We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not the Ritz Carlton, but perhaps the best in Panguitch”
Review of Purple Sage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Purple Sage Motel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's not the Ritz Carlton, but perhaps the best in Panguitch”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It's clean, affordable, and the staff/owner were friendly and helpful. The rooms have had a few updates, but you can certainly see the age of the place. Very casual atmosphere. A great base location from which to explore Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisLeCochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    131
    64
    10
    2
See reviews for
54
130
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stated one night at Purple Sage while touring the national parks of Utah and visiting Bryce Canyon. It is a small, very clean, simple but comfortable hotel. My wife wasn't feeling well with the altitude and the staff was very helpful with a late checkout and advice.
Thank you Purple Sage

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougBrownYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked based on Tripadvisor's reviews... Not disappointed. Friendly staff, clean, basic motel. Quiet! Besides the 4 flies I killed once we entered the room I have nothing negative to say. Beds are comfy, bathroom works. Internet is fine... Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didsbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This is a really good motel to stay in if you plan on going out to Bryce Canyon. The rooms are very spacious and are extremely clean. The service is fantastic the owners are very polite and helpful. There is no microwave and fridge in the room but there is one in the office. The motel is about a 30 minute drive from Bryce Canyon. There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this motel from my experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turlock, california
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a nice, older motel with only 15 units. The room was neat and tidy w/a few blemishes overlooked by either housekeeping or maintenace. It would have been nice to have had a small table for the laptop computer but we brought in a small table from the patio which worked fine. Amazing the wifi worked perfectly!! The outside could have used some TLC w/touch up paint and stair runners. It was nice to sit outside after dinner and watch the world go by the motel. The owner was most helpful and friendly. No noise, no crowds and all for $69! We would return.

Room Tip: Upstairs to avoid people on your head!! Or the single story section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Purple Sage is a nice motel to stay in when visiting the Panguitch / Bryce vicinity. It is a well maintained, older motel, with a small number of rooms. Our room was clean and the beds comfortable (2 queens). We enjoyed sitting out front after dinner and talking to a few of the other guest. The owners are friendly and a good source of information about the area. About 30 minutes from Bryce, but in a nice location and less expensive than most of the hotel/motels closer to Bryce.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMR2056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Took a chance on this hotel, didn't have a reservation near Bryce Canyon. The Grand Hotel newr Bryce was full, as was Ruby's Inn (stayed there before, good, not great). Ended up at the Pruple Sage on recommendation from a clerk at the Grand. It was everything you would expect at a hotel in Panguitch, UT. Mom and Pop. Very friendly. Let me see the room before we booked. It was a bit musty, but for $65 a night, what can you expect?? It was clean, convenient to park right in front of the room, and we watched the owner turn out the vacancy light after we paid our fee.
Quiet, inexpensive and a good choice for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panguitch
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Color Country Motel
Color Country Motel
#4 of 14 in Panguitch
121 reviews
18.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Panguitch
Days Inn Panguitch
#10 of 14 in Panguitch
396 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Sage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Motel

Property: Purple Sage Motel
Address: 132 East Center, Panguitch, UT 84759
Region: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Purple Sage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Hotel Panguitch
Purple Sage Motel Panguitch, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing