We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money~the only advantage is the ski in-out location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the money~the only advantage is the ski in-out location”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We arrived on the Friday of President's Day weekend. We booked the Canyons Sundial due to the close proximity to the lifts and our first choice of the Waldorf Astoria was sold out. Here are the negatives (not in any particular order):

1. Amenities in the guestrooms need serious updating. There is a tube TV and VCR (not DVD). The TV did not have any type of interactive features. The reception was so poor that we were watching "snow" on the TV on local stations.
2. Safety: The door did not close on its own when walking out due to the carpet and pad not allowing the door to close freely. The carpet was tired also.
3. Water damage in the guestroom in between the bed and the desk.
4. Design flaw in the bathroom to guestroom- a window in the bathroom into the bedroom did not allow any privacy and also if your significant other uses the restroom in the middle of the night, the light in the guestroom lights up the entire room, waking up the other person.
5. Decor flaw: The window that overlooked the Umbrella bar and the slopes is shaped in a slanted fashion, yet the windown covering (faux wood blinds) covered only the portion that was straight... so any mid day naps was out of the question since you could never get darkness.
6. Check out: We left early on the Monday and called down to advise that we were checking out and to see if we have any balances on the folio. Was quickly advised that there was not a way to tell me if this was the case due to the evening audit... I understand that the audits take place, yet at 5:00 AM? That seems a little late. And I was not offered a folio via email or anything of the sort. I just had to "trust" that everything was okay. Out of all the things, this is what I was most upset about.
7. The bathroom door had major water damage on the bathroom side. The wood is peeling away.
8. No conditioner
9. The bathroom shower curtain did not cover from wall to wall.
10. The lighting in the bathroom was very poor- two can lights pointing at the mirror, and one in ceiling lamp, all on one switch.
11. Difficult to make reservations via phone- the button on the phone for the concierge kept on ringing and rining. We eventually hung up and called the desk, then got transfered to the same concierge number again and the cycle of rining ringing ringing with no answer started again.

The positive: the close proximity to the lifts, Alipine House for dinner and breakfast, the Westgate deli for a breakfast wrap or sandwich, check in execution was flawless, thanks to the agent from Bakersfield, CA., The Ski/Board Valet was very helpful and convenient. The shuttle service on a complimentray basis was nice (took it to the Waldorf Astoria to dine at Spruce). Free Wi-Fi. The snow conditions were amazing! That would be the highlight!

At the end of the day, I would not suggest this hotel to anyone. There needs to be serious updating to the facilities. Being in the hotel industry, I believe that I am very forgiving. I do understand that it was the busiest weekend out of the year and that would indicate the over priced accommodations... yet for that price, I would expect more.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkCityGal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    137
    45
    27
    19
See reviews for
189
127
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We booked a couple of nights in a one bedroom. We were drawn to this property due to the proximity to the ski lifts and the opportunity to stay in a one bedroom. The room was comfortable enough for 2 but could serve 4 in tight quarters. There was a washer/dryer in the room which we didn't expect. The kitchen was well appointed with all the basics that you need for cooking. The living space was small, but comfortable and new looking. There was a gas fireplace on a timer (annoying as it turned off every 30 minutes). The balcony was large with enough space for 4-6 people. It overlooked the courtyard where all the shops and restaurants are located. There was music playing on speakers until about 6pm. It was a little too busy for my liking. In the courtyard they had a stage setup for a band. I don't know when they play, but when they do it must be loud. if you are not interested then ask for something outside of the courtyard. The staff was helpful providing us anything we requested. The ski check was convenient. There was plenty of underground parking. If you have the opportunity, book a package with breakfast included as the buffet at The Cabin is very good. Overall this is perfect spot for a ski base camp at canyons.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We just spent a week at the Sundial Lodge in a two bedroom corner lockout unit facing the courtyard area. It was an excellent location and accessible to the ski shops, rental equipment and ski repair. The gondola was just steps away and so easy to access. Everyone could come and go as they please with easy access to the gondola and new heated lift. No driving to slopes and carrying skis and boards back and forth from the parking lots. Ski check in the main lobby area. Our kids like to go out earlier then we do and it was easy to meet them on the mountain. Our living area on one side included a large open living area with a fireplace, two sleeper sofas, dining area, kitchen with most appliances, bath and a king bedroom area. The view was wonderful because you could sit at the dining table and watch the coming and goings of the resort. The second room was another king bed with a sleeper sofa and a mini bar and full bath. We traveled with three teenagers and there was plenty of room. There was a washer and dryer in between the rooms to do a quick load of wash and they supplied the soap. Our room had newer carpet and new beds as we seen the tags on the beds. Two hot tubs, pool and exercise room. We learned that the canyons is under new management this year and you can see the effort on the mountain. They are adding new areas to enjoy in the resort. and on the mountain It is a wonderful mountain if you have skiers and boarders. This location allows you to take a break or eat lunch in the room or on the slopes. Our favorite food slope side was the lookout cabin that had table service. It was more pricy but worth the treat now and then. Need reservations as it is very popular and has smaller menu choices.
The canyons has a free shuttle to the grocery store and runs to park city. We took some exercise classes at the spa at the Grand Summit and it was like having a private lesson. Great teachers. Staff at the Sundial was willing to address our request. but the staff needs more training and knowledge of the resort. Our bell staff was exceptional helpful when we were trying to pack up to leave for the airport. Some of our favorite family dining outside the resort this trip were maxwells (ny pizza and pasta), buena vita (Italian) and squatters (has a variety) and Happa Grill for sushi. There is also a tubing park near, movie theartres and a new bowling alley.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltips124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We just returned from a 5day ski trip at the Canyons. We picked the Sundial Lodge since it was still available when we booked in the very last minute and it was close to the skiresort. We had a 1Bedroom-Suite, which was just ok for a family with three little kids five and under. The kids slept on the sofa bed which wasn't very comfortable to me and cut down the available space in the "livingroom" at all. The interior was nice, I can't complain about the cleaniness. Housekeeping showed up everyday and also cleaned dishes etc. But it could happen that you returned from a day on the slopes and your room wasn't serviced yet.
Service is a huge minus at Sundial Lodge! If you ask someone for an information or the frontdesk for a reservation, they don't know a thing or just hand you a number where to call for reservations and give you a look like "do it yourself". When you start to wonder about this they just get grumpy and don't even apology. We also had questions about the New Years Eve menu (the hotel's family party was advertised in a special Holiday Flyer), but they weren't even able to find out what food would be served, nor if it would be buffet or a course-fix. Completly wrong went a reservation for a sleigh ride. BTW: don't do it anyway - it was a hoax at all. We rode about 30 min (10min breathingtime for the horses incl.), at night time, temp around -8 F, through snowmakers and the sleighowner didn't even provide blankets or so to keep us warm. We were iceicles even in our snowsuits. Nightmare for the kids.
When we arrived the sofa bed wasn't set up and there weren't any linens in the room. So I had to call them twice to send someone over to bring the blankets etc. - they didn't even offer to set up the bed, they just brought the stuff and went away. So it was my turn to do it - even when I paid 600 bucks a night!
But they were very quick in calling us, when we were still in our room on departure day 10 min after the offical check-out time, threatening with late-check-out fee etc., although the hotel wasn't booked at all. That's hilarious!
And it was always a hassle when you needed a taxi - they always came up with new excuses why you still had to wait for your cab after 30 min. I am sure they just forgot to call. Just get yourself a stack of cab numbers and call them yourself - that's easier.
The only plus is the location, you could really walk to the gondola and hit the slopes right away. But the resort doesn't offer much besides skiing. There are a few overpriced restaurants at the Great Summit hotel or the Alpine House, but the food quality was poor and the service more than lame. There was an outdoor pool, but without an indoor access, means you have to walk through minus something to jump into the heated water and be sure to catch a cold on your way back. And last not least: the Resort management doesn't allow sledding at all. So even at the base away from the ski slopes you weren't allowed to use your sled - nor are the shops allowed to sell sleds. For our party of 5 with me and the toddler girl not skiing, that was very disappointing, since there weren't even trails to walk on or so and downtown Park City was always a 30 min cab ride away. So all we could do was watching the skiers, taking a ride with the complimentary Cabrio lift to the lower parking lot and back.
So if you don't mind spending a lot of money, just for being close to the gondola and omit service, friendliness....then go there. But we decided definitely not to come back at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We just returned from a ski quick trip to Park City. Having never visited the area, I read reviews on Trip Advisor after looking at various lodging in Park City. The Sundial (one of the hotels at The Canyons) was very affordable ($91 in December) for a basic room. When we arrived, we were pleased to know that the basic room actually had a small couch, refirgerator, coffee pot and dishes. The staff was great and the property was nice.

If you choose to stay there, you need to know that you should have a car to get to great skiing, which is just 5 minutes away at Park City or Deer Valley (The Canyons is located in PArk City, but away from town). The Canyons has their own slopes, but we were less than impressed with the difficulty. Grant it, all of the slopes were not opened yet, but the ones that were open were lackluster.....blues seemed like greens, etc. Also, you should not buy a 3 day lift pass at The Canyons if you plan on going to Park City or Deer Valley, they are not valid for the other ski areas.

Overall great stay for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEJ-MWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We just stayed at the Sundial for a few nights and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a Queen Studio and it was enough for us. However, I can tell you the bed we slept on was not a queen size. It was small and uncomfortable. We have two small children that slept on the pull-out. It was fine for them, but I would never try sleeping on the saggiing, lumpy thing! The kitchen was great and was well appointed. The bath was clean but the jetted tub did not work. The plunge pool on the roof was fun for the kids but there was no towels provided and we had to return to get some from our room. For the value, I would stay again and request a larger room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runmommierun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Had to write a review after seeing the negative comments. Just got back from a stay here after taking a ski trip with my husband, two young kids (4 and 6) on a whim. Got a great price for the studio. I was nervous it was going to be small for us...but it really had everything you needed (washer/dryer, full kitchen, eating area). It was great to walk to the slopes next door, or the shops. Kids loved the outdoor heated pool and spa in our building. Cleaning staff was very friendly and nice. We have stayed at many higher-end places...but I would stay here again. I was impressed they utilized the space perfectly. If we went with another family perhaps a bigger unit or townhome may be better...but for a couple or small family the studio unit was great. Oh yeah, Starbucks coffee free each morning in the lobby...so you don't even have to brew some! And free underground parking was nice.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jillian07Sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.7 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#33 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village

Property: Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Village Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing