We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Park City Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

For our 22nd wedding anniversary we booked a weekend stay at the Westgate Resort in Park City. We were told that it was a new five-star resort with exceptional service and facilities. My initial booking on the phone took much longer than expected. I was quoted one price and then 20 minutes later was told that the price originally quoted was now not available in the dates that we chose. I would've been fine with the price if that was the original quote however I felt frustrated with the change. Overall the booking process was frustrating. It took two callbacks and over 30 minutes.
When we arrived at the resort we were not greeted by any personnel. The bell desk did not offer to help us with our luggage nor our mountain bikes. When we checked in the front desk was unable to answer our questions and try to check us in under a different person. We had several questions about the resort presentation that we needed to attend. No one knew the answer to our question. We were asked to call a number Saturday morning at 8 o'clock to find out exactly what time we needed to be to the resort presentation. It was a joke trying to find a room. We were not offered a cart for our luggage and I found the hotel to be a menagerie of hallways. We finally found our room and it was not what we booked. It was cramped and we were lucky to get our luggage through the doorway and past the couch. The room was clean and well appointed. I was disappointed that we did not get the larger room like we were told we would receive. We celebrated our anniversary at the Edge restaurant. The staff there was phenomenal. When we arrived they asked if we were celebrating any special occasions. We told them it was our anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it a memorable evening. They were fantastic. Five stars for the Edge restaurant and their staff. He left at the location. We were able to ride a mountain bikes out of our room into the gondola left. The hotel was fairly clean but definitely not "new" as we were told. The adult pool, spa, and sauna was well appointed and a great place to relax.
The resort presentation on Saturday morning was painful. We felt we were told that the presentation would last 90 minutes...three hours later we left feeling frustrated and not interested in purchasing a time share with them. Overall our stay was quite disappointing. We will not go back and stay there again. The customer service was nonexistent and the facility was definitely not five star. I would've put the facility at three-star.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bechurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guests. We are sorry to hear that you had issues related to your booking we strive to provide quick accurate reservations when you call us. I sincerely apologize that you did not find your room condition to your liking and for the inconvenience you had with our service level. We deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations. . I am especially pleased to hear your thoughts on your dining experience at Edge and the service you received from our staff on your anniversary dinner. Although your stay was not 100% perfect, we hope you will stay with us again.

Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

could not have been a better venue for our family reunion. everything was beyond our expectations. adults, teens, older folks and little guys all had a wonderful time. kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the free activities poolside. CARMEN MORENO, the activities coordinator could not have been more patient and kind to all our kids. looking forward to next reunion there.

Room Tip: presidential suites for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are delighted to read that we able to delight you with the services and facilities within the resort. It is especially good to hear that the kids enjoyed their time with our activates department. Your kind comments are gratefully received and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Anja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a great experience. The Hotel was beautiful, and the staff were helpful, thoughtful and courteous. Thanks to Kevin Raggio in Guest Services for the ride and the conversation from and to the airport, and helping to make our stay on e that will be remembered for a very long time. The food in the Edge and Drafts would rival any top restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for posting such great review of the Westgate Park City Resort.

We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid, and that you found our property to be “beautiful”.

We expect all of our team members to provide you with excellent customer service at all times and we are happy that Kevin Raggio was able to assist you with your needs.

In addition, we would like to thank you for you kind words regarding our on-site restaurants, the Edge and Drafts.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When you pay a lot for a hotel room I think you expect a great experience. I've stayed at simple places and luxury places, there is a difference. Most of the time you get what you pay for, but not here.

Start with the Pro's

Beds were comfortable
Adult Only Pool, Spa, Steam Room, Sauna area; which is spectacular when you don't have children with you
Drafts restaurant; Tim was great and the food is really good
Have a Market Place on sight with items you can buy to cook in your kitchen

The Cons

Beyond Tim (our server at Drafts) the staff needs some major training in "Customer Service" when you are paying over $200 dollars a night the last thing you want is people(who are being payed to be there) treating you like you are an "inconvenience". The check in process was not great, there were several people behind the desk and only one guy checking people in, you could tell he was very annoyed with his co-workers for not checking people in that it showed in his treatment against the people in front of me as well as myself. His directions were so brief, adding to the comments of others that this place is very confusing. Having a staff that is not very helpful really makes the experience of a large hotel even worse. The valet is horrible; first of all don't bring an SUV to this place(the tiniest underground parking), nor expect to park yourself. They don't have enough parking, we came back at midnight from Main Street and there was no parking, we went to Valet and waiting for about 20 minuets for a valet to come and take the car; a police officer had to come out and tell us to just park along the curb in valet because they had sent valet home??? If he wouldn't have come out, we would have just been waiting there, no "Valet Full" sign or anything. He said there was not enough parking so just find something. Then the next morning that attitude from Valet for parking in the Valet drive. We were outdoors from the early morning and came back around 3, Housekeeping didn't get to our room until 4pm both days (no clean towels no clean room), Then the morning we were checking out they knocked on the door at 9am to see when we were going to be leaving??? The technician for the wifi also is useless. His explanation "We are a big property and can't handle everyone using wifi" Then why say it's free??? Didn't make or break the trip but when trying to scout out places to go the next day, reliable internet would have helped.

For all of the other places in "the Canyons" that could be +/-$50 than this place I would definitely consider somewhere else. The staff is what makes your resort. This is the hospitality industry. We are not staying for free and they are not working for free, so to be rude and unhelpful just doesn't fly with me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We aim to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to know from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that this visit was less than satisfactory. We appreciate all forms of guests’ feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities to all of our valued guests such as yourself. Your comments will help us manage these issues moving forward, and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful stay in a beautiful place with a staff who wants to take care of you. Very happy with our stay. The "b" room alone is very crowded, but we upgrade and our stay was very enjoyable! Plenty to do for the kids. I wish there were more restaurants on site.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymillward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our resort to be beautiful with friendly staff that takes care of your needs. We appreciate your comments on more restaurant choices and will send this information to our resort management team. We’re honored you chose us and hope to see you again soon.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay but found some of the staff had an attitude of not really caring about us as guests.

As we arrived one of the bellman ignored us and preferred to set up a date with a couple of the young guests.



Apparently they had a welcome cookie we were told they had run out, could they have offered to deliver to in our room later?

When parking again misdirected and then found a staff member who told us no space available.

We had to find our own way to room. In fact landed up going through staff entrance as no one cared to direct us even though there were 3 staff outside front area who saw us with suitcases going in wrong direction.

Generally the younger staff were not very helpful, especially your concierge desk, we were ignored, not even a nod to say I will be right with you.

When retuning from an outing later the same day I smiled at bell desk to acknowledge them.

There was no welcome back remark and again disinterested.
Room was very dark and had a connecting room so sound came through loud.

The first impression of a property always has the most impact to your guests and ours was not very favorable.



So no we will not be returning or recommending based on this experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Napua1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We deeply apologize if members of our staff were less than courteous. We train our staff to greet each guest with a smile and to provide top notch customer service every time. What you experienced is definitely not our level of service we expect from our staff. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention; as we will give this information to our resort management team. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again so we can have another chance to exceed your expectations.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Westgate in Park City (Canyons). I reserved the standard size room and it's much bigger than I expected. It has a sitting area and kitchen. The kitchen has mini fridge, 2 countertop burners, dishwasher, microwave, and utensils. The room was super clean and bed was very comfortable. The shower has an overhead rain head and don't miss turning on the steam. There is so much more here than I experienced in other hotels in Park City. We brought 2 small kids with us and there are 2 pools for them along with other kid activities. The service has been outstanding. Some things that weren't so great were the difficulty navigating the hotel and self parking is very limited. Even with the few difficulties, I'd come back in a minute to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwarn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Park City Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us. We are delighted to hear that everything from our beautifully appointed rooms to our outstanding team helped create a memorable experience for you. Our resort has many activities for the entire family to experience we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed them. We really look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future!

Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#7 of 60 in Park City
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
5.5 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#13 of 60 in Park City
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#29 of 60 in Park City
236 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#14 of 60 in Park City
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Park City Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Park City Resort & Spa

Address: 3000 Canyons Resort Drive, Park City, UT 84098-6552
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#6 Business Hotel in Park City
#7 Spa Hotel in Park City
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#18 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range: £130 - £916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Park City Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate Park City Resort & Spa offers a memorable vacation for all seasons. A Ski-in/Ski-out resort with ski valet located directly next to the RedLine Gondola for winter fun, and close to all the summer fun activities as well. Westgate Park City Resort & Spa also features the full service Serenity Spa by Westgate, Drafts Sports Bar and Grill for great food and beer overlooking the ski lifts and Wasatch Mountains, Edge Steakhouse for a cutting edge culinary experience, Marketplace that proudly brews Starbucks coffee and has a vast selection of beer, wine, spirits, groceries and sundries, features Utah's largest Indoor/Outdoor pool, and is the only resort to offer free shuttle service to downtown, local shopping and area events. Choose from fully furnished Studio Villas to Luxury and Signature Four Bedroom Villas, featuring kitchens, whirlpool tubs, steam showers and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Park City Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Park City Hotel Park City
Westgate Park City Resort And Spa
Westgate Hotel Park City
Westgate Park City Resort & Spa Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing