We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's MountainSide
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good view overlooking pool and slope. Small efficiency with thin walls. No food and beverage service, which is surprising for a Marriott. Have to venture out to the village for anything/everything. Local village restaurants are pricey for very mediocre food. The pool and hot tub areas are great, overlooking the ski runs and there's fun things for kids in the common area, though the usual Marriott nickel & diming. Housekeeping doesn't do a good job, mostly just swap out towels and never changed the sheets in a week. However, the game changer for us came on the 2nd night when the front desk called 3 times at 10pm and woke the 3 of us up to insist that we come down to front desk to swipe credit card (again). The confusion came because the CC company issued new cards after Target debaucle so it wasn't the same card the res. was made under months prior. What happened to the CC the girl swiped upon check-in?? Now we were exhausted having skiied all day and not slept much the previous night. I asked if I could give it over the phone to which the front desk guy said no it had to be in person. Why?! Nobody else has a problem with CC info over the phone! Can we take care of it in the morning? No, had to be right then! So my husband got out of bed, dressed and went down there swearing it was his last stay at a Marriott EVER. What's the point of being a Rewards Member if they don't look at your track record? Ridiculous customer no-service. They should know better, there are plenty of other hotels to choose from. We are over Marriott for good!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review Karla. We are disappointed to hear there was a service issue with one of the front desk associates. This is not normal and we would like to follow up with you personally about your experience. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's MountainSide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is part of a Marriot vacation club, so it might be unfair to compare it to a full service luxury hotel. For sure the biggest advantage is that it is located a stones throw from the main Park City Mountain Ski lift, "Payday" If you are going for skiing this in and of itself is good enough reason to stay at the hotel. If you stay somewhere else and park at the mountain you will almost certainly be walking up a hill or steps with your skis to get to the lift. (They do provide overnight ski storage also next to Payday for a fee).
We stayed in a one bedroom villa. The first one we were given was on the 4th floor and literally the view is of the side of the mountain..not in the distance right in front of your window...basically better then at some hotels facing into other rooms or the parking lot or mechanical equipment, but still not to pleasant. After the first night we were moved to a room that just cleared the top of the snow. We were next to the lifts and a snowboard terrain park, which was fun to watch, but you do need to make sure you are fully dressed when sitting in the living area, since it would be easy for people to look in. This wasn't a problem for us at all, I happened to enjoy this view very much.

The living room is extremely spacious and although you can tell the bones of the room are old the entire room seemed refurbished, clean and nice. The coffee maker, dishes microwave and refrigerator were all really clean and in good repair. The bedroom is small but adequate. For some reason there is a large soaking tub in the bedroom that is only separated by a half wall. It takes up lots of space and probably doesn't get used much. The are two sinks, one in the bedroom across from the tub with a large vanity and one in the bathroom.

Our bedroom was at the end of a hall which meant it was very quiet, however, we could hear our neighbors when we were in our living room I think because there was an adjoining door. This really only occurred a couple of times though

They have a fully equipped gym, but no staffing attendant. they offer a class or two a day, for a $5 fee, or free ones that are advertised as DVD classes...not sure what that means bc I didnt try it out, but could it really be that you watch a DVD. They also have a steam room in the locker room and hot tubs both of which I never used.

The biggest downside in my mind was that we were paying over $500 a night. Last month we stayed at the the Ritz Carlton in bachelors creek Colorado for only a little more. The Ritz was a truly luxurious hotel, this was more a clean neat place to stay. I would stay here again, but realize it won't be a pampered vacation. If you are coming with children and skiing I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the side of the mountain. The higher the floor the better, but i t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your family’s experience with us! Our team is happy to hear you had a great time on your ski vacation in Park City. We also appreciate your feedback about amenities and apologize the first room view did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us in Park City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Despite staying here in off-season (end of October), it was still a very enjoyable vacation. It's a fairly short, easy drive from SLC airport. Although you can easily walk to Main Street, I would suggest having a vehicle for the runs to the grocery store and the surrounding activities. I asked for a room in the quietest part of the hotel and I didn't hear a peep. I had a beautiful view of the slopes from the two-bedroom unit and was able to see the first snowfall and the practice runs of the chairlift. All of the employees were very nice. The activities should have been geared more toward adults without children as school was in session and there were few kids to take part in them. Be sure to check out the Olympic Training Site as well as take advantage of the numerous walking/biking trails throughout the town. I'm looking forward to a return trip to Marriott Mountainside!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank undercoverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We have had a timeshare here since pre-opening. We come every year with our grand kids and EVERYONE always loves it.

Rooms are well maintained and not beaten up like mist ski places. Living area had fireplace, sofa, 2 ez chairs, dineing table for 6, flat screen tv. Rooms are VERY sound proof: I could make breakfast, run fan on stove and never wake up a 2 yr old in the "lock out".

Bathrooms are good

Hotel has free ski valet, outdoor BBQs, hot tubs galore (one for adults only, one for kids under 5, and several more), larger than avg work out area, saunA, mini market, heated pool, 2 lobby PCs, conceirge, pool table, air hockey, foosball, mini movie theatre and kids room.

Plus it is ski in ski out.

You can't beat the combo of location and quality

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

It is always rewarding when we receive a five-star review from one of our loyal owners! We appreciate your kind words and are happy you enjoy your home-away-from-home with your family. Our team looks forward to your next visit with us in Park City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well situated, great location. However the rooms are old, you can hear everything from the next door. If you are coming for a relaxing sking week this is not the place.
Extremely expensive for an old hotel and time share.
I will not come back, next time I"ll go to St.Regis

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank Whiterocks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s MountainSide. Our team is disappointed to hear we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. Our villas are continually updated and go through a complete renovation on a regular basis. We appreciate you allowing us to host your family and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My 2 grown 30's sons, my 6 yr old grandson & I just finished a wonderful 5 days at Mountainside on our ski vacation. The location can not be beat ! Mountainside has their pool plaza with its heated main pool & 5 hot tubs located just steps from the main Payday Lift boarding base. You can literally throw a snow ball from the pools on to a chair on the lift. The friendly ski valet staff are just steps inside the pool plaza door, thus you can ski right up to the entry gates, take your skiis off, walk a few feet across the pool plaza and hand them to the ski valet storage staff for the free overnight, convenient storage. The other base lifts and ski school are also just steps away. There are a nice variety of shops & services right at the base area. The free and frequent bus service to downtown Park City or to the base areas to ski Deer Valley or Canyons is also located right there.
As to the hotel, we had nice underground parking, and a great variety of activities on the 2nd floor lounges/ pool level all week. An example was the Tues night free brats & buns served just inside the pool plaza from 4 to 6 pm. You could grill them yourself outside in one of the 2 big gas fired pits. One of the best things this resort has going is the extremely friendly, helpful, cherrful staff. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. It was pleasantly furnished, and my bed was very comfortsble. The kitchen was well furnished also. We would definitely stay here again on any return trip to the Park city area.

Room Tip: rooms seemed quiet, but those near the elevator end towards the pool deck end would have more hall n...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's MountainSide, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Marriott's MountainSide! As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we truly value your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is great to hear your family enjoyed their time skiing and experiencing the resort amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here first time this year, fantastic rooms clean and well appointed, staff excellent very easy ski in ski out. Close to Main Street great activities for all ages. Fire broke one day mended within 30 minutes

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are slope facing they have a great view of the mountains
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
622 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
695 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
0.7 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#16 of 60 in Park City
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's MountainSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's MountainSide

Address: 1305 Lowell Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5115
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#16 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range: £103 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's MountainSide 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's MountainSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountainside Hotel Park City
Marriotts Park City
Marriotts Mountainside Hotel
Marriott Park City
Marriott's MountainSide Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing