We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the price”
Review of Canyon Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good for the price”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A nice honest place thats clean and more than does the job. Staff are the nicest people on the planet!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    38
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
40
47
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The exterior of this hotel looks like many of the hotels in Panguitch - cute drive up to your door types. The fellow who checked us in was friendly enough. There were tiny packaged danishes at the front desk and the sign said you could have one free and then you had to pay .50 cents for any extra. I'm assuming this was breakfast? At any rate we passed on the freebie. The room was ok but the decor is a bit of a mish mash - there is no fridge or microwave and a coffee maker with one package of coffee and one decaf. The room was clean and the shower had great water pressure. The sign on the motel said free wi-fi but it only worked for the first half hour that we were there. Our confirmed reservation was for a queen bed but I'm pretty sure it was a double and the matress was not overly comforatable. There is not a deadbolt on the door only a nob lock and the curtains didn't fully block the outside light that seemed to be on all night.. Overall it is a clean motel but we just felt that they could have done a bit better. It was ok for the night but would not have wanted to have spent any longer there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwithkids95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Canyon Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
We are sorry when we get bad reviews on our motel. We are by no means the Hilton. We purchased the property just under 5 years ago. The place has come a long way. We have put all our blood sweat and yes a few tears into it. Yes we have much room for improvement. Why do people feel like they have to make coments like these behind our backs or in the saftey of a web site. Did you ask for another room, did you see if there was someone you could talk to. Our office is open 24 hours a day, the number is listed on each of the doors in the rooms. We are family owned and have the need to be home for sleep once in awhile. We are working hard to make the place a beautiful clean place. My wife has just been diagnosed with cancer and has has to step away from the motel. We find her over there when needed but it is very dangerious on her health. We do the best we can. Nobody is perfict. We get many guests who love the place and what we have done with it. Unfortunatally it is the ones that have had nice stays' that don't need to write. It is the ones that have had a bad day and you can't please them no matter what are the ones that use web sites like these. Don't let someone make up your mind for you. Come see us, give us a chance. Our Motto is you come as strangers but leave as friends. We want to make your trip an enjoyable one. We sacrafice alot of our own family life in order to help you enjoy yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at thim motel a few nights ago. It is an AMERICAN family owned and operated motel. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They gave us tips of the area and were there for our every need.
One of the family members is having a hard time with her health and was having to work the night we checked in. Even though you could tell she was struggling with her chemotherapy, she put on a smile and did everything she could to make us feel at home. Yes this is an older motel but it is VERY clean and have a very warm feeling attached to it. We left the next morning feeling like part of the family.
I don't know what the person said about the beds for we had two brand new pillow top beds and the room was everything we expected. The woman at the counter stressed that they were available any time day or night. We had no problems or issues. I think if people have a bad night, they should think twice before they blame the owners. You can tell they are doing their best. Maybe if you want a 200 dollar room for 69 dollars you should stay somewhere else. We had a wonderful time and a great experience. Give this place a try and don't go off people that obviousely are hard to please. The owners of this place realy go out of their way to make you feel happy and welcome. Give them a break, they have the right to some sleep and some time away. It is hard to run a place 24/7 without any breaks.
Hope you have a as great visit as we did. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just walk in the office, you will know right away your in the right spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A last minute decision to go to Bryce Canyon sent us scrambling to find a room for the night. We checked the Internet for every motel starting with those closest to the Canyon and working our way north in the direction of the next days travel. In Panguitch only 25 minutes from the park we got the last room in the most northern motel in town. Probably built in the 50s Canyon lodge is run by a young couple and a great find. It will definitely be our first choice next trip through.

Room Tip: As to stay in the older section. More charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The website it quite misleading. Our room looked nothing like the ones shown in the pictures. The mattresses were clearly as old as the motel, as even with the bed spreads on them, you could see they dipped in the middle. The bathroom needs serious up dating and the carpet was frayed and disgusting at the doorways. Most upsetting is that we had a wonderful evening at Bryce Canyon and came back in hopes of a good night sleep. Unfortunately, the walls in this place are paper thin and we had a very loud annoying French speaking family staying next to us that got back to their room around 9:45pm and they were screaming and making all kinds of noise until the wee hours of the morning. By 10:30pm, we decided to contact the motel and let them take care of it, only no one answered the phone or the door, even though it says they are available 24 hours. We left at 8am the next morning and even then, there was no one in the office for us to talk to. Continental Breakfast???? Really??? What time do you put that out. We have stayed at many "mom and pop" motels, and never one as bad as this. We stayed in room #8 and again...very disappointing !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panguitch hotels

Saillon, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife and me stayed one night at the Canyon Lodge Motel. We would stay a second night there but FORTUNATLY it has no vacancy. The receptionist greeted us by telling us that the room cost $ 84 but making a discount at $ 79. We were hesitant and she has lowered to $ 69 on the pretext that she wanted to finish the day quickly... The room was not terrible: the shower was clogged and not very clean, no fridge, the mattress was deformed, no space in the room, a mobile AC which doesn't work very well... Moreover, from 6:00 pm to 10:00 am, no service!
The next evening we went to the next motel: the "Church's Blue Pine." Here they've purposed a room for $ 69, without having to negotiate. And what a room! Very clean, plenty of space, a fridge, AC worthy of the name, beds of high quality and a professional service!
In conclusion, if you plan to spend the night in Panguitch (very nice city), do not stop at Canyon Lodge motel but the Church's Blue Pine Motel. You'll get something in return for your dollars!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here between visiting Bryce and Zion Canyon parks. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable, with plenty of towels and even packaged rolls for breakfast. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit which cost us only $89 a night. Much better than the $160 to over $200 a night that other places in the area wanted. Great value, expecially if you are not fussy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldNCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panguitch
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Color Country Motel
Color Country Motel
#4 of 14 in Panguitch
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Panguitch
Days Inn Panguitch
#10 of 14 in Panguitch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,910 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge Motel

Property: Canyon Lodge Motel
Address: 210 N. Main St, PO Box 992, Panguitch, UT 84759
Region: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Canyon Lodge, a family owned and operated motel. My name is Lisa, and I run the motel with the help of my husband, Benjamin and our 4 children. Our little motel has 10 rooms and easy parking. Our rooms are NON-SMOKING and offer Heating, A/C, Fridge, Microwave, Cable TV, Coffee-Maker, WiFi, and Alarm Clock. There is guest access to an Ice Machine, and BBQ area with Picnic Table. In the near future, we will offer laundry facilities! We are located just 25 miles from Bryce Canyon in the historic city of Panguitch. We look forward to providing you a place to stay while you visit this beautiful area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Canyon Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Panguitch
Canyon Lodge Motel Panguitch, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing