We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming rustic lodge in super location”
Review of The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Caledonian
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming rustic lodge in super location”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Our family of 6 stayed for 10 days in January 2013 and highly recommend The Caledonian. Although the rooms are dated (as you will see from the website photos), the rustic old world charm of the old fashioned ski lodge (eg antlers for coat hooks and a stuffed bear as a foot stool) grows on you. The living and bed rooms are roomy and comfortable and the fabulous location and friendly staff more than make up for any disappointment about the age of the rooms. Its location is the best of both worlds for day and night as it is right next to the Town Lift (which is at the extreme on one side of the ski area but its is true ski in ski out) and it is also right on the Main Street so you can walk to restaurants at night (whereas if you stayed over at the main resort at bottom of the main skiing area there is nothing much at night and you'd need to get a bus over to Main Street at night for dinner). The concierge (Dashan) was super helpful with all our restaurant and hire etc bookings and really made our holiday so easy. Would recommend it especially for families with teenage kids (if you have little one who need to get dropped to ski school every morning you would probably be better off over at the main resort area).

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View room when you book so your Jacuzzi looks over the slopes not the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you so much for bringing your family to stay with us at The Caledonian. We appreciate you so much and hope to see you next time you come to Park City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just got back from 5 nights here over New Year's. What a find! We stayed in room 202 and couldn't have been happier. The condo is gorgeous - it was a one bedroom with a King bed, another day bed and a sleeper couch. 2 levels, 2 full bathrooms, washer dryer and a hot tub on the balcony. Literally next door to the park city town lift (not usuable if you can't ski blues though). Free shuttle service to Deer Valley and Park City mountain, as well as other nearby locations (e.g., they took us snow shoeing nearby and to the grocery store). Will store your ski's for you in the lobby so you don't have to schelp them. Only negatives were we regularly ran out of hot water during our showers, our room was near the bar so we could hear the music playing at night. And the big no-no was the place stored our bags for us the day we had a late flight. We told the desk attendant what time we would be back (before 10pm, when they went off duty) and when we got back at 9:45 she had left the bags just out for us, and anyone could take them/ Besides that rather large snafu, we did really enjoy our trip and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalcitizen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2012

You can't beat this location for easy access to the Town Lift, restaurants and walking to Main Street. The easy to access underground parking makes this the place to stay! Eric was great about making sure my trip was a success. Now if he can only guarentee about a foot of freshies everyday I may never leave!

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the mountain and the Town Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Caledonian for our anniversary and it could not have been better. The hotel itself if conveniently located on Main St. which puts you within walking distance of all the major bars and restaurants. The room was very clean and well outfitted. The beds and pillows were very comfortable which isn't always the case in a hotel. We had a private hot tub on our deck overlooking Main St. which was amazing. Very fun! My husband had some time sensitive business that had to be faxed and the staff went out of their way to make sure that they helped us get that out in a timely manner. We really appreciated that. We also loved the fact that we had access to the underground parking which meant we didn't have to contend with paying for parking or worrying about finding a spot which can be touch on Main St. depending on the time of year.

I would highly recommend The Caledonian.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniMorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spacious, clean, central, and priced right for our September trip. Overlooking the "Park Silly" fair on Sunday was a huge advantage. Huge living and dining area, gas fireplace, balcony hot tub and indoor jacuzzi were pluses. Cannot say enough good things about Eric, who went out of his way to make our stay the best, including an upgrade when the original room's hot tub was broken.

Room Tip: Front (streetside) rooms are a bit noisy, but it's fun to overlook the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Our wonderful trip to Utah could not have ended better than spening a few days at the Caledonian. The room was fantastic and that hot tub looking down on the bustling mainstreet was a real treat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a hot tub. During the off season, don't freak if you can't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We just stayed at The Caledonian last weekend and had an all around, great experience. I have stayed in Park City at many different hotels/condos and this was by far my favorite of any. The location is ideally located right on main street. We were able to walk to all of the best bars, restaurants and shopping within minutes or less. The management staff was also great and gave us free coupons for "buy one, get one free" at Butcher's Chop House Restaurant located directly downstairs (restaurant is yummy and pricey so the coupons made a huge difference on the price!). The room was absolutely beautiful...very clean, spacious and with an amazing view from the deck (and hot tub:). I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to get the most out of your Park CIty stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main & SKY
Main & SKY
#29 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.2 mi away
Washington School House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#5 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caledonian

Property: The Caledonian
Address: 751 Main St, Park City, UT 84060-5103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Caledonian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Ideally located on Park City's Historic Main Street - and directly beside the landmark Town chairlift that services Park City Mountain Resort - this legendary mountain retreat is second-to-none in luxury offerings and boasts some of the most decadent vacationing and entertaining spaces in the area.

Guests may choose from 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom condos with fully-furnished kitchens, private balcony hot tubs, large fireplaces, and spacious floor plans ranging from 1000 square feet to 2700 square feet. Stepping outside, guests will find all of the famous boutiques, restaurants, galleries, and nightlife of Park City at our doorstep - with Butcher's Chop House conveniently located on The Caledonian's ground floor, and Kristauf's Martini Bar next

Of course, complimentary shuttle service is offered to both Deer Valley Resort and Canyons Resort as well as many other local destinations, and our concierge is standing by to provide any additional services you may require during your stay.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian Hotel Park City
The Caledonian Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing