We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stay”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family of 4 traveled to Deer Valley, UT for Spring Break with good friends (family of 5) and shared 2 condos at Black Bear Lodge. We loved the mid mountain location, just across from Silver Lake Village and the lifts. The condos were spacious and well appointed with good quality furnishings and appliances. The children enjoyed the outdoor hot tub on the deck. The adults appreciated the friendly and helpful staff who were gracious and helpful with tips and advice during our visit. And Bruce, the driver, was fabulous and took us to and from our lunch and dinner outings in style! Would recommend to anyone who wants a fabulous experience in Deer Valley.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JWLMontgomery_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

The upper floor units with a private hot tub are very nice after a day of skiing. The furnishings were nice, but not luxurious. Good size units and a good value for the area with indoor parking and wi-fi. Black Bear Lodge was just a 2 minute walk from the ski check at Silver Lake Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a ubnit on the 3rd or 4th floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moco421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Black Bear Lodge at Silver Lake, Deer Valley is a lovely romantic lodge setting. It is very much wood built, with huge lounge/kitchen, balcony with jacuzzi tub (bit cold walking out there outdoors mid winter), button turn on huge fire in lounge, big comfy beds and well equipped bathrooms. Stayed in 2 room condo -- main bedroom had main bed and two bunks and jacuzzi bath, second bedroom had big double bed and own bathroom with shower - and access to the balcony and jacuzzi. It is a really charming romantic hotel but not posy posh -- just warm, luxurious, cosy and gorgeous - and great 'cookies' warm and fresh every morning in reception. No restaurant, short walk to ski slopes at Silver Lake. Connects well into the whole Deer Valley ski area which is large, very smart with valet service, lovely lodges and restaurants. Great restaurants eg Goldener Hirsch and Stein Erikson Lodge a very short walk from Black Bear.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineCRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at Black Bear Lodge over Presidents' weekend 2012, though we rented through a private owner. We knew ahead of time that cleaning/maid service was not included, but we were able to hire one on our own if we wanted. The unit was one of the lofts on the top (4th) floor, unit #430. It had 2 bedrooms plus a loft area with 2 more double beds. Our family of 5 was very comfortable, and the price was around half what we would have paid for 2 rooms at one of the ski in/out hotels on the mountain. The walk to the lifts was a couple of blocks, and at Deer Valley there is a complimentary overnight ski check at the base, so you don't need to carry gear.
The kitchen was very nice, fully stocked with cookware needed, and there was a dishwasher and W/D in the unit (and the detergent was already there). The living/dining area was comfortable and spacious. Keep in mind that unless you have a car, there is no market within walking distance. From what I saw, the staff at Black Bear was courteous and very capable, so I would imagine that renting through the management company at Black Bear should be a good bet (though maybe a little more expensive than going through private owners). Overall, we loved it, and would go back.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if possible if you are sensitive to people walking around in their ski boots
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Very spacious throughout, and well planned bedding to optimize "the more the merrier". You enter your unit through a glass door to a large hallway entry area with a private ski locker and convenient bench. Then you enter the real door to your unit which was huge for a 3 bedroom. I liked that it had a separate full bath instead of half bath in the hall. The kitchen was well equipped instead of the token cooking and eating utensils you often find. Loved the private hot tub, already heated and ready. The fireplace 2 hour timer was a nice touch too. I can't praise the desk staff enough. I was looking for a place to get a bottle of wine (no corner convenience stores in Deer Valley!) and they called a place a few doors up that had a sundry shop. But they even went the extra mile and got their shuttle to take me there. Oh, and don't miss the cookies in the front lobby - yummy! A great location b/c you are across from one of the most expensive places in Deer Valley, Stein Erikson Lodge.

Room Tip: All are good, but unit next to front door doesn't give as much hot tub privacy
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Belinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Belinda,

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that you had a great stay at Black Bear Lodge and with ResortQuest. I'm especially happy that your interactions with our staff were positive, and they went the extra mile to help you obtain the bottle of wine. As we have only recently taken over as the new Front Desk Manager of Black Bear Lodge this winter season, insuring that you, and each of our guests, have a great experience is certainly our goal. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the cookies in the lobby! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We could not have asked for better accomodations. The room was spacious well appointed and perfectly located for a fabulous ski weekend. The staff was friendly courteous prompt and truly went the extra mile

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhurley999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Everyone in our family who used the hot tub got a bacterial infection of the skin. We learned later that this is common in hot tubs that are not properly maintained. Our rooms were also not cleaned consistently. If you notice all the recent reviews they have a common theme of poor service, maintenance and cleanliness. Too bad. Its a great location, but wear your hazmat suits and bring your own cleaning products! I complained to management and never heard a response. There are better , nicer and cheaper places to stay in DV.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here, it was filthy.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

First let me apologize for your experience last April at Black Bear Lodge. It sounds like a very challenging vacation for you and your family. Our company, ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals is the new Front Desk Manager as of June of 2011. While we were not the manager at the time of your stay, I still am sorry for issues that had. You mention in your review that members of your party received an infection from use of the hot tub. For that I apologize. While we did not service your unit during your stay last year, we do service the hot tubs under our rental management multiple times per week to insure their safety. In addition, upon assuming the management of the units at Black Bear, we conducted thorough deep cleans of each unit in our rental pool. For many units this included replacing the grout in many of the bathrooms. Should you return to Deer Valley, we would love the opportunity to earn back your business, and show you the changes we have made at Black Bear Lodge.

Thank you

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Goldener Hirsch Inn
Goldener Hirsch Inn
#25 of 60 in Park City
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trail's End Lodge
Trail's End Lodge
#29 of 60 in Park City
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lodges at Deer Valley
Lodges at Deer Valley
#17 of 60 in Park City
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
695 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range: £142 - £1,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing