We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundial is fine, management company (Resort Quest) difficult”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our trip began with an inquiry through VRBO, through which we were connected to Park City Vacations Properties. The unit we selected is managed by Resort Quest. We paid for the condo in full, in advance. Through Park City Vacation Properties, Resort Quest was notified that our flight was arriving very late. In order to avoid owner issues with a late arrival, we had selected the Sundial so we would have access to our key through the front desk. When were dropped off at the Sundial, expecting to pick up our key from the front desk or a nearby lockbox, we were told that the Resort Quest lock box was ten minutes away. We called Resort Quest and told them that we did not have a car and asked for the code. They refused for about 45 minutes, telling us that we should take a cab ($40 round trip) to go to the lock box and get the code. After several calls, we were finally given the code. We had been given the address of Resort Quest, but not being familiar with the area, we went directly to our unit expecting that Resort Quest would be nearby. We did not need to physically pick up a key, because room access is through a code that was very easy to give over the phone.

What was so frustrating is our request could have been, and actually was, solved easily, but instead, we were forced to argue with them over providing a room code for our pre-paid room. We would have happily showed ID. Resort Quest handled this situation very poorly. First, they should have services ON LOCATION to allow late check in guests to gain access to their unit and second, when a problem could be solved so easily, they should have thought of the customer service (or lack thereof) they were providing.

Once we arrived in the unit, we felt a little better. Although Resort Quest was supposed to have provided a cot or blow-up bed, what we found was a deflated blow-up bed (apparently a hole). In addition, the tub and rug had stains, the fireplace didn't work and the microwave had a piece that fell off. Once we settled down, we did feel perfectly comfortable in the unit. It was clean and comfortable. Had we not been so frustrated with Resort Quest, we may not have noticed the negatives in the unit.

The Canyons itself is a nice set up although the laws generally are very restrictive and overall, we didn't get the gracious hospitality we usually receive at resorts all over the world. The tram service from the Sundial is very limited only running from 4:00-10:00 on the hour, you have to make reservations, and they only drop off in one location. We made 6:30 reservations for dinner, booked the 6:00 tram and the tram was ten minutes late. We ended up taking a cab home from Park City ($20) because we didn't want to wait 45 minutes for the tram. We had dinner at 350 Main and loved it - the service was wonderful.

The shining stars for our Park City visit were the valets at the Sundial who could not have been kinder or more gracious and the cab company we used several times,
Powder Pipeline Transportation who had lower rates and were very prompt and friendly.


There is a lift called the Cabriolet (a standing lift for skiers heading to the parking lot and for non-skiers) which takes you down to the free (!!!) bus service around the Park City area. We took that bus into Park City to shop at Fresh Market, which worked out great. At the bottom of the lift there is a 7-11, which is really the ONLY store in the Canyons area other than a very small necessities only store in one of the hotels. The Cabriolet lift closes at 7:00 though, so free public transportation is not available after that point if you are staying at the Canyons.

There is no room service at the Sundial and at one restaurant refused to provide takeout of a cheese platter because they were "busy" even though it was 3:30 in the afternoon and were empty except for staff. It's just this constant feeling of lack of service at every turn. There are many restrictive alcohol laws in Utah as well.

As a last impression, we asked for a late check out from the Sundial because our flight did not leave until early evening. We had mentioned this to Park City Vacation Rentals when we booked the unit. We called Park City Vacation Properties 24 hours in advance and then emailed. The morning of our departure, we had not heard from Park City Vacation Properties, so I called the local office of Resort Quest. Resort Quest only said “who told you that you could have a late check out” and said that we had to be out by 10:00am and not a moment later. So we complied and left the unit by 10:00am and I waited in the lobby for three hours. At 11:30am we received a call and email from Park City Vacation Properties indicating that they had secured a late check out for us as we requested and we were permitted to stay in the unit until 1:00pm. By this point, we had already been out of the unit an hour and a half.

I'm not sure who is at fault but time and time again, Resort Quest was rude and unaccommodating. Park City Vacation Rentals was not able to make anything better. I would not stay at the Sundial again because of this situation. No one wants stress on vacation. In addition, the lack of shuttle, the lack of a responsive front desk (due to Resort Quest relationship) and the lack of room service made our experience at the Sundial stressful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyMidWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

I’m sorry to hear your experience at Sundial Lodge was not to your complete satisfaction. Sundial Lodge is a HOA Condo Association and each unit is individually owned and managed. Unfortunately you booked with an off-site management company which limits the service you received when staying at Sundial Lodge. As some companies have no on-site staff their services can often be delayed or not available at all. There are 2 on-site management companies that are able to provide more immediate services for guests. Unfortunately the on-site companies are not authorized to work in condos that are not part of their management program. They do make an effort help with any public area issues or questions regarding general activities or directional assistance. We hope you chose Sundial Lodge again and have a more satisfying experience.

Sundial Lodge Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent location and very friendly staff. The rooms were very clean and the beds excellent. It is really next to the ski lifts. We enjoyed the service and help from the staff. The maps, granola bars, dinner reservations. Very efficient.
The only minus point was that we didn't find a place that served a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking valuable time out of your day to share your great epxerience with fellow travelers. We are delighted that you had such a great time here at the Sundial and will be thrilled to welcome you back again in the future.

warmly,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I booked this for a week to go check out where my Epic Pass is now valid. Combined with having a student in college in SLC it was a natural curiosity that led me to research the options. I booked through all seasons.com, the confusing part is that there are two separate companies that have their hands in management of this delightful property. I'm so glad I landed with allseasons, we had some minor booking glitches since I added a second week for later this month. Everything was not only taken care of professionally but very timely by Brian Bell, the general manager. He is on site, extremely responsive to emails and phone calls. We arrived tired, unsure of what to expect. Check in was flawless by Emily, room keys made and escorted rapidly up to our room. Turned out that our room was upgraded to a 2 bdrm condo, heaven. There was a letter from Brian with a delicious food basket and some gift cards to iron out some issues with ski passes, not his fault but he made it right. The merger with Vail resorts will take some time, but don't avoid this gem just because it's not smoothed out perfectly. Our unit was pristine and we treated it as our own. The location is unrivaled, you are right there in The Canyons village, everything within easy walking distance. The ski valet room is superb, top service, smiles, shoe storage, and boot heaters.

I will write another review after the next week stay at The Sundial, I expect great things :))

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank lanikailua1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We want every guest to have a personalized experience and appreciate you contacting us for any assistance you may need. We look forward to your return!

Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our stay started with the staff being excited we chose to stay with them. I told them my husband and I were finally getting to enjoy a honeoon, 4 years later and the staff sprung into action. We were met in our room later with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and champagne with a personal note. How awesome! The room was great, view was amazing. The bathroom floors had heated tiles...best thing. The room was clean and newly renovated with granite and comfy furniture. The ski valet was great. Walk to the lifts was quick. And all the restaurants and everything else was within walking distance. The only problem we had was getting cotton pillows and wash clothes delivered, which they finally did...talked to front desk personally. And the temp control in room at night was hard to control. I think it was because of the duvet bedcover. Other than that, this place was excellent. Oh and I forgot about the hot tub after a long ski day....amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to celebrate such a momentus occasion with us here at the Sundial Lodge!
Upon hearing the story of your delayed honeymoon, our staff wanted to make sure that your stay with us was as special today as it would have been 4 years ago.

Thank you for letting us be a little part of your amazing experience here at the Sundial Lodge.

Best of luck to you both in your future togther!

Warmly,

Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Wow.....what a great place. This was our first ski vacation as a family so it was important that we had the right accomm......ski in/ski out, laundry, plenty of room and warm! Sundial, ticked all these boxes and more. We were visiting early December so the place was very quiet but the service was impeccable and location same. We had a 2 story 3 bed/3 bath condo with everything you needed.....full kitchen, fireplaces, large comfortable beds, plush linens, laundry, plenty of room for all your gear and great views of the mountain. We would buy more groceries next time and cook some more as there are limited choices to eat in the village and after skiing all day you really didn't want to go out every night. Unfortunately the park city shuttle wasn't operating when we were there so it was hard work going into Main Street for dinner, it meant hiring a driver for $20 each way or catching the local bus from the bottom of the resort which was very long trip, esp in the below freezing temps that we had. There is a small market in the village but it is expensive so stock up on your way through or get a grocery service. The location is literally 2 min walk to the gondola and ski school. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank disney09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

I'm glad to hear you had a great vacation here at Sundial Lodge. I'm sorry to hear the seasonal shuttle wasn't operating during your stay. In the future please consider using one of the great local grocery delivery services. They will be sure everything you need is in your condo when you arrive and they will even re-stock items for you during your stay. Please feel free to contact the front desk prior to your next visit and we can help you set up any special requests you have for your arrival. Many Park City guests arrive by shuttle and have no vehicle during their stay so there are lots of great local companies that can help you with this dilemma. We look forward to seeing you again!

Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Canyons Resort and The Sundial Lodge in particular are ideally located for a ski vacation. The drive from Salt Lake Airport is less than 30 miles. There are plenty of shuttle services to get you to the resort and around town if you don't want to rent a car. This planned resort area is just close enough and yet far enough away from the hustle and hodgepodge that is Park City. Your choices to ski/ride are at the Canyons, Deer Valley (skiing ONLY), and Park City. Venture into Old Town Park City for shopping and great restaurants or rent a movie and cook-in using your full kitchen. Underground parking and an attentive ski and boot check room make returning after a day on the slopes a breeze. Lift ticket prices are especially reasonable at The Canyons IF you purchase them at least 24 hours in advance online.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAgentDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for highlighting all the great aspects of Sundial Lodge. The Sundial Lodge and the Canyons Resort continue to work hard to create an all encompassing resort where all your needs are met. The new golf course at the base of the slopes will be open in September 2014 so please come back and visit us in the spring, summer or fall. There are endless year round activities here on the mountain.


Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have to say, I kinda liked this place. It had nice rustic decor, convenient to the slopes and very comfortable. The beds were very luxurious and the bath had jets which was a nice touch.

I didn't really like how the pool and jacuzzi were outside. Sure, I bet it's nice to be in hot water when the air is cold, but then you have to get out of the jacuzzi and it's freezing. I guess I can see how it would be nice to have a swim under the stars but then surely they could offer an indoor pool AND an outdoor pool.

The service is fine except for the front desk and ski check. We couldn't help but think that the hotel was trying to hire clerk's that had an inability to be polite to guests. Some of the staff we encountered were acting as if it was some kind of impropriety on our part that they had to do the job they were being paid for. That and the obnoxious manner of a half time clerk at the front desk as well as a ski check worker who couldn't speak a single word of english. I mean, am I reaching for the stars here? The USA is an english speaking country. Is it really that big an expectation for people who work in the US to speak the language. No, not really.

Another annoying thing is that there is only one set of elevators so we found ourselves walking for about five minutes until we got to the room from the elevator bay. This may not sound so bad now but it is when your carrying half your weight in suitcases it is not fun. This place is alright but from walking around the resort a bit, I'd have to say that this is not the best hotel you could find at Canyons.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

I'm sorry to hear you expectations were not fully met during your stay. You booked with an off site management company which is why it may seem like the front desk couldn't help you as much as you would have liked. Every condo is individually owned and some are managed by off site companies. It can limit on site service abilities as you did not book with us directly and we are not authorized to work on you reservation or in your condo other than handing out keys. You are still entitled to use of the services here so I encourage you to make use of the bellman and they will gladly assist you with your luggage. We welcome our international guests and employees as Park City is know as an international city. I manage the ski valets and they do speak English so I apologize if their accent was difficult for you to understand. I hope that you do chose to stay with us again and we will do our best to met your needs.

Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#29 of 60 in Park City
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
694 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#11 of 60 in Park City
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#12 of 60 in Park City
594 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village

Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range: £72 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views. This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Village Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing