We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chateaux Deer Valley
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The beds were so uncomfortable. The pillows were even worse. It felt really cramped in the room. It is like they tried to put way too much in it. There was a bar of soap on the shower that had clearly been there for a while. I had to run through a creepy garage to get to the fitness center. It is laid out very strange. We only got one day free breakfast but we paid for a two night stay. The breakfast was good though. The staff was nice and friendly but I would recommend staying in something cheaper. It was an expensive trip and I feel I would have had a better experience in a hotel chain. I have had way better experiences with Holiday Inn and Marriott Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Amauger,

Please accept our deepest apologies for not meeting your expectations.

One of our tag lines derived from guest feedback over the years for The Chateaux Deer Valley is "where value and luxury meet at mid mountain," so we are really sorry.

Hopefully you would consider us again as we have many different accommodations to suit our guests ranging from studios and hotel rooms, all the way up to and including 4 Bedroom Suites.

For clarification, all of our bedding includes feather tops and soft duvet's with throw blankets for extra comfort and all of our guest rooms also have fireplaces and heated towel racks for our guests to enjoy.

Please consider us again and feel free to contact me directly to ensure you have a flawless stay.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    104
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
183
209
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked a night to celebrate our 21st anniversary. When we checked in we were told we were upgraded to a one bed room master suite. The rooms were beautiful. In the rooms we found a thoughtful card signed by many of the staff hoping we would have a wonderful anniverary with a bag of chocolates. Dinner at Cena was great, I recommend the trout. The breakfast buffet was great, I recommend the bacon. All the staff we came in contact with were helpful and kind. We will remember this anniversary for a long time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
David,

Happy Anniversary!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star Review on The Chateaux Deer Valley and please make your Anniversary an Annual visit with us as we would love to spoil you again.

Respectfully.

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to be asked as guests to stay at The Residences which is connected to The Chateaux. Everyone on the staff, from our drivers to the concierge were always ready to help any way they could with a smile and aim to please us. The food was excellent, great breakfast buffet and dinner as well. They even opened up the bar for us one night on a night they are closed so I could introduce our friends to Limocello! Can't say enough about this beautiful property.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite on The Residences third floor, it was blissful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Deniseka,

What a treat to have such a glowing review from a Top Contributor about The Chateaux.

Thank you for the positive comments on our friendly service and food and for your great photos. Glad that our smiles made you smile.

Please come back and visit again soon.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel and Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

By far this was one of my most pleasurable business stays ever. From the Front Desk, Shuttle Drivers, Food and Beverage Manager to one of our favorite waiters, Henry, nothing but first class all the way. Everyone made you feel welcome to be there.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dale R,

Nothing better for us than hearing "Best Experience Ever" from one of our recent guests, especially from a business traveler. Hopefully you enjoyed the large meeting and convention space and break out rooms The Chateaux has to offer.

Next time hopefully you can take a break from work and come visit for pleasure to enjoy all the great things Park City and Deer Valley Resort have to offer.

Respectfully

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent our anniversary weekend at the hotel. While making our reservations we specifically requested a room away from the elevator and in a more quiet location. We checked in shortly have 4 p.m. on a Friday evening with no issues. We were given our room keys and found ourselves right next to a elevator with two queen size beds, not exactly ideal. We were told when we checked in that the "noise was just a tiny beep every once in a while." After arriving in our room and putting our items down we could hear the elevator and the beeps. Thus, we contacted the front desk and requested we be moved.

A bell man quickly arrived and showed us two other rooms. We selected another and had a very nice trip. The only significant drawback was the lack of room service. This was something the hotel had apparently offered at one time, but no longer does.

The restaurant on-site does a wonderful job and the complimentary breakfasts in the morning were both very good.

It was a nice place to stay, just not excellent.

Room Tip: Be very cautious of not getting a room by one of the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
mc d,

Happy Anniversary and thank you for sharing it with us at The Chateaux Deer Valley.

Please accept our apologies for missing your request and thank you for allowing us to find a solution so that you could enjoy the remainder of your stay.

Regarding Room Service, we offer to go from our in house restaurant during Summer Season and full Room Service options during winter ski season.

We will work hard to turn good into great before your next visit.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We live in the Salt Lake Valley, and wanted to have a short getaway before I start chemo in 2 or 3 weeks. Other than the elevator having an unusual odor, and our room being situated in a dark corner of the building with no view, it was doable since we were going to be there for only one night. The top cover of the bed had a dirty smudge on it and the floor was filthy. Not the end of the world, but not good neither. The toilet is right next to the shower, so when I used the bathroom I couldn't help but see the floor of the walk-in shower. I could not believe what I was looking at. A slimy tile floor with fresh, gooey mold between the tiles right in the middle of the shower floor. I'm not talking about the kind of mold that has gotten into the spackling and is hard to remove, but mold I could wipe off easily with some toilet paper. It was so disgusting. My husband called the front desk to tell them about it and asked if we could be moved to a different room. They said, "No, the hotel is completely booked. It may have been completely booked for the night, but it was 3 in the afternoon, on a Friday and there were hardly any cars in the garage. Really? Has every guest requested their favorite room and that's why you couldn't move us? We found a great deal on the internet, though we actually ended up making it through The Chateau because we had a question. I felt like it was because of that deal, they weren't willing to move us. Yes, someone came in to clean the shower, though still iffy. They also had to fix the broken safe and change the top bedcover. There were no paper cups, and because of our experience thus far, I didn't trust the glass cups. They did have two plastic kid type cups, not covered, that I thought may be safe. I took a close look at them and one of them had obviously been used. The ironic thing about all of this, was when we arrived the desk clerk said our room is ready, but the housekeeping manager needs to walk through it first to make sure it is in order and clean. Needless to say, all of this made it impossible to relax and enjoy the hotel portion of our little getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherylzbarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Cherylzbarrel,

Thank you for your post.

Most importantly, we are sorry to hear that you are ill and will keep you in our thoughts.

Regarding your recent visit, please accept our deepest apologies for the cleanliness of your hotel room upon arrival and for not being able to meet your room move request. Cleanliness of our guest rooms is something we take very seriously and have already had a meeting with our management team concerning your comments.

I will review our in house guest satisfaction system records from your date of stay in the hopes of contacting you directly for further resolution as guest satisfaction remains our utmost priority.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downunder
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent a wonderful week at The Chateaux. Great location in Silver Lake Deer Valley with super easy access to snow. The Great Bits: huge room size, full kitchen, staff, location, free shuttle to Park City. The Good Bits: in house restaurant, breakfast buffet. The Bad Bits: you have to walk 2 mins to the snow ☺. Our condo apartment was huge with a high standard of fitout. We cautiously booked The Chateaux because it’s not ski-in/ski-out. But it’s super close and only a 2 minute walk to the snow. The real bonus at Silver Lake is the free ski storage on the slope so you do not need to carry them each day. Not many restaurants or grocery store options in Silver Lake but the property has a free shuttle. Makes it very easy to get to and back from Park City and its huge array of restaurants on Main Street. Try Riverhorse, Shabu & Talisker. Not in Park City but close the kids loved Daly’s Pub & Rec at Montage Hotel. TIP: Use BlackTie ski hire for very very easy equipment hire.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.3 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
7.3 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateaux Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateaux Deer Valley

Property: The Chateaux Deer Valley
Address: 7815 Royal St E, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Chateaux at Silver Lake)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Park City
#4 Business Hotel in Park City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#6 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chateaux Deer Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateaux Deer Valley's elegant Deer Valley hotel and condos are located in the heart of Deer Valley Resort's mid-mountain Silver Lake Village. The Chateaux offers quality amenities, as well as a variety of finely appointed and spacious room types including hotel rooms, studios, and multi-bedroom suites. Simply walk out the door of The Chateaux and you are just a few steps away from the beautiful slopes of Deer Valley Resort, with three mid-mountain chair lifts and all the resort services at Silver Lake Lodge. Or take a short complimentary shuttle ride to Park City's Historic Main Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chateaux Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chateaux At Silver Lake Hotel Park City
The Chateaux Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing