We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Caledonian
Woodside, California
1 review
“A pleasant surprise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had been coming to Park City for 15 years and somehow never noticed the Caledonian. What a pleasant surprise. The building and furnishings are high end. The downtown location is terrific with a ski lift right outside, all of the Park City restaurants on the same street, and convenient underground parking. But the best feature is the customer service. The property is run by a management company that is genuinely friendly and eager to please. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We just stayed at the Caledonian this January and have to say we will be back. From the time we arrived the reception staff were super helpful, always greeting you when you arrived back into the hotel asking you how your day was and if we needed anything.
Our condo was a great surprise, really spacious for our family of 4, massive lounge area with a huge flat screen tv and nice fire place. Great kitchen with modern appliances. Compy beds and pillows. We had a condo over looking Main St with a spa pool and that was a great way to end the day and some people watching. We would sit out there with the snow falling...its was perfect.
The one thing I will say is that if you are looking at going for the day to another ski resort DO NOT use a company called Canyon Hop, the owner Mike would have to be the most rudest person I have ever come across, I won't go into detail but just trust me. There are other companies out there you might pay more but at least you won't have to deal with him.
We loved our stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

A conference in Deer Valley led us to arrive a few days early and enjoy Park City. We opted not to rent a car and stay on Main Street. Through the HomeAway website we found a one bedroom condo at The Caledonian. We were greeted by the concierge who gave us codes for the parking garage, elevator and door. He also provided info on the "off season" discounts offered by area restaurants and shops.
The second/third floor condo was clean and comfortably furnished. Downstairs, an open kitchen/living area with gas fireplace and balcony with a hot tub plus a powder room and laundry machines, upstairs, a comfortable bedroom and bath.
We started with a map and walked to a nearby liquor store and hopped a free public bus to a Fresh Market for a couple of items. Once back at the Caledonian, we checked out galleries, shops and ended up back at The Caledonian for cocktails and hors d'oeuvres at Butcher's, on the first floor.
For the few days we stayed there, we were able to walk for all our needs. The Caledonian is right next to the town lift which can take skiers right over the mountain to the Park City Resort.
If I could have any complaints about this place, it would be that the WiFi connection was not great. That is something that could be easily remedied.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaroleFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Planned my 60th birthday to spend our first summer in Park City. We have skied there for 15+ years, but never the summer experience. Booked 2 full weeks at the penthouse facing Main Street. Upon arrival, the A/C was not working.....first night in August was a bite rough on my wife and I, but the management did a great job fixing it before my son and daughter arrived. Woke up the next day to the sewer system backing up and made 3 of the 4 bathrooms not operable....fun for (5) people to share.....then all the plugs went out in the bathrooms as well. Took (3) days to fix both problem, with various repair guys in and out. Hot tube broke later in week, but by now, you get the drift. Hotel management did great to help, but the leasing agent (Utopian LVH...3rd name in as many years) took zero resposibility for the property. Guess buyer beware. Our hope for a wonderful vacation turned into an expensive leason in "beware who you rent from!"

Room Tip: Try to book on the Main Steet side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
I want to first thank you for coming to stay with us at The Caledonian in beautiful Park city Utah. I'm also sorry that you didn't book with us directly. In the future please call The Caledonian front desk directly to avoid booking through a third party. If you had booked directly through us, then we could have moved you to a different condo and discussed compensation. The issues that you had are not typical of any condo or the building itself. The owner of that particular condominium had just stayed there the weekend before you checked in. He told me that it was the best stay they had ever had.
I also wanted to point out that all the issues you mentioned in your review were resolved within hours of you reporting them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at the Caledonian in Old Town Park City for three nights while we visited the City and surrounding area. The hotel, actually individually owned units, was perfect for exploring down town located at the base of Main Street . The unit had two levels, two bathrooms , a hot tub and a balcony overlooking the street. The building has a great restaurant, Butchers right in the building.. I recommend both. PS , we are not skiers so cannot say how the location is for the slopes.

Room Tip: The décor of our unit was a little odd but plenty of DVD/CD's choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedandtre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Caledonian, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so I can raise the next review to 5 out of 5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I always try to stay at The Caledonian when coming to Park City. The condos are great with all ammenities and the customer service is great, always feel welcomed. Best place to stay!!!! The Location is just perfect, right on lower Main st and restaurants all around. Great Views!!! Love the Hot Tub facing Main st.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Caledonian. Our family has stayed in many different Park City rentals, including some spectacular houses, but the experience of being right in the center of town and literally having the lift at your front door was new to us – and I wonder if we will ever go anywhere else after this! Our unit was a two bedroom duplex that is a very spacious, corner unit and flooded with light during the day. It has a beautiful kitchen – granite countertops, well equipped. Everything is very well maintained. The furniture and bedding, etc were not super high-end but perfectly comfortable. The hot tub on the balcony overlooking Main street was also fun – it is absolutely delightful looking out over the charming town at night. Being just steps away from any restaurant was also fabulous. Everyone on the staff is wonderfully friendly. We highly recommend the Caledonian. Barbara Bruns, Potomac, MD

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main & SKY
Main & SKY
#24 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.2 mi away
Washington School House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caledonian

Property: The Caledonian
Address: 751 Main St, Park City, UT 84060-5103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Caledonian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Ideally located on Park City's Historic Main Street - and directly beside the landmark Town chairlift that services Park City Mountain Resort - this legendary mountain retreat is second-to-none in luxury offerings and boasts some of the most decadent vacationing and entertaining spaces in the area.

Guests may choose from 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom condos with fully-furnished kitchens, private balcony hot tubs, large fireplaces, and spacious floor plans ranging from 1000 square feet to 2700 square feet. Stepping outside, guests will find all of the famous boutiques, restaurants, galleries, and nightlife of Park City at our doorstep - with Butcher's Chop House conveniently located on The Caledonian's ground floor, and Kristauf's Martini Bar next

Of course, complimentary shuttle service is offered to both Deer Valley Resort and Canyons Resort as well as many other local destinations, and our concierge is standing by to provide any additional services you may require during your stay.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian Hotel Park City
The Caledonian Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing