We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, California
2 reviews
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here at the hotel during February, and it was great. The hotel was nice, with a lodge sort of feel to it, rustic and warm. The furniture and style in the unit is a bit dated.

We got in very late, because we took a red eye flight. When we arrived one of the employees was seated. He stood and tried to assist us before the girl in the corner desk piped up to help us. She was easier to talk to, and seemed to know an answer to all of our questions about the area and amenities.

When we got up to our room, we noticed some problems right away. There was a strange dark stain on the bed sheet, and the boxes of detergent and laundry softener were empty. We weren't sure if the stain was old but called the front desk to request new sheets anyways. When we called down, Sam the front desk agent was able to help again. She explained them not having housekeeping so late, and delivered all new sheets herself. She even delivered a bottle of wine to us as an apology for the trouble. It wasn't necessary, but definitely appreciated! ;)

We were concerned about the cleanliness of the room after, but she assured us our room would become priority first thing in the morning when housekeeping returned and apologized again. There weren't any other problems for the rest of our stay, thankfully!

When we checked out, the bellhop, Ryan, they sent to our unit was very friendly and talked to us about our trip and returning home. Overall, our trip was great, and we would return again to the Sundial.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
I apologize for the housekeeping issues you had at check it. I am glad Sam was able to assist you and I have already discussed the matter with our housekeeping staff. We work hard to keep high standards so we appreciate your honest feedback. I'm glad to hear the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we would love to have you stay with us again.

Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    137
    45
    27
    19
See reviews for
189
127
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We liked the ski in ski out. This resort was convenient. Staff wasn't overly friendly or accommodating, except for Brian. he was the bellman, what an outstanding employee - he was friendly, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond. he booked our snowmobiling trip, he gave us tips on park city downtown and where to go.
housekeeping i believe was not what i expected, they would take towels but not give clean ones, the room wasn't cleaned up to par.
i think the restaurants were not great, the only one that i think was great was the farm, the rest weren't great at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
I’m sorry to hear your experience at Sundial Lodge was not to your complete satisfaction. Sundial Lodge is a HOA Condo Association and each unit is individually owned and managed. Unfortunately you booked with an off-site management company which limits the service you received when staying at Sundial Lodge. As some companies have no on-site staff their services can often be delayed or not available at all. There are 2 on-site management companies that are able to provide more immediate services for guests. Unfortunately the on-site companies are not authorized to work in condos that are not part of their management program. They do make an effort help with any public area issues or questions regarding general activities or directional assistance. We hope you chose Sundial Lodge again and have a more satisfying experience.

Sundial Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was the first time that I stayed at a ski in/out and the Sundial was superb!!! Everyone was really nice and accomodating. Kristen ther property manager was hands down the best. She recommended a decent but not overpricey restaurant and even made the reservations for us! Needless to say her recommendation for Zoom in Park City was better than we expected! Hope to be back next year!

Thx!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for such a generous and positive review of your stay at Sundial! It is so gratifyuing to know that our efforts are paying off. We strive to have a cohesive, fun, personable and professional staff. Glad you enjoyed the dinner. Cannot wait to welcome you back again next year!

warmly,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We are So Cal family of 4, typically take one ski trip a year to Tahoe. This year we decided to try Utah, and chose Canyons primarily for their snowboard friendliness. We had a FANTASTIC vacation. The Sundial lodge was terrific, the location couldn't be better, the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Goodbye long drive to NorthStar, hello 1.5 hour flight to Utah!

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zipzieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
While we are sure your former ski spot will miss having you we are thrilled to know we have a new loyal customer and assure you we will welcome your family back again for years to come with the same service you enjoyed so much this year. Thank you for taking time from your busy day to help spread the word to fellow travelers about our wonderful spot here at the Sundial Lodge.

warmly,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

You coudn't ask for a better location than Sundial Lodge. While my definition of "ski in / ski out" is a little different than what this actually is, there is certainly no complaint about having to walk 50 yards to get on a lift. Everything you could possibly want is right there, the staff was wonderful. Our room - a one bedroom with a loft - was a little smaller than we're used to, but perfectly sufficient for just the two of us. No complaints at all about Sundial.

Room Tip: If there are more than two of you, don't just get the one bedroom with a loft if you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It is always so rewarding to hear from our first-time visitors when they have a positive expereince and share this with fellow travelers! As a manager there is little else that bring me more satisfaction that our guests have left feeling great about their stay.

warmly,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Canyons Sundial Lodge last week, 2/16/14 - 2/21/14. We could not be happier! The room was spacious, furnished very nicely, kitchen was awesome, and bed was comfy! We really enjoyed the cozy Pendleton snuggle blankets in the evenings while relaxing on the couch in front of the fire!

The thing that impressed us the most was the friendliness of virtually every. single. person. that we came in contact with. Warm, friendly, welcoming, just incredible. Our son took one day of ski school. Two days later we ran into his teacher, and he recognized our son, greeting him by name, and asked him how everything was going. Then he took time to greet me, and gave me some tips on helping him snowboard better. Just great!

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in a corner on the second floor. It was peaceful, quiet, nice views. We never heard any ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Revews such as yours make our efforts towards exemplary customer service most gratifying. The best news we can get is that our guests have departed and are thrilled with the experience that they had while staying here with us. Your time to write your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit with us here at the Sundial.

warmly,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our trip began with an inquiry through VRBO, through which we were connected to Park City Vacations Properties. The unit we selected is managed by Resort Quest. We paid for the condo in full, in advance. Through Park City Vacation Properties, Resort Quest was notified that our flight was arriving very late. In order to avoid owner issues with a late arrival, we had selected the Sundial so we would have access to our key through the front desk. When were dropped off at the Sundial, expecting to pick up our key from the front desk or a nearby lockbox, we were told that the Resort Quest lock box was ten minutes away. We called Resort Quest and told them that we did not have a car and asked for the code. They refused for about 45 minutes, telling us that we should take a cab ($40 round trip) to go to the lock box and get the code. After several calls, we were finally given the code. We had been given the address of Resort Quest, but not being familiar with the area, we went directly to our unit expecting that Resort Quest would be nearby. We did not need to physically pick up a key, because room access is through a code that was very easy to give over the phone.

What was so frustrating is our request could have been, and actually was, solved easily, but instead, we were forced to argue with them over providing a room code for our pre-paid room. We would have happily showed ID. Resort Quest handled this situation very poorly. First, they should have services ON LOCATION to allow late check in guests to gain access to their unit and second, when a problem could be solved so easily, they should have thought of the customer service (or lack thereof) they were providing.

Once we arrived in the unit, we felt a little better. Although Resort Quest was supposed to have provided a cot or blow-up bed, what we found was a deflated blow-up bed (apparently a hole). In addition, the tub and rug had stains, the fireplace didn't work and the microwave had a piece that fell off. Once we settled down, we did feel perfectly comfortable in the unit. It was clean and comfortable. Had we not been so frustrated with Resort Quest, we may not have noticed the negatives in the unit.

The Canyons itself is a nice set up although the laws generally are very restrictive and overall, we didn't get the gracious hospitality we usually receive at resorts all over the world. The tram service from the Sundial is very limited only running from 4:00-10:00 on the hour, you have to make reservations, and they only drop off in one location. We made 6:30 reservations for dinner, booked the 6:00 tram and the tram was ten minutes late. We ended up taking a cab home from Park City ($20) because we didn't want to wait 45 minutes for the tram. We had dinner at 350 Main and loved it - the service was wonderful.

The shining stars for our Park City visit were the valets at the Sundial who could not have been kinder or more gracious and the cab company we used several times,
Powder Pipeline Transportation who had lower rates and were very prompt and friendly.


There is a lift called the Cabriolet (a standing lift for skiers heading to the parking lot and for non-skiers) which takes you down to the free (!!!) bus service around the Park City area. We took that bus into Park City to shop at Fresh Market, which worked out great. At the bottom of the lift there is a 7-11, which is really the ONLY store in the Canyons area other than a very small necessities only store in one of the hotels. The Cabriolet lift closes at 7:00 though, so free public transportation is not available after that point if you are staying at the Canyons.

There is no room service at the Sundial and at one restaurant refused to provide takeout of a cheese platter because they were "busy" even though it was 3:30 in the afternoon and were empty except for staff. It's just this constant feeling of lack of service at every turn. There are many restrictive alcohol laws in Utah as well.

As a last impression, we asked for a late check out from the Sundial because our flight did not leave until early evening. We had mentioned this to Park City Vacation Rentals when we booked the unit. We called Park City Vacation Properties 24 hours in advance and then emailed. The morning of our departure, we had not heard from Park City Vacation Properties, so I called the local office of Resort Quest. Resort Quest only said “who told you that you could have a late check out” and said that we had to be out by 10:00am and not a moment later. So we complied and left the unit by 10:00am and I waited in the lobby for three hours. At 11:30am we received a call and email from Park City Vacation Properties indicating that they had secured a late check out for us as we requested and we were permitted to stay in the unit until 1:00pm. By this point, we had already been out of the unit an hour and a half.

I'm not sure who is at fault but time and time again, Resort Quest was rude and unaccommodating. Park City Vacation Rentals was not able to make anything better. I would not stay at the Sundial again because of this situation. No one wants stress on vacation. In addition, the lack of shuttle, the lack of a responsive front desk (due to Resort Quest relationship) and the lack of room service made our experience at the Sundial stressful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyMidWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I’m sorry to hear your experience at Sundial Lodge was not to your complete satisfaction. Sundial Lodge is a HOA Condo Association and each unit is individually owned and managed. Unfortunately you booked with an off-site management company which limits the service you received when staying at Sundial Lodge. As some companies have no on-site staff their services can often be delayed or not available at all. There are 2 on-site management companies that are able to provide more immediate services for guests. Unfortunately the on-site companies are not authorized to work in condos that are not part of their management program. They do make an effort help with any public area issues or questions regarding general activities or directional assistance. We hope you chose Sundial Lodge again and have a more satisfying experience.

Sundial Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.7 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#5 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#33 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village

Property: Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Village Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing