We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice all the way around”
Review of Canyon Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyon Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a great little motel! We only stayed one nite in the family unit, but it was just perfect for us. It's not brand new, but it was clean. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room because we were outside on the benches and patio visiting with other travelers. Exactly what a vacation should be comfortable surroundings, meeting new people, Benjamin and his family were terriffic! Bryce Canyon was AMAZING - wish we were staying longer. Panguitch is a great little town. Will definately make it a destination when we are back this way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferJ841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

I wasn't going to write a review. But I think with small businesses, if you are treated well you should tell people.

My brother & I had to travel from Montana to Phoenix for a family medical emergency in October 2011. We didn't have time to make any hotel plans because we had to get to Phoenix ASAP. By the time we arrived in Panguitch, UT, we had traveled most of the day through Montana, Idaho, and Utah and were very tired and anxious. As we were driving though the town of Panguitch, we approched this motel and its retro neon sign. My brother declares "This is it!"

We had to call from a courtesy phone to the clerk to check into the motel. In couple of short minutes, Scott arrived. He quoted a very super reasonable rate. We were pleased! We paid and were getting ready to settle in our room. Then, the clerk learned why we were on the road. He paused, and offered us the "Family Suite."

The suite has a main room and two smaller bedrooms, and a small bathroom. There was a coffee maker in the room. It's not the Ritz, but it's very quaint and "Mom & Pop." There was a lodge pole pine sofa and a quilt on the bed. The room was reasonably clean. Someone on this site described it as "old America" feel and that's accurate. You can tell they are making an effort to the business. We needed clean, safe place to rest for a couple of hours to hit the road again. That's what we found. The added bonus is we each had privacy in the suite. We were so thankful to find a Very affordable motel operated by kind people as we were dealing with our family emergency.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n8vgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We actually stayed one night and were quite intrigued with the town and it's "old America" feel.
The canyon lodge motel is exactly what it's name says it is: a motel.
So yes, services in the room are reduced to minimum, the beds are not super comfortable and clean is something else (it is not dirty, but not spotless).
It's family owned, very nice couple.
If you are staying for a night only, I don't think you will find better or worse as Panguitch is very small...

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theetiquettorialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is a small motel which makes it nice. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. They are a bit small but there is a closet which helped and an extra luggage rack in the bathroom behind the door. I have this thing for a good shower in the morning. The quality of the shower can make or break a place for me. This shower made it. Usually in older motels the shower hits you in the chest. The owners here were smart enough to get the extension that raises it to a nice level. There is tons of water and its hot. The room was quiet, no noise from either side and no road noise. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A nice honest place thats clean and more than does the job. Staff are the nicest people on the planet!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The exterior of this hotel looks like many of the hotels in Panguitch - cute drive up to your door types. The fellow who checked us in was friendly enough. There were tiny packaged danishes at the front desk and the sign said you could have one free and then you had to pay .50 cents for any extra. I'm assuming this was breakfast? At any rate we passed on the freebie. The room was ok but the decor is a bit of a mish mash - there is no fridge or microwave and a coffee maker with one package of coffee and one decaf. The room was clean and the shower had great water pressure. The sign on the motel said free wi-fi but it only worked for the first half hour that we were there. Our confirmed reservation was for a queen bed but I'm pretty sure it was a double and the matress was not overly comforatable. There is not a deadbolt on the door only a nob lock and the curtains didn't fully block the outside light that seemed to be on all night.. Overall it is a clean motel but we just felt that they could have done a bit better. It was ok for the night but would not have wanted to have spent any longer there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwithkids95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Canyon Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

We are sorry when we get bad reviews on our motel. We are by no means the Hilton. We purchased the property just under 5 years ago. The place has come a long way. We have put all our blood sweat and yes a few tears into it. Yes we have much room for improvement. Why do people feel like they have to make coments like these behind our backs or in the saftey of a web site. Did you ask for another room, did you see if there was someone you could talk to. Our office is open 24 hours a day, the number is listed on each of the doors in the rooms. We are family owned and have the need to be home for sleep once in awhile. We are working hard to make the place a beautiful clean place. My wife has just been diagnosed with cancer and has has to step away from the motel. We find her over there when needed but it is very dangerious on her health. We do the best we can. Nobody is perfict. We get many guests who love the place and what we have done with it. Unfortunatally it is the ones that have had nice stays' that don't need to write. It is the ones that have had a bad day and you can't please them no matter what are the ones that use web sites like these. Don't let someone make up your mind for you. Come see us, give us a chance. Our Motto is you come as strangers but leave as friends. We want to make your trip an enjoyable one. We sacrafice alot of our own family life in order to help you enjoy yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at thim motel a few nights ago. It is an AMERICAN family owned and operated motel. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They gave us tips of the area and were there for our every need.
One of the family members is having a hard time with her health and was having to work the night we checked in. Even though you could tell she was struggling with her chemotherapy, she put on a smile and did everything she could to make us feel at home. Yes this is an older motel but it is VERY clean and have a very warm feeling attached to it. We left the next morning feeling like part of the family.
I don't know what the person said about the beds for we had two brand new pillow top beds and the room was everything we expected. The woman at the counter stressed that they were available any time day or night. We had no problems or issues. I think if people have a bad night, they should think twice before they blame the owners. You can tell they are doing their best. Maybe if you want a 200 dollar room for 69 dollars you should stay somewhere else. We had a wonderful time and a great experience. Give this place a try and don't go off people that obviousely are hard to please. The owners of this place realy go out of their way to make you feel happy and welcome. Give them a break, they have the right to some sleep and some time away. It is hard to run a place 24/7 without any breaks.
Hope you have a as great visit as we did. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just walk in the office, you will know right away your in the right spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panguitch
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
551 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Color Country Motel
Color Country Motel
#4 of 14 in Panguitch
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Panguitch
Days Inn Panguitch
#11 of 14 in Panguitch
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Purple Sage Motel
Purple Sage Motel
#2 of 14 in Panguitch
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge Motel

Address: 210 N. Main St, PO Box 992, Panguitch, UT 84759
Region: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range: £32 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Canyon Lodge, a family owned and operated motel. My name is Lisa, and I run the motel with the help of my husband, Benjamin and our 4 children. Our little motel has 10 rooms and easy parking. Our rooms are NON-SMOKING and offer Heating, A/C, Fridge, Microwave, Cable TV, Coffee-Maker, WiFi, and Alarm Clock. There is guest access to an Ice Machine, and BBQ area with Picnic Table. In the near future, we will offer laundry facilities! We are located just 25 miles from Bryce Canyon in the historic city of Panguitch. We look forward to providing you a place to stay while you visit this beautiful area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Canyon Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Panguitch
Canyon Lodge Motel Panguitch, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing