We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About average.”
Review of Bryce Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bryce Gateway Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here as a result of a relatively last minute booking decision. While the room was clean, it was devoid of any closet space, minimal amount of room, overpriced for what it was. Because Bryce Canyon is close (12 miles) and motels are few, you pay a premium for location. While we glad to be close, this is not someplace we would think about using again. We were able to have wi-fi in the room because we were close to the lobby.

Room Tip: Book as far in advance to insure a good rate. If you expecting a great room, this is not the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morningsideralph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We planned to stay around Bryce Canyon for a day. We stumbled across Harold's Place and were able to get a cabin. We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night and took in more of Bryce Canyon. Kristy was great, the food was very good and the peace and quiet at night was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Quite frankly, we hadn't planned to go into Bryce Canyon, but a last minute decision and we decided we HAD to go into Bryce. The fact that this Inn was on the hi-way helped us decide. (I had researched and for the time of year we were there everything closer in was VERY PRICEY and we are budget travellers.) We're so glad we did....loved, loved, LOVED, Bryce.

The Inn was fine, although I must admit I brought in my own bedding because it looked like the sheets were not changed???? There was evidence, and my husband will concur, that they were not clean.
Anyway, still glad we stopped @ Harold's because we had an amazing time at Bryce.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in a cabin, which was nice, quiet, and secure. My only real complaint is that we made the booking based on free wifi, not realising that there is no wifi in any of the rooms and you need to sit in the lobby to access the internet. The facilities were dated, but adequate. There is no fridge, but as it is quiet cold at night (even in September) we probably didn't really need one. There is a restaurant onsite, but we didn't eat there as we were told they didn't have any vegetarian options (unless we wanted to eat salad), though we managed to find vegetarian pizza in nearby Panguitch (7 miles away). Location is very convenient for exploring Bryce Canyon (17 miles away) through beautiful Red Canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jools505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We arrived mid morning to a pleasant greeting only for it to disappear once the owner realised we were not looking for a room but had already a booking.We were able to drop off our luggage (plus point). We stayed here because we were visiting Bryce Canyon, but it was further away than we had expected (30 minutes drive to the park gates), not ideal if you want to see the sunrise/sunset.
The cabins are adequate but basic and lacked a fridge, but did have A/C.
The carpets had been recently replaced, however the bed linen/towels had seen better days and were grey! Likewise the pillows and blankets could do with replacing. We decided not to eat on site, but had a great find in Panguitch. Go to the Cowboy Smokehouse, in the main street. You may have to wait for a table, but the food is memorable and a good price. Must be good as it was full of locals. We were made very welcome and we felt we were part of the real Western America, not tourists.
We had breakfast at Harolds Place, which was good with a friendly smile.
All in all a good place to stay only if you are on a very limited budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stopped here on our way to Bryce Canyon because they accepted pets. The room was very clean, the area seemed safe and quiet despite being packed. Price was $80 or so for 2 beds which I thought was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again if in the area. Stayed in a room, not a cabin.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

After our visit to Bryce Canyon we opted to back track in order to spend the night at Harold's Place based on a local recomendation, and we are so glad we are did! Room was very clean with resonable rates beautiful grounds. We picked up supper (very good) from the on site restaurant and drove less than 4 miles to Red Canyon (beautiful) for a sunset picnic. Kristy and the rest of the family who own Harlods's were very friendly and honest.
I left a very expensive pair of earings in the room and did not discover it until late that night and several hours drive away. Kathy found and mailed them to my North Carolina home,they got there before we did. How easy it would have been for them not to have "found" them, restored my faith in people.

Room Tip: Stay at local owned and operated when possiable, not chains. I have found it a much better experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina28625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panguitch
1 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
576 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mountain Ridge Cabins and Lodging
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,322 reviews
17.9 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
21.2 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Gateway Inn

Address: 3066 Highway 12, Panguitch, UT 84759 (Formerly Harold's Place)
Region: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bryce Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bryce Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harold`s Place Hotel Panguitch
Harolds Place Hotel
Harolds Place Motel
Bryce Gateway Inn Panguitch, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing