We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The excellent Caledonian”
Review of The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Caledonian
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Caledonian from 1 Feb until 10 Feb 2013. We were in room 206. We found the hotel excellent in every respect.The staff were very obliging and helpful. Our two level apartment with two balconies and a hot tub was superb. It has full kitchen facilities and spacious dining and sitting areas. The Town lift is literally outside the door of the hotel and gave immediate access to the Payday and Bonanza ski areas. We rode it down at the end of the day because the ski run home is only for strong skiers and did not suit my partner. The In house Butchers Chop House restaurant is first class. Proximity to all the shops and restaurants etc. on Main Street is a big part of the appeal of The caledinian

Room Tip: Room 206 is exdellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Albert, we are happy you enjoyed unit 206 and The Caledonian staff was able to meet all of your needs. When it comes to the Town Lift we are as close as you can get. We appreciate you mentioning our location and the fact that you can download it at the end of the day. The Town Lift will also be running this summer for scenic rides or hiking trail access. Butcher's Chop House is a great addition to the building and they provide a great dining experience. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed at the Caledonian from 2/6-2/10 and don't have enough good things to say about the place.
First and fore most, the Caledonian is located about 35 minutes away from SLC airport (Could've been a little longer, but seemed really close), making it easy to get to without the drag of taking a flight right before.
Secondly, the actual location of the condos is pretty much right in the center of town, whether you're looking for Food, Ski Shops, Shopping, Restaurants, etc... everything is right within walking distance.
Thirdly, it's close to several of the local ski mountains. During my Stay I went to Park City, SnowBird, and SnowBasin. Park city is less than a mile away, Caynons is less than 10, SnowBird was about an hour, and SnowBasin was about an hour as well.
Fourth, The actual condo had everything that we needed. There was 5 guys staying in the condo with snowboard equipment, as well as regular travel bags, and there was more than enough room for everything. Along with the space, there was cable, washer/dryer, stocked kitchen supplies, and a hot tub on the second deck.

Like I said earlier there were numerous good things about this location, those were just a few. Would def recommended this property and If I were to return, I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWBssPlyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Yes, it is true. We are only 35 minutes from the Salt Lake City Airport. We have to repeat this to inquiring guest multiple times over the phone because they are in disbelief. That and just like you pointed out how convenient it is to get to other resorts in the area. The Caledonian is in a prime location and a lot of our guest find it is not necessary to rent a car. We are happy to hear you would stay with us again and we would be happy to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend/anniversary get away. It was off peak and when booked, seemed like a pretty good deal. We were expecting a fairly nice hotel, but what we got was an amazing two story luxury unit with full kitchen, 2 balconies and a private hot tub off the master bedroom. Location was perfect walking distance to any restaraunt on Main Street. I wish we had more time, but looking forward to another visit. When we stayed in September, there was no on-site desk person for a late check-in, but we called the number on the sign and found our key and instructions in the lock box. Decor was ski-lodge rustic, but full kitchen with granite and stainless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MyWifeCallsMeCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for choosing The Caledonian for your anniversary get away. During our spring, summer, and fall seasons we only staff the desk from 8am-4pm. We do have an after-hours desk nearby that is open 24hrs and they are there to assist guest with anything. In your case, they assisted you with your check-in and it sounds like there were not any complications. We do receive a lot of inquiries about the afters desk and we appreciate you noticing that it was not any more difficult than checking-in with someone at the desk. Please come stay with again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Our family of 6 stayed for 10 days in January 2013 and highly recommend The Caledonian. Although the rooms are dated (as you will see from the website photos), the rustic old world charm of the old fashioned ski lodge (eg antlers for coat hooks and a stuffed bear as a foot stool) grows on you. The living and bed rooms are roomy and comfortable and the fabulous location and friendly staff more than make up for any disappointment about the age of the rooms. Its location is the best of both worlds for day and night as it is right next to the Town Lift (which is at the extreme on one side of the ski area but its is true ski in ski out) and it is also right on the Main Street so you can walk to restaurants at night (whereas if you stayed over at the main resort at bottom of the main skiing area there is nothing much at night and you'd need to get a bus over to Main Street at night for dinner). The concierge (Dashan) was super helpful with all our restaurant and hire etc bookings and really made our holiday so easy. Would recommend it especially for families with teenage kids (if you have little one who need to get dropped to ski school every morning you would probably be better off over at the main resort area).

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View room when you book so your Jacuzzi looks over the slopes not the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you so much for bringing your family to stay with us at The Caledonian. We appreciate you so much and hope to see you next time you come to Park City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just got back from 5 nights here over New Year's. What a find! We stayed in room 202 and couldn't have been happier. The condo is gorgeous - it was a one bedroom with a King bed, another day bed and a sleeper couch. 2 levels, 2 full bathrooms, washer dryer and a hot tub on the balcony. Literally next door to the park city town lift (not usuable if you can't ski blues though). Free shuttle service to Deer Valley and Park City mountain, as well as other nearby locations (e.g., they took us snow shoeing nearby and to the grocery store). Will store your ski's for you in the lobby so you don't have to schelp them. Only negatives were we regularly ran out of hot water during our showers, our room was near the bar so we could hear the music playing at night. And the big no-no was the place stored our bags for us the day we had a late flight. We told the desk attendant what time we would be back (before 10pm, when they went off duty) and when we got back at 9:45 she had left the bags just out for us, and anyone could take them/ Besides that rather large snafu, we did really enjoy our trip and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalcitizen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we appreciate the feedback. Unit 202 is a great unit and has a fun view of the mountains. The free shuttle is one of the great features The Caledonian has during the winter ski season and we are glad you took advantage of it. We had issues with our water tank and it has since been replaced. We have not seen any issues with hot water since then. I apologize you had an issue with your bags. I will be sure to discuss this with my staff to prevent any further incidents. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will choose The Caeldonian for any future stays in Park City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

You can't beat this location for easy access to the Town Lift, restaurants and walking to Main Street. The easy to access underground parking makes this the place to stay! Eric was great about making sure my trip was a success. Now if he can only guarentee about a foot of freshies everyday I may never leave!

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the mountain and the Town Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Hello Mike, not only is it easy access to the Town Lift, The Caledonian is as close as you can get to it. We pride ourselves in providing outstand customer service and are happy to hear it was a part of making you stay a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Caledonian for our anniversary and it could not have been better. The hotel itself if conveniently located on Main St. which puts you within walking distance of all the major bars and restaurants. The room was very clean and well outfitted. The beds and pillows were very comfortable which isn't always the case in a hotel. We had a private hot tub on our deck overlooking Main St. which was amazing. Very fun! My husband had some time sensitive business that had to be faxed and the staff went out of their way to make sure that they helped us get that out in a timely manner. We really appreciated that. We also loved the fact that we had access to the underground parking which meant we didn't have to contend with paying for parking or worrying about finding a spot which can be touch on Main St. depending on the time of year.

I would highly recommend The Caledonian.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniMorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Anni, our location alone is one of many reasons to stay at The Caledonian. There are no additional fees for parking and you get your own reserved spot in the gated section of the garage. Like you said, parking can be difficult in downtown Park City. The Caledonian's gated parking is one less thing to worry about for our guest. Thank you for pointing these features out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#7 of 60 in Park City
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Washington School House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Treasure Mountain Inn Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Main & SKY
Main & SKY
#33 of 60 in Park City
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caledonian

Address: 751 Main St, Park City, UT 84060-5103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Park City
Price Range: £145 - £1,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Caledonian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Ideally located on Park City's Historic Main Street - and directly beside the landmark Town chairlift that services Park City Mountain Resort - this legendary mountain retreat is second-to-none in luxury offerings and boasts some of the most decadent vacationing and entertaining spaces in the area.

Guests may choose from 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom condos with fully-furnished kitchens, private balcony hot tubs, large fireplaces, and spacious floor plans ranging from 1000 square feet to 2700 square feet. Stepping outside, guests will find all of the famous boutiques, restaurants, galleries, and nightlife of Park City at our doorstep - with Butcher's Chop House conveniently located on The Caledonian's ground floor, and Kristauf's Martini Bar next

Of course, complimentary shuttle service is offered to both Deer Valley Resort and Canyons Resort as well as many other local destinations, and our concierge is standing by to provide any additional services you may require during your stay.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian Hotel Park City
The Caledonian Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing