atmosphere. Now that I've visited Japan, I can say their restaurant brings authentic. Great owners and sushi staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I don't even typically like Japanese food, but this place has won me over. The staff are always very pleasant and the food is extremely tasty. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrtwrldfalxmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We always go back”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

On a recent visit to Orem for shopping, we went back to Yamato to eat. It is consistently good. I don't eat sushi much, but I often order Katsu Currry or Ebi Tempura and both are excellent. My husband lived in Japan and he loves it too. The only downside is occasionally they are a little shorthanded if it gets busy, but that hasn't been the case every time. If I could give it 4.5, that would be my score for that reason only.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KinLehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yamato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Yamato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing