We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream but not the best ever”
Review of Scoops From the Past - CLOSED

Scoops From the Past
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$22
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Aalst, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good ice cream but not the best ever”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a very good ice cream here but it was not the best ever. We did not try the rest of the menue since this is a tipical ice cream shop.

Nice 50's decoration.

There are a lot of different flavours and the price is not expensive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BossErpe-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    52
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable! ”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and everything else in Panguitch was closed but this cute ice cream place.
We had a milkshake and a tour upstairs where there's a little museum and a cinema. Both great!
If you are visiting town, don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank Geise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming lady”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I only had a single.scoop sugar cone..rhe lady was very nice and the ice cream is Thrifty..very good and super economical i think i paid $ 1.50

Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Charming concept - menu needs more variety”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

There's not a lot to eat in Panguitch, but our hotel owner kept recommending the Historic GEM Theater. How perplexing - a theater where you eat? Apparently so. The concept is charming -
dinner and a movie in the same building - which is a historic building built in 1909. You order a meal, take it into the theater, and eat watching the movie. Each meal comes with a complimentary scoop of ice cream.

All of the decor in this restaurant is vintage 1950's as are the prices. Where can you buy a bottle of water for 50 cents? Or popcorn small - $1 and large $3. The floors are black and white checkerboard and the chairs and tables chrome right out of the 50's. This type of concept and set-up in a larger city would make a million dollars - but not here in Panguitch which is 20+ miles from Bryce National Park.

The menu needs some variety. If you are vegetarian or only eat fish - there's nothing to eat. Though they had grilled salmon over a salad when we were there. The salmon was very fishy smelling and tasting which probably means it's been frozen or sitting around a while.

Seems like this is a place locals love to frequent. Many of them came in to order a couple scoops of ice cream, sit, catch up with the owners and then leave. They have first run movies, but only one screen so you get what you get.

Overall a pleasant place though I wish the salmon didnt smell so fishy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had tried almost every restaurant in Panguitch so for lunch we decided on Scoops from the Past at the GEM Theater. The proprietor at the hotel said they had just started serving sandwiches, wraps, etc. but he hadn’t tried it. How bad can a sandwich be? It was great. I have no idea what you do to make a serviceable sandwich a great one, but Daniel, the chef, does it. We were telling him and the owner John, how good it was and lamenting how sometimes it’s hard to find simple fare on the road. Daniel said come back this evening and I’ll fix you chicken and rice and sautéed vegetables. We did and he did and it was great again. I highly recommend this place. Oh, you also get a small scoop of ice cream (made on the premises) for dessert.

The operation is still evolving. They plan to expand their menu and there is an actual movie theater there. Their intention is to serve meals while you watch but that may be a few months (or more) off. But the food was excellent and Daniel and John could not have been nicer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scoops From the Past also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing