We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing despite some small annoyances”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Amazing despite some small annoyances”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with simply amazing service almost too much amazing service. Everyone has been well trained to see to it that the guests have a wonderful trip and some fun added bonuses especially if traveling with children. During ski season afternoon s'mores and hot chocolate was always a great après ski hit. The photographer snapping fun photos and leaving pics in the room and the wonderful Paintbox children's club resulted in our children asking when we will be back.

Learning curve for us on being our first trip to this hotel. Ski valet upon check in will take all skis and boots. Having a boot bag for each child separated it was a small annoyance to find all bag contents put into one large bag in a locker had to sort everything again. I will keep my boot bag next trip. Also we use sport tubes for our skis, I will repack my tubes at end of next trip sine they were not packed properly and some small items were lost.

Second learning curve, this hotel is a long way away frome everything. If you have children in ski school and pick them up at end of the school all lifts are closed before you can navigate your way back. We would pick them up in Silver Lake after their last hot chocolate break, about an hour early. Depending on age and ski skills of the child it takes about 20 min of skiing in AM to traverse across to ski school drop off.

Finally transportation service is painful. When they say car is 10 min out, we joked that it's a Montage 10 min, which means anywhere from 5 min to 40 min. We will use more private transportation next trip.

As stated while those were minor annoyances the service and quality is so great they offset what ever annoyances there are and we now know how to navigate those issues. We did find it helpful to carry a lot of $5 and $10 bills because everyone is trying so hard to help we found we were always tipping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    97
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
282
214
18
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visit Deer Valley every year for a ski vacation. We usually stay at Stein Erikson, but this year wanted to try something new. The resort is absolutely breath taking and simply gorgeous. We had a king room overlooking the mountain. The view was stunning. The room beautifully appointed and the amenities lovely. Daily buffet at Apex was great. We had delicious burgers at Burgers and Bourbon. Not a great meal at Daleys, and the noise of kids dropping bowling balls every few minutes makes it the wrong place for a romantic meal. The food was disappointing at best. With a few customer service issues and a valet issues, we asked to speak to the manager, David Mars. He truly did a phenomenal job in correcting the issues and making sure the rest of our stay was perfection. A truly professional way to handle a customer's complaints, which made our decision to return next year an easy one. The spa is lovely. The pool and gym are incredible and the skiing top notch. All in all. It was a gorgeous and memorable stay and we can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Montage Deer Valley really puts all other Ski In Ski Out Hotels to Shame- This resort group has not missed a trick- Rooms are large and comfortable, Service is Outstanding, Food and Restaurant Choices are great and they have the best Ski Valet we have ever seen. They warm your boots overnight and they put them on for you and take them off if you wish. They unpack and pack up your skis and poles, and they have a 24 hour shuttle to most of Park City Attractions - If you want a 5-6 Star Ski Resort Hotel with a Mountain to match- Montage Deer Valley is the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Lobby Side of the hotel and try a one bedroom sutie-
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hotel is still one of the best I have stayed at. This was my families 3rd trip to the hotel and we will be back later this year. Christmas week was very busy and the staff handled it well. We had one bad morning in the boot room but overall it is still the best boot room experience of all the resorts I have been at. We had some issues with the HVAC equipment in the room which they attended to several times but they never fully resolved the issue. We were also on the 1st floor and the floor was very cold with a draft. We have stayed on other floors in different sections of the building and not had the same issue. I am not sure the cause of the draft but it did effect the rooms.
Hotel is still great and we will return but for the prices that are charged everything should be top notch.

Room Tip: Stay off the 1st floor it is the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getoutoftown0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is our third time taking a family vacation at the Montage resort after Christmas over New Years. While our first year was fantastic, we had some bumps in the road last year that we discussed with management. This year we were very pleased that management has gotten the Montage service back on track and we had a wonderful stay.
First, I always like to lead my reviews with other places we have stayed for comparison purposes. We typically travel to 5 star resorts including the Grand Del Mar, Viceroy Anguilla, St. Regis Bal harbor, Four Seasons Nevis, Elysian and Trump in Chicago, Trump Soho, to name a few. The Montage Deervalley is at the top of our list and year after year competes for our favorite destination. We travel with our 3 children and our in-laws who also have 2 children. The montage has done a magnifisant job of thinking of everything for a family ski vacation.
First, the skier services are amazing. You walk down in your montage slippers, the assistance take your slippers and bring your boots to you, put them on, give you your helmet and you are on your way--all while enjoying your coffee. This level of service takes away all the pain of skiing with younger children. Gone are the days of crabby kids and gumpiness while trying to get everyone onto to the ski hill. One the way in at the end of the day, they pop your skies off for you and then you walk in and they take your boots off, bring you a cookie and hot cider and your warm slippers. Its heavenly.
Daly's is their more casual dining option that has a bowling alley, video games, shuffle board, all in a classy lodgey setting with great food and drinks.
We ate at Apex for breakfast everyday at the buffet and it was convientant and easy as well as delicious.
Since we were there over the busy holidays, we were unable to get reservations at offsight restaurants, so Tim Flowers was great to work with getting dining options set up at the resort. He was able to get us a seating at Yama, the sushi restaurant New Years eve, which was a fixed menu and very delicious. We then at Yama again on Thursday evening and were able to also order the fondue from the lounge area, which the kids loved.
Our final night was an amazing dinner at Apex-with great wine and terrific service. The steaks were cooked perfectly and everything was great.
We love this resort. The smores for the kids every day at 4, coupled with the hot cider cocktails for the adults is a great touch.
The residences are spacious, clean, beautifully appointed.
We also love the gym/spa. My sister-in-law who comes with us does not ski and spends her day in the gym and loves every minute of it. The classes are great and the services, steam room, hot tub are all super relaxing.
A few notable staff-we love Fea in the gym. Big Rob in security is outstanding. Super personable and was often a great asset to our trip. Marcus Jackson, the GM, was very responsive and receptive to our issues from the year before. Tracy McCarrol and Kimi were helpful in arranging prearrival groceries. And Manuel in the spa was super attentive to our children when they were using the pool and hot tub during family swim hours-even bringing them ice cream. We really appreciated Manuel's attention to our children-often children get over-looked. That really shows how classy of a person he is.
Thanks for making this stay another memorable family holiday. We look forward to coming back next year.
Each year we also see many famous celebrities during our stay, who I am sure would appreciate remaining nameless-but star sightings are always a fun part of our trip.
We won't take our ski trip anywhere else.

Room Tip: the residence rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoLambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went over Christmas and cannot say enough about the staff at the Montage. They are easily "5 star +". I would put them up against any 5 star hotel in a big city. The skiing is first rate. The rooms at the Montage and new, warm and well appointed. The food is excellent: Apex is your best choice. Vista Lounge is good for wine and apps by the fire. Yama Sushi was a little disappointing because they only have one sushi chef so it's impossible to live up to what the concept should be…that one they should reconsider. For a quick casual bite, Burgers & Bourbon is also solid choice. The spa is stunning and the technicians really know what they are doing. If only every hotel trained their staff this well…or hired people this talented. Montage Deer Valley is not cheap, but in this case, you truly get what you pay for. Great for couples or families.

Room Tip: Well designed, you really can't end up in a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Everyone at Park City tells you that you HAVE to go see the Montage. They tell you that this place is an amazing place to look at and beautfully appointed. So, on our last night at Park City we decided to stop by after dinner to see what all the hype was about. As we drove into the property, we were amazed to see all the festive trees, beautifully lighted, making the whole place seem magical. We walked into the lobby and went up the stairs to find a grand area for people to sit and enjoy playing games with friends and family, drinking and relaxing, after a great day of skiing. There was an amazingly larger than life ginger bread house. In the grand lounge area with beautiful couches and seats, live music, and a roaring fireplace, we sat down. We wanted to have coffee and dessert, but the place was packed. The staff seemed overwhelmed. When I flagged down a server to send someone to our table, he was frazzled but still amazingly attentive and caring. We finally got someone to come over to our table and the server took our order. We got our coffee but half an hour after getting the coffee, still no dessert. No server in sight. The evening seemed to wear on. We just left a few dollars in cash for the coffee and left. For such a hotsy totsy place with such a great reputation, we were disappointed. Oh well... maybe next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foolsgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.2 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.3 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#5 of 60 in Park City
572 reviews
2.5 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#4 of 60 in Park City
672 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Property: Montage Deer Valley
Address: 9100 Marsac Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#3 Spa Hotel in Park City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Prestigia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing