We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for ski trip”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having skied for years in Vermont and renting a condo from the same owner for nine years, I was a little concerned about renting in a new place but it worked out really great. When we arrived the valet was very attentive and brought up our nine bags to the room. We brought all of our equipment and were glad we did. The valet stood in our room for 15 minutes answering all of our questions and was so helpful. We had rented a one bed, one bath and it was really spacious. The boys had two window seats that are big enough to sleep on, a pullout couch and we also had a rollaway. The beds were not made up in the living room so we called down and when we got back from dinner they were all set up. Next morning there was a beautiful sunrise that could be viewed from the big windows in the living room. We took the elevator down to the 1st floor and walked right out to the heated chairlift. What could be better than that. At the end of the day you can check your skis in right inside the door and go straight up to the room. In the evening, the hot tubs and heated out door pool was enjoyed by all. It gets a little crowded at around five but it's a lot of fun meeting other families and skiers after the day. What I really liked was it was mostly families so it was pretty low key. There are three restaurants at the resort but they are all very small and you need to reserve ahead of time. Why this resort with so many condos does not have one big family restaurant is just real stupid on their part. Grand Summit could also use a nice big open bar area where you can relax and hang out. The owner allowed the boys to play pool in a private owners section so they enjoyed that every night. Our room was very spacious with a nice size kitchen, big living room with electric fireplace and lots of closet space to store all of our stuff. The skiing was really great at the Canyons, it was so beautiful and had some very challenging terrain. The double blues were harder than some of the double black diamond here in the east. On our last day we went to Alta which was a 45 minute car ride and that was just amazing. My son is a boarder so he had to rent skis which was so easy right at the canyons resort. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We visit the Canyons every year and usually stay at the Grand Summit. They have spacious rooms to accommodate our family of 6. Plus it is ski in/ski out. You walk right outside and are at the chair lift. We have never had a bad stay here and recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Laura873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four days. We were here for our grandsons hockey tournament. The rooms okay. Service was below average. Lots of things need to be updated. Had a lot of issues with our room cards not working. Cleaning the rooms below average. The location is good but I would stay at a different location. Disappointed for the money we spent.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank livetoeat1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Weekend here.... Can't get closer to the slopes. Great friendly staff. Very helpful even in unwinding some mistakes i had made with our reservations. Breakfast buffet was very nice, extensive and well done. Pool and hot tubs also a treat. Ski storage right by the door to the lift. The rooms? Comfy, but really, very very small. Bed was comfy, bathroom well done. Room just small, not really even a chair to sit in. There was a desk, but unusable due to the coffee service on it. So, if the room is solely for sleeping, but if relaxing is needed too, look around.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OlyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed for three nights in one of the hotel's double queen rooms. The room was immaculate and the beds sooooo comfortable. I slept so well. Besides the rooms, I was overall very impressed by the hospitality and service of the front desk staff, valet and restaurant servers. We were not able to check in when we arrived (got in around 11am), but the front desk staff told us a little about the resort and offered to have the valet bring in our luggage for storage and showed us where we could store our skis. He even wrote down my cell number so he could call us as soon as the room was available. Everyone served with a smile and seems genuinely happy to be working at Canyons.

The resort is also ski-in, ski-out with the Orange bubble, a heated chair lift, right out the back door! I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while in Park City.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelseyIvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed here twice in the past 2 years. Each time it has met my expectations.

Pro's-
Ski in and out- "the closest resort at the Canyons to the mountain"
all rooms have the same decor
nice pool and 3 outdoor hot tubs
room service
restaurant on site
valet parking or self parking
ski storage
30 minutes from SLC airport
now owned by Vail and season lift ticket interchangeable

Con's-
maid service should be more consistent

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mastercraft7122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a 3 day ski trip. Overall good experience. We did experience some difficulties checking in, reservations weren't showing up, checking out hotel billing was a mess! Good for families, rooms a bit dated. Truly slopside lodging.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JeffreyBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHotelManager, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Grand Summit Hotel at Canyons Resort. We are very happy to read that you had a good experience, and that you enjoyed the location to the some of the best snow on earth. It sounds however like you had some difficulties on the reservation/billing side. We appreciate this type of feedback as it allows us to see where we need to focus our energy. In reference to the rooms needing updates, we are happy to share that we are in the process of a refurbishment. At this point some items have been replaced, such as our mattresses and bedding. However bigger changes are coming our way and we sure hope you can come next year to see our progress.

Thank you for staying with us this winter, hope to see you again!

Mary Sorensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#7 of 60 in Park City
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#28 of 60 in Park City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
596 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
599 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#8 of 60 in Park City
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 4000 Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098-6546 (Formerly Canyons Grand Summit Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#8 Spa Hotel in Park City
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#19 Family Hotel in Park City
#19 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range: £117 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND SUMMIT HOTEL, A ROCKRESORTS PROPERTY IS NOW OPEN AFTER ITS $15 MILLION RENOVATION. From new guest suites, a brand new RockResorts Spa, and re-concept of First Tracks Café, no stone was left unturned in the $15 million renovation of the iconic Grand Summit Hotel, located in the heart of Park City Resort’s Canyons Village. Natural textures and a soothing color palette reflecting the hotel’s stunning alpine local create a modern and yet understatedly elegant ambience throughout this distinctive property, now part of Vail Resorts’ premium RockResorts lodging collection. Guestroom amenities added as part of this transformative renovation include all new finishes, stainless-steel appliances, 60-inch Smart televisions, and enhanced technological features. The brand new RockResorts Spa is lined with enlarged treatment rooms and a new dry sauna. In the new open-concept First Tracks Café, luxurious leather furniture and big-screen televisions encourage guests to relax and linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City
Canyons Grand Summit Resort
Summit Park City
Park City Summit
Grand Summit Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing