We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but a bit run down”
Review of Silver King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver King Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit run down”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

First, the location can't be beat if you ski Park City Mountain Resort! There is a back door, accessible from the ski storage room, taking you directly to the main parking lot of the ski area. No problem walking with ski boots on from your room to the lifts or ski rental shops.

We stayed at "premium" grade room 505 on the top floor. The room was very nice size for a family of four, with a separate bedroom and two baths. There is a kitchen but I would not recommend it for serious cooking as the pots and pans and knives leave a lot to be desired and the stove was not great either. The setup was very functional for fixing breakfast though. Our room had a partial skylight which was nice but represented a bit of a problem as it didn't have curtains and lit up the room until quite late at night. The furniture was comfortable except for the beds which caused some back pain for my wife.

The main problems with the hotel are poor maintenance and well-intentioned but somewhat amateurish staff. Everything was a bit run down, to the point that we nearly flooded the room as the bath faucet handle fell off (!) and could not be shut off. We had a couple of similar maintenance issues with the room. The staff tried to help, but often took a long time doing so (probably overburdened by similar issues with other rooms). The room was not too clean and the daily housekeeping run was very superficial. The dishwasher was pretty useless and the glassware had lipstick stains from previous visitors despite a few rounds in the dishwasher.

We enjoyed the pool and hot tub on the third floor - what a nice way to wind down after an intense day of skiing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73_ptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    82
    48
    25
    13
See reviews for
116
99
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Silver King Hotel is very good for skiers. We liked having the kitchen and even cooked dinner in one night. Our room looked very similar to the pictures on the website. The bed and furniture were very comfortable. The older "low-flow" toilet was a bit of a challenge. The large shower was great. It was also convenient to have the washer and dryer. It was easy to walk to the lift at Park City. Several of the free bus routes had stops right in front of the hotel, so It was easy to get to Deer Valley and the Canyons for skiing and also to Main Street for shopping and restaurants. We rented a car from Budget, which was right next door, and drove over to Alta/Snowbird to ski for the day. The property is older, but had everything we needed for a week of skiing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryE_B60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a great hotel for skiers! I happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Silver King is within walking distance of the Payday Lift at Park City Mountain resort. The city shuttle bus stops are right outside the main entrance. They also have a courtesy van that can take you throughout Park City proper, which is wonderful. I found all of the front desk representatives to be very nice and helpful, as well as the courtesy van driver. The only thing keeping this from a five star rating is that my room seemed a bit worn out - paint peeling in the bathroom, and cabinetry in need of being refinished. The furnishings however seemed new. I'd stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I greatly appreciate it. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and my staff was friendly and helpful. If you want to ensure you get an updated unit book a premium versus a standard unit. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Our room is a little run down, but the location can't be beat! The shuttle bus stops right outside the door. Clean pool. What else can one ask for!! Super convenient for running back and forth for dropping stuff off. One bedroom suite had two full baths, perfect for a family of five.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tzhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us! If you want to ensure you have an updated unit book a premium and not a standard. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Brian at the front desk is the only reason I'm giving silver king 5 stars!
I much appreciate everything u did! I look forward to traveling here again in the up coming month ahead. If weren't for Brian my vacation would start off on the wrong foot which would dictate the rest of our vacation. Can't thank Brian enough! I own a small business in NY In the jewelry watch industry and if there is ever a time I could return the favor I would b more then happy to do so.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ssaatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your review about Brian! He has been rewarded for his excellent guest service. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Silver King shouldn't be called a hotel, it should be described as a time machine. As soon as you walk through the front doors, it's like you're magically transported to the 80's. It's like a museum of artifacts from the late 20th century. - complete with grey woodgrain paneling, track lighting, and what looks like the actual couch from the show The Prince of Bel Air. In fact, the microwave in our room might have been the very first model ever invented.

All joking aside, the hotel is ideally situated near the ski resort in Park City. If you aren't familiar with the area, keep in mind that many hotels that you'll find on travel websites will often times suggest hotels down in Kimball Junction or Heber City (which are both about 20 minutes away). The Silver King is situated a bit too far from Main Street to walk, but an economical cab ride will get you there in no time (just don't pay more than $12, they may try to charge you more). The hotel is very outdated, but you're paying more for the location than the hip decor. We went during Sundance, so we severely overpaid for our room (hence my heightened feeling of cynicism).

Pros:
Location
Indoor/outdoor pool, so you can take a dip year round.
Secure, covered free parking

Cons:
Horrible pillows
Awesomely 80's decor
Pricey for what you get

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLC-Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
This review is inappropriate and incorrect for the most part. When you first walk into the hotel all the decor has been updated including nice leather couches, chairs and a beautiful fireplace that is only a few years old. There is a theme of the Park City heritage and culture with the silver mining that boomed here back in the 1860s. Hence the name, "Silver King Hotel". We have lots of cool artifacts and pictures from that time. It actually is pretty cool and interesting to most. In general, guests love it.
The units are all privately owned and we have Premium or Standard units. The Premium units are all updated and beautiful. The Standard units have at least minimum standards or we will not allow them to participate in our rental program. Yes, some are out dated but they are not horrible by any means.
During the Sundance Film Festival the prices are higher due to the towns demand and we are right in line with our competitors.
I'm sorry you did not have a wonderful experience staying with us. If you want to ensure you stay in a nice updated unit be sure to book a Premium unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is an updated review, based on steps taken by management after our many complaints.

Booked the hotel based on location (5 minute walk to the lifts at Park City Mt.) and pretty good reviews. The problem is that this hotel is made up of individually owned units of varying sizes and levels of upkeep. Reading some of the reviews shows that some of the units are nice and well-maintained, but we unfortunately got a lemon. We paid hundreds of dollars per night (over Christmas they can price gouge you all over Park City) for a room that was so poorly maintained it is almost comical (oven door came off in my hand, shower stall door fell off the track when you tried to close it, coffee pot handle came apart, and so on). Except it really wasn't.

Biggest two issues: first we paid a LOT of money to have our own hot tub in our room. When we arrived it was working properly but soon broke before we even got to use it. After several calls the maintenance person showed up, opened the panel in front of the unit, tried several things to get it to work. He got the light to turn on that was it. He mentioned that they have had problems with it, but obviously didn't spend any money to actually fix it. Totally unacceptable to charge extra for an amenity that is not working. We complained every day and it finally got fixed two days before we left.

Second big issue, the thermostat in the living room doesn't work. Instead of being able to set the temperature, you have to choose between having it on where it heats the room to about 85 degrees so you are sweating sitting there or freezing if you turn it off. Again, maintenance admits there is a problem, but couldn’t seem to fix it. On the day we left, they were still trying to get parts to fix it. Never worked the whole time we were there.

Other issues that maybe in themselves could be overlooked, but on top of the other issues, really ruined our stay here. The oven door handle came off in my hand when I tried to open the door, obviously broken and poorly glued back on. The kitchen is poorly stocked. No containers to warm up anything in the microwave, nothing with covers. There are two bathrooms, in the first one the drain doesn't drain so after a few minutes you are standing in water. In the second bathroom, the right side of the sliding door doesn't move. If you try to force it, it comes off the track. Blinds in the master bedroom don't work, you have to stand on a chair and manually turn each panel (there are 30). Kids were very excited to see a foos ball table in the room, but there is no ball anywhere and the front desk doesn't have extra. I could go on and on, but you get the picture. Troublesome little things that are just an inconvenience if there are one or two, but when there are this many, it just makes you furious.

There are some good things about the room and hotel. The size of the room was very nice (we got a two-bedroom, two bath unit). Bathrooms had good hot water and pressure. The indoor-outdoor pool is nice, the kids really enjoyed swimming under the door to the outside where your body is nice and warm and the air is cool on your face. There is a small game room with a pool table and a few arcade games. There is a small workout room, one of the few machines had an “out of service” sign on it.

They offer a free shuttle service into town where they will drop you off and pick you up; drivers were very friendly and helpful. Room price includes underground parking so you don’t have to clean snow and ice off the windshield, but there are limited spaces (we didn’t move our car much so wasn’t an issue for us although I could see it being a problem if you came in late at night).

The level of cleaning done prior to us arriving was minimal at best. They have been good about putting all our dishes in the dishwasher while we are out and restocking the room, but no vacuuming, dusting or other basic cleaning functions done the whole week. One pet peeve of mine is there is a sign saying if you don’t want us to replace your towels each day, hang them up on the rack (a good environmental practice that I always abide by). However, no matter where I put the towels to show I would be using them again, they gave me new ones.

At first I was impressed by the level of responsiveness and friendliness by the staff, until I realized after 3 days here, nothing has been repaired even after calling downstairs and going in person to try and get things fixed.

Update Post Visit: The manager did eventually hear about all the issues we were having (somehow her staff did not relay this to her in a timely manner). By Day 4, the unit had been cleaned, oven door handle glued back on, new coffee pot provided, door handle ring glued back on, new replacement foos ball bought, bathroom drains and doors fixed. Appreciated all of that. Hot tub was fixed by Day 5. Still broken: blinds in bedroom, thermostat in living room. Kitchen still needs to be better stocked such as containers to heat up food in the microwave. To her credit, the manager did refund part of the cost of our room and left a nice gift basket with a note of apology.

Bottom line: Renters beware. Might want to ask which room you will be assigned and if there have been maintenance problems.

Room Tip: Avoid units with hot tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmaER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
To all of you taking note of this review, this is a very rare situation and please take it with a grain of salt. Yes there were a lot of things that went wrong with this unit but most of the issues were not reported the first couple of days so we could not take care of them if we didn't know about them. A couple of the issues were reported right away (the thermostat and the hot tub). The issue was, we could not fix them because we had to order the parts. They had heat but it wouldn't turn off automatically and you had to do it manually. This was not well communicated to the guest and I have already addressed all of the communication issues with the employees involved. The other issues in the unit were taken care of when they were reported. I did feel extremely bad for the guests and I wanted to make it right. I gave them 50%, about $1,400 off their entire week long stay, along with other things. Once our team was aware of the issues they were having, we all did the best we could too make them happy. I'm very sorry they didn't enjoy their stay and had so many issues, but if you look at all the other reviews, this is very, very rare that this would happen and if it did, we would take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.9 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#19 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Apres Lodge
Chateau Apres Lodge
#33 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.0 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park City Peaks Hotel
Park City Peaks Hotel
#28 of 60 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Property: Silver King Hotel
Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort, you'll find sophisticated mountain luxury wrapped in local mining nostalgia, with hundreds of historic mining artifacts and photos thoughtfully placed throughout the hotel's halls and common areas.

Each and every studio and 1-to-4 bedroom condominium at the Silver King has a full-sized kitchen, and honest-to-goodness real wood-burning fireplaces. Guests also enjoy our indoor/outdoor pool, concierge services, complimentary ski lockers, heated underground parking, and close proximity to the restaurants, boutiques, galleries, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street. Additionally, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away, and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees.

Whether you're considering a cozy weekend getaway for two, or a rejuvenating extended stay for the whole family, the Silver King Hotel is a magical and timeless place where you're sure to make memories that last a lifetime.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing