We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey plus only some of the Bourbon is theirs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of High West Distillery & Saloon

High West Distillery & Saloon
Ranked #4 of 265 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come visit Utah's first distillery since the 1870's, and the only ski-in gastro-distillery in the world. Located in Old Town Park City, at the bottom of Quit N' Time ski run and next to the Town Lift. High West Distillery and Saloon is an intimate gathering place serving nouveau Western fare, a full selection of fine wine and spirits, and our own small-batch, mountain-crafted, award-winning whiskeys and vodkas.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
273 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pricey plus only some of the Bourbon is theirs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Tasted 3 bourbons. Ok but not outstanding. Apparently only the unaged rye is actually their product according to my server. We had the tri tip small plate with an emphasis on small. Meat was good. Slaw was very spicey. Should serve with some bread to help balance the heat. Butterscotch desert was good. Overall an ok if Procrustes place. Service was very good. I would not return as I expect a distillery to have more of their own product.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighWest, Guest Relations Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear jcjr2...

Ted Russell here, the Customer Service Manager. I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post review and share your feedback. We certainly appreciate your thoughts and will be digging to to our gaps to provide a more consistent 5 star experience across the board. I also wanted to share some comments from our distiller Brendan regarding our whiskey's and why all of them are not our own. Thanks again for your comments.

jcjr2, thanks for the feedback.

As a small, new distillery (started in december of 2007) we would love the opportunity to feature more of our own make spirits in our blended whiskies, but unfortunately it takes years to properly prepare and age a high quality whiskey. We've been putting whiskey away to age regularly since 2010 and we'll be using it our blends as soon as they mature to the proper flavor balance. We're blenders at heart and believe that you can create great whiskies by way of blending unique individual whiskies in a complex way, thereby achieving a flavor profile that is greater than the sum of its parts. Because of this, we will always purchase different whiskies from other distilleries to use in our blends as it gives us more options and opportunities to create great products. Some whiskies we can't make on our type of still, and these are the very whiskies we search out in the market place when looking for blending agents. In the same respect, the whiskies we've been putting away to age over the years are very different than those we acquire. Throughout the industry, you'll find out that this practice of sharing and trading whiskies from distillery to distillery is very common practice, especially in Scotland. Beyond that, the wine industry behaves the very same way. Cheers to the trade.

Best Regards,

Brendan Coyle

High West Distillery
Lead Distiller
brendanc@highwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    391
    119
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fresno
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible service..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went in ordered a beer and soda left to eat. We came back to watch world series was going to order another beer. Waiter approached us and said you can't sit here as we were sitting to order. Someone walked in with a jamba juice cup and I watched to see if he ordered from the bar or grill he didn't but he was allowed to stay..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valley 48...

I want to personally apologize for the poor service you received on Sunday night. Being a Cardinals fan and wanting to watch Game 4 on our big screen was an important part of your evening for sure. While our low tables in the dining room are for guests eating in the restaurant, clearly we failed at communicating this appropriately. In an effort to deliver exceptional service, we do allow servers and management wiggle room when the time is right and perhaps this was an opportunity missed with you and your party.

We do appreciate you taking the time post your review as we are constantly searching for ways to improve. Direct customer feedback is critical, both good and bad.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we do invite you to give us a second chance to make a first impression on your next visit to Park City.

Sincerely,

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

It took two tries but we finally got into the High West Distillery and Saloon. The food and service were excellent. Nice decor - great vibe. Equally good choice for a family get-together or for a date. The Small Plate Short Rib was delicious. My dining companion enjoyed his Bison Burger. One thing to note - we shared the peppers done two ways for our appetizer and you should know that if you don't like spicy - you will probably not enjoy them. The serving is large and it gets your mouth quite tingly after you have a few. Lots of flavor but not for everyone. I noticed someone at the next table enjoying a large pretzel for their appetizer with some type of dip. We thought we'd probably try that next time as we think it will pair well when sampling their whiskies. Don't be afraid to try this great restaurant. I know we'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PixieVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Pixie Vivi...

Thanks for your persistence! We're pleased we were able to accommodate your party on food, service and vibe fronts. - each are critical. Thanks also for the detailed review of the short rib (a house favorite) and shishito's. The fresh made pretzel and a fine whiskey are awaiting your return visit from Vancouver.

Until then, thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review on your High West experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food in the best (and only) Park City distillery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We frequently go here to eat, as we have a second home in PC; both the main restaurant and bar are wonderful, with the bar being more family oriented. It is uniquely situated in two refurbished mine town houses, with the distillery connecting them. They serve "flights" of their bourbons and whiskeys, and they're fun to try. We have not done the tour, but hear good things. Warning: During the ski season it is very popular and hard to get into!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melisse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Melisse B...

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts around High West as a "home away from home." We're thrilled to be here for you during your Park City stays and that we've been able to deliver a consistent experience that keeps you coming back.

If you can fit a tour in your schedule next time you're in town, they're highly educational around the place and all things whiskey, especially ours! They're free to the public at 3 & 4 PM and can be made through our reservationist or in person.

Please introduce yourself on your next visit: we're always looking to make new friends!

Thanks again for your review and kind words.

Cheers...Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great find in Park City.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Had dinner there with my wife,brother, sister in law and niece last night. The elk, pork chop and bison rib eye were amazing. The elk may have been the best ever. The chef was very accommodating and responded to our emails inquiring about Menu specials for the evening. This is our second visit to High West and our experience was consistent with our previous outing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Martin...

First off, thanks for coming back and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're pleased your experiences have been consistently good and that your entrees the other night exceeded your expectations - we love to hear " may have been best ever" as a descriptor! We'll also pass along your compliments to the chef for being responsive prior to your meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Park City and delivering a great experience to you and your guests. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor!

Sincerely...

Ted Russell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High West Distillery & Saloon also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to High West Distillery & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing