We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, outstanding service”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We could not have asked for better accomodations. The room was spacious well appointed and perfectly located for a fabulous ski weekend. The staff was friendly courteous prompt and truly went the extra mile

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhurley999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

Everyone in our family who used the hot tub got a bacterial infection of the skin. We learned later that this is common in hot tubs that are not properly maintained. Our rooms were also not cleaned consistently. If you notice all the recent reviews they have a common theme of poor service, maintenance and cleanliness. Too bad. Its a great location, but wear your hazmat suits and bring your own cleaning products! I complained to management and never heard a response. There are better , nicer and cheaper places to stay in DV.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here, it was filthy.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

First let me apologize for your experience last April at Black Bear Lodge. It sounds like a very challenging vacation for you and your family. Our company, ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals is the new Front Desk Manager as of June of 2011. While we were not the manager at the time of your stay, I still am sorry for issues that had. You mention in your review that members of your party received an infection from use of the hot tub. For that I apologize. While we did not service your unit during your stay last year, we do service the hot tubs under our rental management multiple times per week to insure their safety. In addition, upon assuming the management of the units at Black Bear, we conducted thorough deep cleans of each unit in our rental pool. For many units this included replacing the grout in many of the bathrooms. Should you return to Deer Valley, we would love the opportunity to earn back your business, and show you the changes we have made at Black Bear Lodge.

Thank you

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This was our first trip to Utah and Deer Valley- we stayed here at the recommendation of friends and overall were very pleased. Our unit was beautifully decorated appointed, had a fantastic view of the slopes and was in easy walking distance of Snow Park Village and the lifts. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, but the overall service was just OK. We stayed 4 nights- the first day the housekeeping staff never came. We called the front desk, they apologized profusely and offered to send up clean towels. The second day was fine. The third day the housekeepers didn't show up until 4:00.
The unit itself was gorgeous! One of the porch doors had a broken lock and one of the bathroom windows also didn't close all the way. I reported this to the front desk and the next day a handyman came and repaired both while we were out. We had our own hot tub, so did not use the pool. We enjoyed the parking garage since we had a rental car. Internet (wifi) was a little spotty in the unit, although it was fine in the lobby.
I ranked sleep quality as less than perfect because the higher altitude at mid-mountain definitely affected our sleep, as we were told it might. We just sleep more lightly- but the unit was quiet.I

Room Tip: Unit 310 is really nice
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeMMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We did stay in Black Bear and were very disappointed. Nobody clean our rooms, nobody change our towels or taking rubbish away. There was mould everywhere in our bathrooms and my friends even found a suspecious things in their bed! We decided that nobody changed the beds from previous guests.
Swimming pool was always closed. If you want to use it you need to unroll the cover by yourself - not very welcoming.

We travel a lot and never seen such a messy hotel!

When we complained it's not really helped.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Dear Guest,

First let me apologize for your experience last March at Black Bear Lodge. It sounds like a very challenging experience for you and your family. Our company, ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals is the new Front Desk Manager as of June of 2011. While we were not the manager at the time of your stay, I still am sorry for issues that had. You mention in your review that there was mold in the bathrooms. One step that we took upon assuming the management was thorough deep cleans of each unit under our management at Black Bear. For many units this included replacing the grout in many of the bathrooms. I also apologize that you did not receive daily housekeeping service during your stay. This is an amenity that we offer during the winter season. Should you return to Deer Valley, we would love the opportunity to earn back your business, and show you the changes we have made at Black Bear Lodge.

Best regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My family stayed at Black Bear Lodge for 5 nights last week. It was perfect! We like to stay in very nice hotels so I'm always concerned when I rent something online. Our unit was beautiful. I know that some of the units are not as updated as others so you need to really look at the pictures online. We enjoyed maid service every day and free transportation to Park City restaurants, grocery store, etc The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a 3 minute walk to the lifts. I did lots of research before our trip and I believe that Black Bear Lodge is the best deal in the Silver Lake area and you can't beat the location! We are definitely going back next year.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank PhoenixAzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This was my 3rd time staying at Black Bear Lodge. I have stayed there for leisure and business. The staff was kind and courteous. The condos are cozy, inviting, comfortable, clean and have all the amenities one might need. Our room had a hot tub, fireplace, jetted tubs and flat screen TVs. Went to sleep at night watching the cats groom the mountain for the next day. Not certain it gets any better. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meghixs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed for a week in March to ski the Park City area. Convenience of Black Bear is great. Just a short walk to lifts, shopping and dining at Deer Valley which is a really nice ski resort - just beautiful. Underground parking was handy. We rented from Resorts West and must say was disappointed with cleanliness of rooms (and I am not a neat/clean freak or a typical complainer). Had a 2 BR 3 Bath condo. Master Bath shower curtain was moldy on the bottom and grout in MB shower was molding as well. Coffee pot had mold on it when I lifted the lid to put water in. Crusted urine at bottom of toilets that no one bothered to clean off and there was a big blood spot on floor at bottom of my son's toilet (yuck)!! Countertops in kitchen and all baths is tile with grout and grout was very dirty. Paid over $600 a night and this should not happen at any price. Had a hot tub on balcony but no robes which was disappointing. Had a beautiful view of the Deer Valley slopes but windows were filthy. Front desk people were not very knowledgable of surrounding area. Pop machine was empty whole week. I did call Resorts West upon return and Management was going to tour the property to inspect and I'm hoping the cleanliness issue will be cleared up ASAP. My biggest problem with Black Bear Lodge that is out of anyone's control is that the walls are very thin and we could hear people above us and next to us talking as if they were in our room with us. Very creepy. If staying here, make sure you are on the very top floor and an end unit - maybe that would cut down on the noise. If you ski at Deer Valley make sure you go to the Stein Erikson Lodge for their daily skier's buffet from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. - is located in the Silver Lake area and well worth the price - very good food and just a beautiful authentic lodge (Stein Erikson).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvlabs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsWestPC, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer this feedback regarding your stay at Black Bear Lodge and for reaching out to us after your departure. This invaluable insight is extremely important to us, and we take the issues you experienced seriously. We have inspected the property to make it right for the next guest, and we deeply regret that these issues were not brought to our attention during your stay so we could solve them for you immediately. We are truly sorry that your stay did not reflect the experience that the majority of our guests enjoy, and we would love to have you back in Park City with the offer we extended to show you a more typical Resorts West experience. Please feel free to contact us to further discuss your stay. We value your business, and we are listening.

Sincerely,

Stacy Bauman
Resorts West General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Goldener Hirsch Inn
Goldener Hirsch Inn
#25 of 60 in Park City
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trail's End Lodge
Trail's End Lodge
#28 of 60 in Park City
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lodges at Deer Valley
Lodges at Deer Valley
#16 of 60 in Park City
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
694 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range: £139 - £1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing