We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Deer Valley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Deer Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a really great property located high up the mountain in Deer Valley. Our room was spacious and clean with a very large bath and great shower and nice views of the mountains. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. We particularly liked having our ski boots emerge warmed every day from storage. This would be a five star review but for some drawback issues. Housekeeping was odd - arriving at times that made no sense - even walking into the room after we were already asleep for turn down service. While generally helpful, ski storage never quite worked out so that our skis were waiting for us when we were ready to go. Everyone was eager to please and friendly but there are still kinks that need to be resolved before this can be a five star property.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Derek P:

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Montage Deer Valley with TripAdvisor members. We appreciate your enthusiasm for our location, friendly staff, culinary experience at breakfast and our skier services. I'm sorry that you experienced difficulty with housekeeping and ski storage and hope you will contact me directly so that I can assist you with your next visit to Park City. Again, thank you for joining us at Montage Deer Valley.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    95
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
274
211
18
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I travel for a living, as I am in the events industry and see hundreds of hotels worldwide - and this is by far my favorite overall hotel experience I've had. From the check-in process, to the room product, food and beverage, and customer service - the 'best of the best.'

On top of that, the amenities that the hotels offers with their spa, pool, music, activities on-site, skiing, owning and operating their own ski rental shop - we never had a shortage of things to fill our day.

I'll look forward to coming back as often as I can - whether it be in the winter OR the summer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Justin A:

Thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiastic review of Montage Deer Valley with TripAdvisor members. We appreciate your thoughtful comments about our resort amenities, skier services, spa and culinary experiences. We aspire to be the 'best of the best' and your comments let us know we are on the right track! We look forward to welcoming you back this summer and seeing you again next ski season.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent 6 days at the Montage in February 2014 which is an ideal ski in ski out base for the Deer Valley resort. We booked on the recommendation of a friend who has stayed several times - for pleasure and also uses the hotel to host client events. It was nice but not what we normally expect from a 5 star hotel charging the rates that they do. All staff were friendly enough - although top praise has to be reserved for the boot valets and the ski reservation staff who were delightful, chatty, helpful and always smiling. The room was big and spotlessly clean so nothing to complain about here. We ate in Burgers & Bourbon which got a gold star for the waiting staff but although the burger was excellent, it was cold - disappointing. We also ate in Daly's pub - where two of our party had the chicken pie, unfortunately someone had forgotten to add chicken to the sauce! A meal at Apex was more successful, the fish was superb. Breakfast at Apex was excellent - just the ticket to set you up for ski ing - however the waiting staff could do with being a bit more cheerful. We had drinks at the bar most nights - full marks to the friendly bartender. One night there was no space so we sat in the main lounge - we waiting for over 20mins to be served and my husband had to chase the order twice before it arrived after a wait of 35 mins. Yes the area was busy but this is totally unacceptable in a 5 star hotel - note to manager you know the numbers in, bring in more staff. We complained and profuse apologies were offered...... we still had to pay the bill. It is very expensive to stay here but it didn't feel special enough to think it was value for money. It was ok, I was expecting to be bowled over not underwhelmed. Sorry.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueflossy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Blueflossy13:

Thank you for staying with us in February and for sharing your review of our hotel with TripAdvisor members. We very much appreciate the recognition you provided about our outstanding location for true ski-in/ski-out access to Deer Valley Resort and thank you for your complimentary words about our large rooms, APEX restaurant, friendly staff and ski valet service. I also appreciate your warm comments about our breakfast offerings and our outstanding bartenders. As you noted, we are very disappointed when we fall short of any guest expectation and I hope you will contact me directly so that I can assist you personally with any future reservation in Park City.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

this is for the Spa only: my friends and I came here for a spa relaxation after skiing/boarding. We used the hot tubs, pool, steam room, sauna and everything was just wonderful - from check in till the time we left.
beautiful lockers with slippers and comfy robes, great showers, very nice small snack bar (granola bars, dried fruit, lemon-rosemary water and various revolution teas) inside the relaxation room - it totally made us want to stay at the hotel!
minor drawback: the indoor and outdoor tubs/pools are not on the same floor, it´s a bit awkward going past the (very nice) bar area in your robe to get to and from the hot tubs.
Note that steam and sauna are inside the locker rooms, not co-ed.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mupsi212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear mupsi212:

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Spa Montage Deer Valley with TripAdvisor members. We appreciate your comments about the beautiful facility and the amenities and would very much look forward to welcoming you back for another spa visit or an overnight stay.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this property. Our experience started out excellent...our reservations agent (Stella) and planning (Marina with guest relations) before arriving was top notch and we were looking so forward to our stay. Upon arrival, wonderful...we had reserved a Resort King and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to our room to find that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom residence....wow...gorgeous and very much appreciated. After that.... the rest of our stay was just average...food, service for the rest of our stay except the ski valet (terrific) and one evening meal at Apex (food wonderful), seemed as though it was what you would expect at any Sheraton, Hilton, etc. For the prices being charged, it was not what I would expect. We have stayed at the Montage at Laguna Beach, Trump Chicago, Mandarin Oriental San Francisco, to name a few that were over the top on service and experience, which in turn made the prices worth every penny...here I would say they need to take note from these properties. It can be that and more...but just not quite there, so that is why I couldn't give an excellent rating. If you are wanting excellent location to the ski slopes and luxurious surroundings stay here, but if you are wanting over the top service to go along with prices being charged...look else where. I think our next trip to Deer Valley, we may try St. Regis or Stein Eriksen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear wdm73:

Thank you for staying with us at Montage Deer Valley and for taking the time to share your review with TripAdvisor members. We appreciate your observations about excellent skier services and APEX Restaurant and am glad to read that you enjoyed the two-bedroom residence. I am very disappointed to read that we did not provide you the kind of 'over the top' service that you have come to expect. We do make every effort to exceed guest expectations and should you wish to stay with us on a future visit to Park City, I hope you will contact me personally so that I can see to it that you have the experience you expect and deserve. Again, our sincere appreciation for your joining us at Montage Deer Valley and we wish you wonderful travel experiences ahead this year!

With gratitude,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our third visit to the Montage Deer Valley. The location is great for skiing Deer Valley, and access to the Empire lift. The service at the hotel is 5 star, and the staff is terrific. The sushi restaurant is very enjoyable and the chefs; Eric and Raina are the BEST!
I have one complaint which is why I am giving 4 stars instead of 5. The hotel is VERY corporate, and as an individual you may be disappointed. On our arrival (Sunday) we made reservations for the sushi restaurant for the upcoming Monday and Friday nights. The sushi is our children's favorite place and one of the reasons we choose the hotel (they love Eric and Raina). Our reservation was confirmed, and we had a great meal on Monday. We stopped by to say hi to the chefs on Tuesday night and we were informed that our Friday night reservation was cancelled due to a corporate "buyout". I understand the economics, but this was VERY disappointing and there was not even an apology, nothing.
Also, there will be large corporate groups at the hotel which overwhelm the ski valets, and the breakfast area, which can be annoying when you are trying to get on the mountain.
So, if you are looking for charm, character and personal attention look elsewhere. If you are looking for a great location, lots of amenities, and great service (mostly) and don't mind being in a corporate environment then you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailsurfgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear sailsurfgolf:

Thank you for staying with us for a THIRD visit! We appreciate your comments and thoughtful observations. I want to apologize for the fact that we had a group on property during your most recent stay which occupied one of your favorite Montage experiences - Yama Sushi. I hope that you will contact me directly prior to a future stay so that I can make sure all of our five restaurants will be available to you and your family throughout the dates you are planning to visit Park City. We very much appreciate your kind words about the wonderful Eric and Raina and I will be sure to share your enthusiastic comments with them. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Montage Deer Valley.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Montage Deer Valley is one of the larger resort properties at Deer Valley, of which there are many, and I think it's fair to say that this is one of the best.

Rooms: Large, updated, great construction and appliances / electronics. Even standard rooms have a massive bathroom, tub and walk-in rain shower. The first floor rooms near the foyer area can be a bit loud if there is live music, which happens daily during apres ski.

Facilities: Excellent restaurants, pool, hot tubs, workout facilities and sitting areas. If you're looking for a place to drop your kids off to be entertained, try Daly's Pub where a complete bowling alley, arcade and gaming setup will keep them going for hours on end.

Location: At the base of the Empire lift, this property probably has one of the best locations at Deer Valley for more difficult terrain and technical skiers. It's a bit of a windy drive up to the property, but the same is true for St. Regis and Stein Ericksen.

Service: Overall positive and attentive service. If you're there when a large event is happening, the staff may be a bit flustered but always genuinely trying to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Philip E:

Thank you for joining us at Montage Deer Valley and for taking the time to share your thoughtful observations with TripAdvisor members. It is clear you have traveled extensively and we especially appreciate your comments about our unique location for a true ski-in/ski-out experience, special room and bath amenities, service levels and dining options. I hope you will think of us again on a future visit to Park City. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.2 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.3 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.4 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
2.4 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#7 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Property: Montage Deer Valley
Address: 9100 Marsac Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Spa Hotel in Park City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing